Proposal Ring - Part 2

I'm keen in this diamond from bluenile. I like blue fluorescence diamonds. I'm thinking if I compare 2 diamonds side by side, I may be able to tell the difference between a super ideal and an ideal 3ex GIA diamond. But if I have only 1 diamond, then a grade lower than super ideal is ok for me I guess.

I can't post links so here are the specs

Carat weight: 0.86
Color grade: G
Clarity grade: VVS2 - pinpoint
Cut grade: Excellent
Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
Fluorescence: Strong Blue
Depth: 61.8
Table: 57
Crown Angle: 34.5
Pavilion Angle: 40.8
Star Facets: 50
Lower Girdle Facet: 80
HCA: 1.4

Bluenile is unable to provide scope pictures :(

If this diamond is brilliant on it's own, I will be quite happy with it as it's 5.7k for a 0.86 whereas a 0.72 F color VS2 diamond will cost 7.2k from JP, that is a savings of 1.5k

Are you sure you like the look of strong blue flor ? I'm not sure if it's because we are near the equator so more UV but in Singapore even med flor I can see quiet clearly in the Sun. In addition, the stronger the flor the higher chance to be cloudy. I recommended that you stick to medium flor or if you really want to get a diamond with strong blue, look for the Brian Gavin Blue series.

If you are dead set on getting this, the color clarity and numbers are all great. Vvs clarity no need to worry about inclusions, much less pinpoint.

EDIT : Just had a look, brian gavin blue dosen't have this size in your color and clarity.

zeally

Jann Paul's service is very good. They will help you source for ideal if it's the only way to fit your budget. BUT big but, the ideal stone is simply sold THROUGH Jann Paul, not BY them. It is a House of Hung stone sold through JP. You will NOT be entitled to the JP lifetime cleaning, prong check etcetc. Any extra service they give your is good will as you are not entitled to it as you did not buy a JP stone. But you get the free benefit from their sales service in serving and sourcing for you. This is what I know. although I think unlikely, you can try to negotiate for better post sales service etc, but YMMV, and as I said depends on their good will.

If someone has any other info I'm sure everyone would be interested.

Yes. I can confirm that JP can sell you diamonds which are not from their super ideal collection. If you have a diamond in mind from overseas vendor, you can give them the GIA number and they "may" be able to source for you at similar price. This includes lower colour and lower clarity diamonds and fluorescence diamond (all these are great for value actually) as compared to their super ideal collection which is G VS2 and up.

zeally

I'm keen in this diamond from bluenile. I like blue fluorescence diamonds. I'm thinking if I compare 2 diamonds side by side, I may be able to tell the difference between a super ideal and an ideal 3ex GIA diamond. But if I have only 1 diamond, then a grade lower than super ideal is ok for me I guess.

I can't post links so here are the specs

Carat weight: 0.86
Color grade: G
Clarity grade: VVS2 - pinpoint
Cut grade: Excellent
Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
Fluorescence: Strong Blue
Depth: 61.8
Table: 57
Crown Angle: 34.5
Pavilion Angle: 40.8
Star Facets: 50
Lower Girdle Facet: 80
HCA: 1.4

Bluenile is unable to provide scope pictures :(

If this diamond is brilliant on it's own, I will be quite happy with it as it's 5.7k for a 0.86 whereas a 0.72 F color VS2 diamond will cost 7.2k from JP, that is a savings of 1.5k

The proportions look good! The drawback about bluenile is that they dun have pictures. I hate that too...

Are you sure you like the look of strong blue flor ? I'm not sure if it's because we are near the equator so more UV but in Singapore even med flor I can see quiet clearly in the Sun. In addition, the stronger the flor the higher chance to be cloudy. I recommended that you stick to medium flor or if you really want to get a diamond with strong blue, look for the Brian Gavin Blue series.

If you are dead set on getting this, the color clarity and numbers are all great. Vvs clarity no need to worry about inclusions, much less pinpoint.

EDIT : Just had a look, brian gavin blue dosen't have this size in your color and clarity.

you can try looking at this stone here (best match) from brian gavin:

AGS 0.808 carat Brian Gavin Signature Hearts and Arrows Round Cut Diamond

It is two grade lower in clarity but seriously, to the naked eye, it doesn't make any difference but D colour. Brian gavin need to pay some shipping costs as compared to blue nile, if you want, you can check with sales person. they quite helpful. My opinion on florescence diamond is that they look nice, i like the glowy blue look but try to avoid hazy clarity characteristics such as cloud or twinning wisps, if the florescence is strong. This is because, the hazy effect is a little too strong when combined with all the characteristics. (I have few "live" encounters with strong florescence diamond, so do not take my opinion too seriously) I own a med florescence one though. Looks great under normal daylight in singapore.

I have a med flor one as well and love it ! High 5 ! lol

aikhoo88

Hmm.. They usually give the scope images le.. Maybe you can try asking again? Did you compare the diamonds under the Aset and hearts/arrows scope?

