Proposal Ring - Part 3

meshpenstand

Hi all,

I realize that forum mainly discusses about JP. I been to JP and was quite amazed at their designs, I want to weigh other options before making a decision on the place to get the ring.

I heard from someone who works in this line, that Taka is one of the major diamond supplier.

I went there to see their diamond prices were indeed very competitive (as compared to JP) (if I never remember wrongly, there was a 0.78 carat diamond with VS1, color of G and cut is very good selling at 3.8k). Some as claimed by the salesperson were selling at below retail value. However I find that the workmanship of the ring settings aren't that fantastic. Maybe I could buy the diamond and custom make the ring lol.

Anyone has any experience buying one from Taka?

No comments on taka.
Just want to point out, if you buy at other places, and do settings at JP. It would be slightly more expensive.

mero_cwj

Hi all,

I realize that forum mainly discusses about JP. I been to JP and was quite amazed at their designs, I want to weigh other options before making a decision on the place to get the ring.

I heard from someone who works in this line, that Taka is one of the major diamond supplier.

I went there to see their diamond prices were indeed very competitive (as compared to JP) (if I never remember wrongly, there was a 0.78 carat diamond with VS1, color of G and cut is very good selling at 3.8k). Some as claimed by the salesperson were selling at below retail value. However I find that the workmanship of the ring settings aren't that fantastic. Maybe I could buy the diamond and custom make the ring lol.

Anyone has any experience buying one from Taka?

If you are looking for a diamond with less emphasis on cut quality and more on carat weight and price, have a look at Poh Kim Jewellery Trading (not the Poh Heng Jewellery chain stores). It's in a nondescript factory building along Lower Delta Road. They are a wholesaler who also sells to end-users.

I would be willing to bet my bottom dollar that their prices are better than Taka :s13: Less overheads mah.

Otherwise, you can try online. But anyway, there is a difference in quality between these diamonds and the JP diamonds. E.g. the cut for Taka is Very Good, which is below Excellent, and moreover JP only takes the best of the best for the Excellent cut diamonds. Personally, even if I were in the market for a non super-ideal quality diamond, I would accept nothing less than GIA triple excellent, and reject any with just Very Good grading.

earthtk

If you are looking for a diamond with less emphasis on cut quality and more on carat weight and price, have a look at Poh Kim Jewellery Trading (not the Poh Heng Jewellery chain stores). It's in a nondescript factory building along Lower Delta Road. They are a wholesaler who also sells to end-users.

I would be willing to bet my bottom dollar that their prices are better than Taka :s13: Less overheads mah.

Otherwise, you can try online. But anyway, there is a difference in quality between these diamonds and the JP diamonds. E.g. the cut for Taka is Very Good, which is below Excellent, and moreover JP only takes the best of the best for the Excellent cut diamonds. Personally, even if I were in the market for a non super-ideal quality diamond, I would accept nothing less than GIA triple excellent, and reject any with just Very Good grading.

Wah... Poh Kim sounds like the video shop haha. But your suggestion sound good I might need to check that out. Actually cut wise, what are the benefits? A better cut reflects more light so the diamond looks shiner?

No comments on taka.
Just want to point out, if you buy at other places, and do settings at JP. It would be slightly more expensive.

Ah ya thanks for pointing that out. Just curious if anyone is in the same thought as me haha.

bb_100

No comments on taka.

I asked. $600 more expensive. Cuz they need to insure your diamond. That's what the salesperson told me lar.

mero_cwj

Wah... Poh Kim sounds like the video shop haha. But your suggestion sound good I might need to check that out. Actually cut wise, what are the benefits? A better cut reflects more light so the diamond looks shiner?

Ah ya thanks for pointing that out. Just curious if anyone is in the same thought as me haha.

Shinier, looks whiter, better cut proportions so look bigger (but not always the case). But depends on individual preferences lah, there are some people who don't care about these and only want a big stone to show off because they are only concerned about the size.

From what I've heard, Poh Kim actually supplies some of the large local jewellers and does their crafting/polishing/resizing work for them. Kinda like how you see Chanel, LV, Prada sending their clothes/shoes for alteration/repair work to certain old school shops. But don't quote me on that :s13:

earthtk

Shinier, looks whiter, better cut proportions so look bigger (but not always the case). But depends on individual preferences lah, there are some people who don't care about these and only want a big stone to show off because they are only concerned about the size.

From what I've heard, Poh Kim actually supplies some of the large local jewellers and does their crafting/polishing/resizing work for them. Kinda like how you see Chanel, LV, Prada sending their clothes/shoes for alteration/repair work to certain old school shops. But don't quote me on that :s13:

Ah I see.. Cause I did a blind test to see which diamond was brighter, and I picked the "very good" over the "excellent" lol.. I think my eyes got some problem :s22: Or the lighting there was different at different angle.

I asked. $600 more expensive. Cuz they need to insure your diamond. That's what the salesperson told me lar.

Wah extra $600 is a lot! Unless I am buying a high carat diamond else not worth sia..

