thltetek

Decided on the following diamond in the end:

Super Ideal Cut
0.63 F VVS2
$5,500 (Inclusive of 7% GST)

Got the diamond alone for now as I need time to get more ideas on the customisation for the ring setting, before heading back to JannPaul to get its 3D rendering.

misstt

Everyone's definition of size is different, for my partner, she's a size 46 and i still think 1.3CT look quite small on her :vijayadmin:
I believe the average diamond size in SG is 0.5 - 0.75, as for relatively to finger size....no idea...anyway size 50 finger aren't chubby la, it's already quite thin liao.

tbh i thought my fingers were fine (even thought it was slim hahah) but more than 70% of the tray of rings that JP brought out couldnt fit my finger and when i showed my friends the pic of 0.8 diamond on my finger, they still thought it was quite small and guessed it was 0.5-6 T.T

but yea thanks anyway!!

KinoChoco

i know most people here go for JP diamonds. Has anyone compared Larry Lazare diamonds with JP diamonds? Personally i felt that Larry Lazare looks better. Anyone feels the same?

If I’m not wrong, Larry Lazare is just a normal 8 hearts and arrow ideal cut. You will be paying for the brand for a ideal cut quality diamond.

wint3rnights

If I’m not wrong, Larry Lazare is just a normal 8 hearts and arrow ideal cut. You will be paying for the brand for a ideal cut quality diamond.

Yup Lazare is a normal 8 hearts and arrow ideal cut. But I’m just wondering if there’s really such a thing as “Super ideal cut”. The only information I can find about “Super ideal cuts” are from Brian Gavin Diamonds, which I believe JP carries their diamonds. This is because Brian Gavin has the patent for this cushion hearts & arrows, aka cushion brellia. Appreciate some advise!

KinoChoco

Yup Lazare is a normal 8 hearts and arrow ideal cut. But I’m just wondering if there’s really such a thing as “Super ideal cut”. The only information I can find about “Super ideal cuts” are from Brian Gavin Diamonds, which I believe JP carries their diamonds. This is because Brian Gavin has the patent for this cushion hearts & arrows, aka cushion brellia. Appreciate some advise!

'Super' Ideal Cut are basically 8 hearts and arrow Ideal Cuts which passed the highest light performance on ASET scopes.

Most 'Super Ideal Cut /Ideal Cut' in the market does not verify their actual light performance with ASET scopes hence there's a good chance you're overpaying for less quality diamonds.

I don't think that JP has got anything to do with Brian's cushion diamonds (can't confirm on this tho, u might want to check with them directly). As for '8 Hearts & Arrow Cushion' by Brian, i doubt it's Cushion Brellia as if it is, he would had called it by this trade marked name....it's not really very difficult to modify a certain cut and patent it as your own as long its not an exact clone, which i believe that's what Brian did.

wint3rnights

'Super' Ideal Cut are basically 8 hearts and arrow Ideal Cuts which passed the highest light performance on ASET scopes.

Most 'Super Ideal Cut /Ideal Cut' in the market does not verify their actual light performance with ASET scopes hence there's a good chance you're overpaying for less quality diamonds.

I don't think that JP has got anything to do with Brian's cushion diamonds (can't confirm on this tho, u might want to check with them directly). As for '8 Hearts & Arrow Cushion' by Brian, i doubt it's Cushion Brellia as if it is, he would had called it by this trade marked name....it's not really very difficult to modify a certain cut and patent it as your own as long its not an exact clone, which i believe that's what Brian did.

Thanks for your insight. Wondering if anyone has done a side by side comparison of JP Super ideal vs Larry Lazare (with similar 4C)? Care to share you experience in terms of diamond quality? I am ok to pay a slight premium for Lazare if they are just as good in terms of diamond quality.

KinoChoco

Thanks for your insight. Wondering if anyone has done a side by side comparison of JP Super ideal vs Larry Lazare (with similar 4C)? Care to share you experience in terms of diamond quality? I am ok to pay a slight premium for Lazare if they are just as good in terms of diamond quality.

I'll say 90% of JP's Super Ideal will be better than Lazare in terms of scope specs, as Lazare are ranging from ideal - super ideal.

There's no way to identify unless u bring an ASET scope to Lazare or if they can provide the ASET scope images.

Anyway...the visual differences between ideal and super ideal is perhaps only like 10% (which might be negligence to normal sighting)

So....if u/partner do like the brand name of Lazare, just buy it even if it might bling just 5-10% lesser than JP's Super Ideal. (Also considering if the friends surrounding u and your partners cares more about big names, then it may be better for you going for Lazare)

SmartyPants89

which band u think is the nicest? diamond is the same. The original band that i wanted was 1.8mm. they said 1.5mm is thinnest recommended for side diamonds. the next option is to taper the band from 2mm to 1.4mm.

my aim is for the diamond to look the biggest and best on finger :D

kZgLmJH.jpg

Do you have other angles of your ring? Just for my own reference

ThiamWan

If you’re talking about quality, then it’s JP for sure. The proportion criteria for Lazare is already out of their Super Ideal range. And they don’t use the ASET scope as part of their QC. I would say Lazare will be more similar to the Ideal cut, not Super Ideal.

wint3rnights

I'll say 90% of JP's Super Ideal will be better than Lazare in terms of scope specs, as Lazare are ranging from ideal - super ideal.

