Proposal Ring - Part 3

Emolisher

diamond is 5k and 500 for the setting.. oh maybe I overlooked Emolisher's post. Maybe 5,250 is for the diamond only.

Didn't know that buying proposal ring is too hard to decide. :s13:

Yes bro..my stated price is for the diamond alone lol

Emolisher

Haha you caused bro vintot unnecessary heartache hahaha.

Walao, he didn't read my post properly leh become my fault =( He also make me happy for awhile, thot I gotten a good deal from JP, lol

Somemore they quote him $500 for setting, mine was quoted $550 for classic setting T.T

vintot

Walao, he didn't read my post properly leh become my fault =( He also make me happy for awhile, thot I gotten a good deal from JP, lol

Somemore they quote him $500 for setting, mine was quoted $550 for classic setting T.T

hehe sorry my fault bro.. anyway can't wait to see the ring it will be available end of april. how about yours?

Emolisher

hehe sorry my fault bro.. anyway can't wait to see the ring it will be available end of april. how about yours?

I haven't confirm yet, waiting for the stock of solafera and octagon to compare haha..but should be end of May

chennychenn

Hi everyone! New to HWZ but had been stalking these threads about proposal ring for a bit. Went down to JP last weekend and placed a deposit on this diamond. Hope I can get some opinions on it! Still waiting for new shipments and hoping there's other better range to choose from but for now it'll be this! Saw the Octagon and I'm still contemplating between Solasfera (which currently they don't have any around the specs I'm looking at) and felt that the Octagon was more unique. Please give me some pointers whether it is a good diamond. Can't post any image of the scope for now as I'm new to HWZ.

Diamond type: Octagon Brilliant
0.442 E VS2
AGS 104089560002
Damage: $3250

chennychenn

Continuation to the below post, as I couldn't post any photos/links.
This is the specs of the diamond(I think??) I searched on the AGS website.

AGS#: 104089560002
Report Type: The AGS Laboratories Light Performance Diamond Quality® Report™
Shape and Style: Octagon Brilliant
Measurements: 4.67 x 4.66 x 3.03 mm
Cut Grade: AGS Ideal 0
Color Grade: AGS 0.5 (E)
Clarity Grade: AGS 4 (VS2)
Carat Weight 0.442
Fluorescence: Negligible
Comments:

"<Damor symbol> 5489", "IDEAL OCTAGON" and "AGS 104089560002" have been inscribed on the girdle of this diamond.

? 5489;IDEAL OCTAGON;AGS 104089560002
Light Performance: 0
Polish: Ideal
Symmetry: Ideal
Table: 53.4%
Crown Angle: 34.7
Crown Height: 17.4%
Girdle: , 1.1% to 6.9%
Pavilion Angle: 40.8
Pavilion Depth: 46.5%
Star Length: 0%
Lower Girdle Length: 0%
Total Depth: 65.0%
Culet: Pointed
Display PDF Representation: Open Report

bb_100

Continuation to the below post, as I couldn't post any photos/links.

You can still post (broken) links. Upload your images to the usual image hosting sites and instead of copying the full link location, try and remove the http://. For example,

i.imgur.com/uwXbTW8.jpg

chennychenn

Trying to see if I'm able to post the pic of the diamond (thanks bb_100!):

i.imgur.com/iG8cXMY.jpg
i.imgur.com/piMqWOf.jpg
i.imgur.com/KFzq5jL.jpg
i.imgur.com/5R2Zweh.jpg
i.imgur.com/tlGAzmU.jpg

bb_100

Trying to see if I'm able to post the pic of the diamond (thanks bb_100!):

i.imgur.com/iG8cXMY.jpg
i.imgur.com/piMqWOf.jpg
i.imgur.com/KFzq5jL.jpg
i.imgur.com/5R2Zweh.jpg
i.imgur.com/tlGAzmU.jpg

Cool. Let me help you with the images.

iG8cXMY.jpg

piMqWOf.jpg

KFzq5jL.jpg

5R2Zweh.jpg

tlGAzmU.jpg

The diamond looks good, but I am a bit skeptical about its girdle thickness.

chennychenn

Thank you bb_100 for adding in the images!
When I went there wasn't much choice to choose from. Below is the few diamonds I have seen together with the specs and price. Please let me know which one is more ideal. For now budget is 5-6k inclusive of a setting which I wanna customize and got quoted for $950 (no additional small diamonds on band except for a small diamond in the middle above the band, I am also considering without the small diamond too since wedding band will be half eternal diamond ring for her). Still not sure if the 0.442 is a a good buy at a price of $3250. What do you guys think? Would probably need more opinions!

