Proposal Ring - Part 3

bb_100

Was previously quoted $250 extra per fancy pink diamond melee. Still went ahead with initial fancy pink sapphire/ruby though. Looks just as good.

Can consider using pink ruby melees instead for cost savings, but not sure whether there will be any problems color-matching if you need quite a few melees. Cheap though.

I asked how much extra would a pink diamond cost. Was quoted $350 for a fancy intense pink. I need two of them, so $700 which is a bit too much haha.

Is there a difference if I use pink rubies/sapphires?

mero_cwj

I asked how much extra would a pink diamond cost. Was quoted $350 for a fancy intense pink. I need two of them, so $700 which is a bit too much haha.

Is there a difference if I use pink rubies/sapphires?

Don't think so... Like I said, there's a difference only if you are dead set that it must be diamond, otherwise the visual effect is similar. Went to dig out the renders which I asked for using two pink rubies at the base. Similar to what you are looking for. One thing to take note is that the base has to be a fair bit thicker if you want the round bezel to not stick out so much.

qZasw86.jpg

O4lqcT4.jpg

mero_cwj

The base? Which base are you referring to?

The bottom of the "basket" where the prongs meet. If you compare my render and the photo you posted previously, if you want the side gem to be set flush to the side profile of the ring, the framework of the center part of the ring needs to thicker and more "solid". The setting that I wanted was more "skeletal" (for lack of a better word), so the side bezel protrudes out more from the base of the "basket".

paiseh I dunno what are the technical terms to describe the parts of the ring haha :s22:

my gf and I both felt that it departed from the otherwise flowing aesthetic of the ring so I decided to scrap that idea and just go with a simple setting.

bb_100

The bottom of the "basket" where the prongs meet. If you compare my render and the photo you posted previously, if you want the side gem to be set flush to the side profile of the ring, the framework of the center part of the ring needs to thicker and more "solid". The setting that I wanted was more "skeletal" (for lack of a better word), so the side bezel protrudes out more from the base of the "basket".

paiseh I dunno what are the technical terms to describe the parts of the ring haha :s22:

my gf and I both felt that it departed from the otherwise flowing aesthetic of the ring so I decided to scrap that idea and just go with a simple setting.

Ohhh, now I get it. Thanks for your clarifications!

walkerz

Hi all

Would like to seek the experts' opinion on this diamond which JP recommended. Super Ideal 0.652cts F VS2 @ $5,400 AGS104091313026.

I believe the HCA score is 1.1

What are the common areas I should look out for? I've received the scope images and they look pretty much the same as what have been posted here before. I'll see if I can figure out how to post the images up.

Lastly, any other comments are appreciated! Tks all!

RV8910

Any experts can comment on this specs of diamond? 0.5 Carat, D, VS2 and excellent for cut grade symmetry and polish. About SGD 2.8K

bb_100

Hi all

Would like to seek the experts' opinion on this diamond which JP recommended. Super Ideal 0.652cts F VS2 @ $5,400 AGS104091313026.

I believe the HCA score is 1.1

What are the common areas I should look out for? I've received the scope images and they look pretty much the same as what have been posted here before. I'll see if I can figure out how to post the images up.

Lastly, any other comments are appreciated! Tks all!

If it is JannPaul's Super Ideal, look no further bro. Only the best of the best, tip top quality for their Super Ideals. When you are looking at such a diamond, there is no need to ask us about its performance. It is more appropriate to ask your wallet if it is able to take the damage bro haha.

bb_100

Any experts can comment on this specs of diamond? 0.5 Carat, D, VS2 and excellent for cut grade symmetry and polish. About SGD 2.8K

No expert is able to tell/comment just by looking at those information bro. Not even Marcel Tolkowsky himself haha. We need more details such as its crown and pavilion angles, table and depth percentages, etc. Better still, just give us its GIA/AGS report number and the sifus here will do the rest.

RV8910

No expert is able to tell/comment just by looking at those information bro. Not even Marcel Tolkowsky himself haha. We need more details such as its crown and pavilion angles, table and depth percentages, etc. Better still, just give us its GIA/AGS report number and the sifus here will do the rest.