There's no way to identify unless u bring an ASET scope to Lazare or if they can provide the ASET scope images.

Anyway...the visual differences between ideal and super ideal is perhaps only like 10% (which might be negligence to normal sighting)

So....if u/partner do like the brand name of Lazare, just buy it even if it might bling just 5-10% lesser than JP's Super Ideal. (Also considering if the friends surrounding u and your partners cares more about big names, then it may be better for you going for Lazare)

It’s abit unfortunate that Larry doesn’t let u see the scope images. But I guess that’s also one of the main selling point of JP which makes them so popular.

My partner and I are not so so much after the branding. We just feel that the Lazare appears to have more fire, which of cos may be due to the very different lighting both shops have. Guess it’s hard to compare without the scope images or unless u have the diamonds side by side.

KinoChoco

It’s abit unfortunate that Larry doesn’t let u see the scope images. But I guess that’s also one of the main selling point of JP which makes them so popular.

My partner and I are not so so much after the branding. We just feel that the Lazare appears to have more fire, which of cos may be due to the very different lighting both shops have. Guess it’s hard to compare without the scope images or unless u have the diamonds side by side.

I'll say general all B&M stores will not provide ASET scope / images, as it's a hassle sourcing for the 'perfect' ASET quality diamonds and costly....which most consumer will not know about all these as long nobody educates them on it anyway.

So it's kinda a lose lose situation for those big brands or even mid brands to do such practice

theblueark

Same for a lot of other clothing and accessories. There are 2 broad categories selling products now as compared to the pre-digital era.

1. The Brands
Just trust us. We big brand. Big advertisements. Our stuff good. So many people buy can't be wrong. Big money = big status = big quality (just trust us).

2. The Educators
This is what is considered good. This is why. This is how we do it. Come look behind the scenes. We show you everything. We'll teach you everything. Value for money (we show you why).

For fast consumers who want fast products with minimal brainpower needed, and want to show off to friends, The Brands are still king. Educating yourself takes a lot of time and effort and brainpower, and in the end a lot of your friends still like "huh I don't understand" when you try to show them.

But learning about a product is damn satisfying for ownself buy ownself song. Buy for yourself, enjoy it yourself.

I think The Educators are gaining a lot of traction in the digital age, but probably 90% of people still buy The Brands.

@wint3rnights,
"Super Ideal" is a term created by JP, which is why you couldn't find much info through google. JP created additional checks on top of what GIA and AGS certifies. Those diamonds that pass those checks are labelled as "Super Ideal" by them.

Other shops will tell you there is no such thing as "Super Ideal" because there is no such label by the major certifying bodies. To them, they don't spend the extra effort to further filter from the GIA/AGS cert, so they don't want you to do it either.

Maybe there are some other companies that also come up with their own filter and give those diamonds that pass the filter some name. Don't seem to be any other in SG.

If Larry Lazare doesn't have any special filter of their own, you can probably bet they have the same diamonds everyone else has based on GIA/AGS grading.

wint3rnights

Same for a lot of other clothing and accessories. There are 2 broad categories selling products now as compared to the pre-digital era.

1. The Brands
Just trust us. We big brand. Big advertisements. Our stuff good. So many people buy can't be wrong. Big money = big status = big quality (just trust us).

2. The Educators
This is what is considered good. This is why. This is how we do it. Come look behind the scenes. We show you everything. We'll teach you everything. Value for money (we show you why).

For fast consumers who want fast products with minimal brainpower needed, and want to show off to friends, The Brands are still king. Educating yourself takes a lot of time and effort and brainpower, and in the end a lot of your friends still like "huh I don't understand" when you try to show them.

But learning about a product is damn satisfying for ownself buy ownself song. Buy for yourself, enjoy it yourself.

I think The Educators are gaining a lot of traction in the digital age, but probably 90% of people still buy The Brands.

@wint3rnights,
"Super Ideal" is a term created by JP, which is why you couldn't find much info through google. JP created additional checks on top of what GIA and AGS certifies. Those diamonds that pass those checks are labelled as "Super Ideal" by them.

Other shops will tell you there is no such thing as "Super Ideal" because there is no such label by the major certifying bodies. To them, they don't spend the extra effort to further filter from the GIA/AGS cert, so they don't want you to do it either.

Maybe there are some other companies that also come up with their own filter and give those diamonds that pass the filter some name. Don't seem to be any other in SG.

If Larry Lazare doesn't have any special filter of their own, you can probably bet they have the same diamonds everyone else has based on GIA/AGS grading.