OCTAGON:
0.442 E VS2 $3250
0.418 D VS1 $3250
0.43 E VVS1 $3350
0.512 D VS2 $4800
0.514 D VVS2 $5500
0.572 E VS1 $5300

bb_100

OCTAGON:
0.442 E VS2 $3250
0.418 D VS1 $3250
0.43 E VVS1 $3350
0.512 D VS2 $4800
0.514 D VVS2 $5500
0.572 E VS1 $5300

No problem bro!

Are you open for consideration to other diamond shapes? I am asking this because at that price range, you can probably get a 0.6 to 0.7x stone. Perhaps a near Super Ideal round brilliant?

bb_100

Just want to check here again what is the best cc to spend on for now haha

I am using American Express True Cashback CC.
3% cashback for the first 6 months up to $5,000 and 1.5% thereafter. Was a bit hesitant at first cuz not sure if JannPaul accept Amex haha but they do!

ANZ Optimum World MasterCard CC also not bad.
5% rebate on your chosen category: dining & leisure or travel or shopping or groceries. Can switch category every 4 months (forget liao every 3 months or 4 months, sorry).

So far this is the two that I know of.

chennychenn

Actually I'm considering Solasfera or Octagon but I'm leaning more towards Octagon for its unique shape. Not sure about the price range of the other super ideal cuts too. Would Solasfera be cheaper than Octagon or otherwise? When I went down there's no more Solasfera around these range/spec and was told only to wait for the next shipment which they can't confirm when. And I wanna settle it so I can get it in Nov as I'm planning to propose then. Still open for choices though! I plan on going down this weekend to take another look at the current selections and also my SA forgotten to show me the diamonds under direct sunlight when he gave me the walk through about diamonds so I'm gonna do that this weekend!

No problem bro!

Are you open for consideration to other diamond shapes? I am asking this because at that price range, you can probably get a 0.6 to 0.7x stone. Perhaps a near Super Ideal round brilliant?

bb_100

Actually I'm considering Solasfera or Octagon but I'm leaning more towards Octagon for its unique shape. Not sure about the price range of the other super ideal cuts too. Would Solasfera be cheaper than Octagon or otherwise? When I went down there's no more Solasfera around these range/spec and was told only to wait for the next shipment which they can't confirm when. And I wanna settle it so I can get it in Nov as I'm planning to propose then. Still open for choices though! I plan on going down this weekend to take another look at the current selections and also my SA forgotten to show me the diamonds under direct sunlight when he gave me the walk through about diamonds so I'm gonna do that this weekend!

Don't limit yourself to only Solasfera and Octagon bro. Request to look at other shapes as well - Super Ideal, ideal, princess, heart, etc. - then slowly narrow down your selection from there. Who knows you might find princess cuts more attractive?

From now til November still got 7 months bro, you have more than enough time to slowly choose the best one for your proposal ring. I started my hunt at JannPaul in mid December last year and I need the ring in July, also after 7 months. My sales assistant kept reassuring me that I have more than enough time to slowly browse around.

Started off with round brilliants, then changed my mind to princess and emerald cuts after subtly fishing for info from my SO, and finally decided on a heart shape as she prefers something not so common.

Emolisher

Actually hor I did view the octagon and Super Ideal side by side, if the diamond is small and when the setting is in place, you can't actually notice any difference on whether it's octagon or round. Unless you are into the marketing strategy of 8-sided arrow that have 88 facets with 8arrow and 8heart lol

xiaoyuer89

hi all. was googling about proposal rings and this thread came up to me. understand this is a huge thread and was seeing JP appear throughout the thread so would like to understand JP is JannPaul at far east shopping center?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.