How about vivo diamonds?

http://www.vivodiamonds.com/

sugaricing83

Your current one very small meh? Also from JP? I personally think there's no need to upgrade engagement ring as there's significant sentiment (unless the diamond is really small then maybe understandable la)

Current is a .83. But after looking at it longer, can be bigger :p wahaha.

But i agree that diamond no resale value, only feel good factor.

mero_cwj

Current is a .83. But after looking at it longer, can be bigger :p wahaha.

But i agree that diamond no resale value, only feel good factor.

My two cents... Everything can always be bigger, better, more atas, higher tier. Whether it's a diamond ring, house, car, handbags, watches, designer clothing. One can never find true happiness continually pursuing something that is deemed more desirable than what one already has, there is a fleeting moment of joy but that is quickly replaced by a desire to upgrade to the next shinier thing.

Perhaps a better way of looking at it is to see the diamond for what it truly embodies - a representation of your partner's love and devotion, rather than a commodity that can be upgraded along the way.

I mean no offense with what I say, just my honest opinion on the matter. To put it another day, once it's a done deal, don't need to keep reading up on diamonds or follow the thread already lah. To do so is only tempting oneself.

For myself as a guy, it's a different issue since I won't be tempted to upgrade what I've bought and presented :s13: I'm just here to share my experience and provide what little advice I can to people who may not have done the same amount of research I did.

Ok my 1 minute pretending to be a zen master is over, now back to the angst of life!

meshpenstand

That is expensive!
I wonder, say if I decide to go back and change my setting (retaining the diamond).

Possible? Got extra charge? hahaha I know you all not from JP.
I just ask to keep my options open in the future. and if any bros have done it before.

mero_cwj

That is expensive!
I wonder, say if I decide to go back and change my setting (retaining the diamond).

Possible? Got extra charge? hahaha I know you all not from JP.
I just ask to keep my options open in the future. and if any bros have done it before.

Easiest way to find out is just to text your sales representative :s13:

It's definitely possible, it's just a matter of how much it will cost. I'm not sure if the price for resetting is the same as the original setting price, but I would imagine it would be more because of the extra work involved. But then maybe not if they get to keep the old ring and reduce it to material to reuse.

Aiya just ask your sales rep lah haha

bb_100

Wah extra $600 is a lot! Unless I am buying a high carat diamond else not worth sia..

Yup, no joke. Initially I was quoted $1,400 for my setting and another $4,800 for a 0.71 E VS1 round brilliant. Then I remembered a 0.7x D-E VS1-VS2 diamond at James Allen was cheaper by a few hundred after GST. So that's what prompted me to ask him the question. Ended up James Allen diamond + JannPaul setting is even more ex than getting the complete JannPaul package haha.

KinoChoco

Yup, no joke. Initially I was quoted $1,400 for my setting and another $4,800 for a 0.71 E VS1 round brilliant. Then I remembered a 0.7x D-E VS1-VS2 diamond at James Allen was cheaper by a few hundred after GST. So that's what prompted me to ask him the question. Ended up James Allen diamond + JannPaul setting is even more ex than getting the complete JannPaul package haha.

Now lagi worse to get online, USD getting stronger, additional few % fees out of nowhere lol

1000smiles

I found the online settings more expensive le. I guess it depends on which setting you going for. The basic setting is 14kt gold online whereas JannPaul only offers 18kt gold or platinum casings. JannPaul also gives free after services, resizing, engraving, polishing,etc. If you include all those in, I got savings from JannPaul.

Don't forget, each time you ship to and fro to the US to utilize their services, you need to payshipping chargers to and back yourself le.

earthtk

Why didn't you finish the package at James Allen?

sugaricing83

My two cents... Everything can always be bigger, better, more atas, higher tier. Whether it's a diamond ring, house, car, handbags, watches, designer clothing. One can never find true happiness continually pursuing something that is deemed more desirable than what one already has, there is a fleeting moment of joy but that is quickly replaced by a desire to upgrade to the next shinier thing.

Perhaps a better way of looking at it is to see the diamond for what it truly embodies - a representation of your partner's love and devotion, rather than a commodity that can be upgraded along the way.

I mean no offense with what I say, just my honest opinion on the matter. To put it another day, once it's a done deal, don't need to keep reading up on diamonds or follow the thread already lah. To do so is only tempting oneself.

For myself as a guy, it's a different issue since I won't be tempted to upgrade what I've bought and presented :s13: I'm just here to share my experience and provide what little advice I can to people who may not have done the same amount of research I did.

Ok my 1 minute pretending to be a zen master is over, now back to the angst of life!

I agree. It's just like women see no value in the men's car since it's the same mode of transport but they always wanna upgrade for bigger better ones. Haha.

ironmanstark88

Hi buyers, did anyone of you try to haggle price when at JP?
If so, what is the range?
Can pm me if you are not comfortable sharing here heh

Lss

Hi buyers, did anyone of you try to haggle price when at JP?
If so, what is the range?
Can pm me if you are not comfortable sharing here heh

Tried won't budge. But ring setting you customise vs choose stock no difference in price. So customise to make your money worth.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.