PROPORTIONS

Depth 62.5 %
Table 56 %
Crown Angle 32.0°
Crown Height 13.5%
Pavilion Angle 41.6°
Pavilion Depth 44.5%
Star Length 50%
Lower Half 80%
Girdle Medium to Slightly Thick, Faceted, 4.5%
Culet None

Clarity Characteristics - Crystal
Measurements - 5.06 - 5.09 x 3.17 mm

Anymore details required?

KinoChoco

PROPORTIONS

Depth 62.5 %
Table 56 %
Crown Angle 32.0°
Crown Height 13.5%
Pavilion Angle 41.6°
Pavilion Depth 44.5%
Star Length 50%
Lower Half 80%
Culet None

HCA 3.6, it's bad, avoid this stone.

walkerz

If it is JannPaul's Super Ideal, look no further bro. Only the best of the best, tip top quality for their Super Ideals. When you are looking at such a diamond, there is no need to ask us about its performance. It is more appropriate to ask your wallet if it is able to take the damage bro haha.

Haha thanks bro.

How about whether you / other bros have any advice on what other characteristics I could possibly play around to have good value? ☺

Thanks!

bb_100

Haha thanks bro.

How about whether you / other bros have any advice on what other characteristics I could possibly play around to have good value? ☺

Thanks!

F VS2 is the lowest you can go bro. You can still drop one colour grade but I think that will only cost $100 or so lesser bro.

Rest assured bro. JannPaul did all the hard work for you on their Super Ideal diamonds, as proven by many bros and experts here. So they are definitely value for money. Unless you are willing to go for the "half ideal half super ideal" kind of stone lar. In this case, Super Ideals are demoted to Ideals just because they missed out on one criterion. These diamonds are rare but they do exist, and once you find one, you don't let go cuz they are priced at the Ideal cut range.

bb_100

PROPORTIONS

Depth 62.5 %
Table 56 %
Crown Angle 32.0°
Crown Height 13.5%
Pavilion Angle 41.6°
Pavilion Depth 44.5%
Star Length 50%
Lower Half 80%
Culet None

HCA score on the low side bro. Avoid this poor thing if your budget permits.

walkerz

F VS2 is the lowest you can go bro. You can still drop one colour grade but I think that will only cost $100 or so lesser bro.

Rest assured bro. JannPaul did all the hard work for you on their Super Ideal diamonds, as proven by many bros and experts here. So they are definitely value for money. Unless you are willing to go for the "half ideal half super ideal" kind of stone lar. In this case, Super Ideals are demoted to Ideals just because they missed out on one criterion. These diamonds are rare but they do exist, and once you find one, you don't let go cuz they are priced at the Ideal cut range.

Thanks much!

KinoChoco

Haha from F to G prices does vary alot for bigger size diamonds, especially in 1 carat and above, it's about 1-2k jump in prices

akloaklo

What does a poor HCA score represents? Does it justify the cost of 3k? Or I can get a much btr quality ones with that price?

I hope I didn't give wrong info since I didn't really keep up with diamond education beyond what I was given at JP few months back...

Anyway from the website, hca affects the Light return, fire , scintillation

Your diamond won't be as bright, won't have as nice scintillation (the flashes of light when you tilt your diamond back and forth), will have more dark areas under certain circumstance (or all circumstances).

Important thing you need to know is that HCA is use to exclude diamonds of a particular cut (forget the name liao)...so if JP see your diamond, they'll throw it away because it already fail the basic test and there is no need to inspect it further.

Just like application to some uni, if your gpa is below 3.8 you can forget about it. Even if you are good at cooking, good at business (have your own company) it doesn't matter you still don't meet the requirements to get into that uni.

This video by JP has the exact info you need.(plus comparison of 2 diamonds, 1 that pass the HCA and 1 that failed the HCA.

walkerz

mero_cwj

Hi all

I've managed to upload the pictures. Any comments from the gurus will be appreciated! I'm also a little concern on the inclusions. Any thoughts on it?

Thanks in advance guys! ************************************

http://tinypic.com/r/2q1bh21/9

http://tinypic.com/r/346x3b5/9

http://tinypic.com/r/e63ha1/9

http://tinypic.com/r/2vb7psk/9

http://tinypic.com/r/67jp51/9

I picked something similar. VS2, there was a patch of cloud on the table. It's not visible under the naked eye, and tough to spot even under scopes, but I managed to identify it after close examination using the scopes. It will become just barely visible when viewed at the right angles under a loupe. Should be fine.

I don't think the feathers are much of a concern for this one.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.