Very insightful. I believe it will not be good for these big / mid range brands like that esp if more and more pple are being educated. Personally, I have done my reasearch & went for the lessons at JP and also visited others stalls which do not provide ASET scope images, which makes me feel less at ease!

mero_cwj

1. The Brands

2. The Educators

@wint3rnights,

Tian Po's Hearts on Fire lor. But I think the Hearts on Fire branding is also overseas one that Tian Po bring in to sell

Sent from Nokia 3310 using GAGT

theblueark

Tian Po's Hearts on Fire lor. But I think the Hearts on Fire branding is also overseas one that Tian Po bring in to sell

Yeah it's an overseas brand exclusive to Tian Po in Singapore. Their selection process sounds nice at the start but in the end devolves into "Aiyah you dunno one lah, just trust us."
Hearts on Fire said:
Less than a tenth of one percent of the world's diamonds can become Hearts On Fire.
Expertly selected from only the rarest rough diamonds,
Chosen for exquisite optical purity,
Each crystal unique, like a snowflake,
Is sculpted into a work of art.
Breathtaking beauty and light, unleashed with the perfect cut.
Always the best.
Hearts On Fire, The World's Most Perfectly Cut Diamond.

On a planet of 7 billion people, only 400 can craft a Hearts On Fire diamond.
Each is a passionate artist.
A skilled expert at releasing the maximum light and life from each diamond.
Cut to perfection.
The ultimate recognition.
Always the best.

The World's Most Perfectly Cut Diamond is designed, cut, and polished using the world's most advanced technology.
We craft our diamonds at over 100x magnification, more than 10x the industry standard.
Our master craftsmen polish Hearts On Fire diamonds to a mirror perfect finish, on vibration-free wheels found only in our workshops.
The best tools in the best hands, release the inner light of Hearts On Fire diamonds like no other.

Tiffany and Co also has what they call "Superlative grading". But also don't want to tell you what it is beyond "trust our 130 years experience". Maybe they really do measure but want to keep the measurements a secret. Or maybe they say say only. Who knows.
Tiffany & Co. said:
Tiffany goes above the standard 4Cs to grade on presence,
a unique fifth element that impacts a diamond’s
brilliance, scintillation and dispersion in profound ways
With more than 130 years of engagement experience,
Tiffany offers diamond expertise you can trust
Tiffany’s superlative grading standards are reflected
in the Tiffany Diamond Certificate, which we stand behind
with our Lifetime Warranty

P R E S E N C E
BRILLIANCE, DISPERSION, SCINTILLATION
Tiffany & Co. has stringent diamond quality standards that go beyond
the 4Cs. We call our 5th C “presence.” Presence plays a key role
in determining a diamond’s brilliance, dispersion and scintillation.
It has to do with the way the diamond is polished, how beautifully aligned
the facets are and how well proportioned the diamond is.
These factors are what give a Tiffany diamond its extraordinary
brilliance and make it sparkle like no other.

mero_cwj

Yeah it's an overseas brand exclusive to Tian Po in Singapore. Their selection process sounds nice at the start but in the end devolves into "Aiyah you dunno one lah, just trust us."

Tiffany and Co also has what they call "Superlative grading". But also don't want to tell you what it is beyond "trust our 130 years experience". Maybe they really do measure but want to keep the measurements a secret. Or maybe they say say only. Who knows.
Tian Po one still not bad, though in the end it is no different from a round brilliant somewhere between ideal and super ideal quality.

Tiffany one is pure bs

wint3rnights

Tian Po one still not bad, though in the end it is no different from a round brilliant somewhere between ideal and super ideal quality.

Tiffany one is pure bs

How u know tian po One not bad without ASET scope?

mero_cwj

How u know tian po One not bad without ASET scope?
Can go check some of the reviews by diamond pros who bought HoF just to review. They used ASET/idealscopes to check against the usual nonbranded super ideal quality diamonds (in US, from Brian Gavin etc).

But I never say worth the money ah haha. Generally the consensus is that they are on par or near to on par with super ideal quality, but marked up in price for the branding. One of the loval loose diamond sellers I spoke to told me the same thing.

But IMO compared to JP, you can definitely get the same or better quality for cheaper at JP.

thltetek

Received the scopes for the diamond I've gotten. 0.63 Super Ideal Cut F VVS2 HCA 1.0. Looks pretty okay to me. Feel free to share if have any comments regarding it!

Actual Diamond:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1r1iJxT3DBoZD5Iw2xaL_-BxHhju4IXAz/view

Ideal Scope:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1P2q43MBJCMLj8NTxhpTR0HuWbtMJHixs/view

ASET Scope:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/14ilrB6AIRk9Iw3JwqvSDAV3nZ6ffTd_d/view

Hearts Scope:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1MKgDG0S8XxkshvKJCpII5MiZeDk99621/view

Sessygurl143

From what I know, JP was the one that brought the Super Ideal Cut term into Singapore last time. That was when they were the only one having these quality diamonds and teaching ppl how to check with the scopes. A lot of places just try to upsell the quality by the certificate yada yada.

At first I didn't understand why other places don't have those scopes too to make life easier for us to compare. Then later I realised its not that they don't have the scopes, but they don't want to show the scopes because the diamond quality cmi. Or even if they have the better quality ones like the Hearts on Fire, they cost an arm and leg. And I'm not even sure if those even meet the same standard for JP's Super Ideals.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.