Hmm.. I did compare the diamond under the heart and arrow scope... but just glance through... not quite able to check the symmetry...

Strange JP experience. Anyway, might be new stock just come in. Did she mean cannot give you now as it takes time to take the pictures or not even going to take the photo so cannot give you ? I think it's more likely the haven't take yet but who knows. Maybe request for another SA see how ?

Yep, I agree that she should give you the scopes, also needed for checking for symmetry.

After the diamond viewing session, i asked michelle if she can send me the cert number plus scope image for reference... she said it is not able to provide the scope image as it took long time to take those image... >.< (Maybe becos i still not confirm to get anything from them??)

Perhaps i shall pay another visit with another SA after i confirm my setting...

Lurker_13

just gotten the scope images from JP

Looks like a nice stone bro. tho the V at the 3 o'clock heart looks a wee bit narrower than the others. Nonetheless still a nice one! :D what is the Star and lower half for this stone? So JP takes about a week to send the scope images to you ar?

chubbytoes

fellow forumers, decision time, would you top up another $700 to move from a 1.01ct G/VS2 to a 1.05ct G/VS1?

huhu84

Looks like a nice stone bro. tho the V at the 3 o'clock heart looks a wee bit narrower than the others. Nonetheless still a nice one! :D what is the Star and lower half for this stone? So JP takes about a week to send the scope images to you ar?

10 Days from date of purchase for the scope image bro.

Specs of the stone
Round Brilliant
Measurements 5.98 - 5.99 x 3.64 mm
Carat 0.80 carat
Color Grade : F
Clarity Grade : VVS2
Cut Grade : Excellent
Polish : Excellent
Symmetry : Excellent
Fluorescence : None

Proportions
Depth 60.9 %
Table 58 %
Crown Angle 34.0°
Crown Height 14.0%
Pavilion Angle 40.8°
Pavilion Depth 43.0%
Girdle Medium to Slightly Thick, Faceted, 4.0%
Culet None

huhu84

:s13: Bro, the star length and lower half not stated on the spec leh...=:p

haha sorry i read it as stats. so pasted the specs lol...not a big fan of stone... more to watches. Diamond i know nuts

JP send me this 6 pics in which 4 are on the stones the 2 is the HCA score sheet and the GIA cert.

nvm googled.... 50% and 80% ? am i looking at the right thing ?

Lurker_13

haha sorry i read it as stats. so pasted the specs lol...not a big fan of stone... more to watches. Diamond i know nuts

JP send me this 6 pics in which 4 are on the stones the 2 is the HCA score sheet and the GIA cert

No no... I mean normally the star length and the lower half should be stated on the spec de... but somehow yours dun have. My reason for asking is that I like the look of the arrows and the hot spots on the stone so wanna know what combi are those :D

chubbytoes

Can you see the 0.04ct difference? What and where are the inclusions for the VS2 vs the VS1?

from the GIA cert it is minimal from my non-expert view, and the actual viewing in the 20x scope i cannot see... both are round & triple-X

huhu84

No no... I mean normally the star length and the lower half should be stated on the spec de... but somehow yours dun have. My reason for asking is that I like the look of the arrows and the hot spots on the stone so wanna know what combi are those :D

nah post the gia cert

hollander

fellow forumers, decision time, would you top up another $700 to move from a 1.01ct G/VS2 to a 1.05ct G/VS1?

.04 would not be of that much difference specially in 1ct diamond.

I think you are paying for the inclusions located either underneath the diamond or on top of the diamond, can you see the difference on the inclusions of VS1 against VS2? in using 10x loupe you are still having a hard time then VS2 is enough but if you really want the premium VS1 and $700 will not hurt much go for it.

How about investing your $700 to F VS2 1.0Xct stone? :s13::D

Lurker_13

from the GIA cert it is minimal from my non-expert view, and the actual viewing in the 20x scope i cannot see... both are round & triple-X

If you cannot see the 0.04ct difference and there is no significant diff for VS2 & VS1, then I would save the $700 for ring setting? :)

chubbytoes

.04 would not be of that much difference specially in 1ct diamond.

I think you are paying for the inclusions located either underneath the diamond or on top of the diamond, can you see the difference on the inclusions of VS1 against VS2? in using 10x loupe you are still having a hard time then VS2 is enough but if you really want the premium VS1 and $700 will not hurt much go for it.

How about investing your $700 to F VS2 1.0Xct stone? :s13::D

F color will be a next tier liao lo... :s22:

G is good enuff, as it is one of my requirement so i am please with just G color. The SA did a great job in explaining things to me and in the end i shortlisted the 1.01 and 1.05ct rock and i am please with my purchase but my mind just kept going between the should i or should i not... ok i will give it a tinker a bit more. Thanks.

If you cannot see the 0.04ct difference and there is no significant diff for VS2 & VS1, then I would save the $700 for ring setting? :)

actually the ring setting is a constant as i believe my missus will like it simple in whitegold and a simple 4 prong. I think i will just make another trip down to do another comparison in real life lighting situ between these 2 choices.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.