Proposal Ring - Part 3

KinoChoco

Haha, you guys are so lucky.

My gf doesn't want me to buy from JP because it's pronunciation sounds like Jeom-po

In Korean it means street stall and she was shocked when I read out the name to her. 'Are you seriously buying the ring from a street shop?'

Any other boutique to recommend?

Can i assume she cares about branding then? To what extent? It depends on her preferences if shes into any particular brand (But you and her need to understand that you might be looking at paying 1.5x to 2x of the price of JP for a diamond that could possibly be of lower quality than JP.)

kyteo79

Can i assume she cares about branding then? To what extent? It depends on her preferences if shes into any particular brand (But you and her need to understand that you might be looking at paying 1.5x to 2x of the price of JP for a diamond that could possibly be of lower quality than JP.)

Wah ... cant help but notice you so pro JP ... any relationship between you and JP ... Dun mind i ask ?

KinoChoco

Wah ... cant help but notice you so pro JP ... any relationship between you and JP ... Dun mind i ask ?

No ah, it's a fact. I've been to all well known jeweler in SG.

It's common to see prices over 2x of JP. I've only looked at above 1 carat tho.

There are cheaper options where their business concept are close to JP, but their quality arent better and pricing is also not really cheaper....but like i said, if his GF does care about branding...those random online stores i doubt she will want.

rubbadubbaducky!

Er, yes. I admit she doesn't know what is the 'best deal' neither are we educated in the area of choosing a good diamond that's why she's leaning towards branding at the moment.

My gf does have high expectations of me, so I intentionally pushed the proposal later so I could change job and possibly increase my budget for the ring.

mero_cwj

Haha, you guys are so lucky.

My gf doesn't want me to buy from JP because it's pronunciation sounds like Jeom-po

In Korean it means street stall and she was shocked when I read out the name to her. 'Are you seriously buying the ring from a street shop?'

Any other boutique to recommend?
Then cannot buy from soo kee also :s13:

Cars cannot buy Subaru, Suzuki

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

xiaolaohu

Er, yes. I admit she doesn't know what is the 'best deal' neither are we educated in the area of choosing a good diamond that's why she's leaning towards branding at the moment.

My gf does have high expectations of me, so I intentionally pushed the proposal later so I could change job and possibly increase my budget for the ring.

I feel that you can still get from JP with higher range of carat.. Important is the GIA certification which you can show to her the quality of diamond you getting. Getting from other atas brands (e.g. tiff and co) doesn't equate to better quality of the diamond you getting for her. Ultimately, it is still up to your convincing power.
icon3.gif
;)

rubbadubbaducky!

Yeah. We haven't decided anything yet, I'm just open to options. I'm sure JP is reputable (as many here have given positive feedback) just that I don't want to visit 1 shop and that's it.

I feel that you can still get from JP with higher range of carat.. Important is the GIA certification which you can show to her the quality of diamond you getting. Getting from other atas brands (e.g. tiff and co) doesn't equate to better quality of the diamond you getting for her. Ultimately, it is still up to your convincing power.
icon3.gif
;)

xiaolaohu

Yeah. We haven't decided anything yet, I'm just open to options. I'm sure JP is reputable (as many here have given positive feedback) just that I don't want to visit 1 shop and that's it.

Yeah. If you have time, then it should be fine. Do note that it will take approximately 4-6 weeks for JP to deliver the ring. For me, I was just abit lazy and don't wish to waste time visiting other shops as I may spend minimum of 1 hr, so I went straight to JP to customize the ring. I spent close to 3 hours in JP (education - 1hr+ to 2 hr, choosing the ring took me another hour):s8:

fir3bon3

I went down JP already. I was assisted by Casey. Very humble and nice guy.. only at the end of the appt I realised he's one of the partners there. omg..

I chopped their Super ideal cut 0.61 F VS1. Originally I wanted their Solasfera but they didnt have much left. I think you guys here cleared their Solasfera stocks issit? Sibei hot cake leh~ They didnt have any left in 0.3-0.6ct liao.

The 0.6ct should be covering about 60% of her finger. I used my last finger which is around her 4th finger size to estimate. I even used a ruler and photo to measure :s13: Somehow I feel it looks damn big leh... 60% of finger doesnt sound much but when I see it physically, waaaaa.... Think looks abit big ah.. I'm not sure if my gf really knows what she's talking about when she hint me 50-75%. She only use her imagination to guess and never see a diamond on her finger before.

JHRN8z6.jpg

I KIVed this 3 designs. I like the 4 arms over the 6. Can see more of the main diamond. I believe these designs is towards the direction of her ''simple but yet unique''. lol

8O2jmDh.jpg

I'm leaning to this one the most. There's a tiny diamond on the setting also. Might change it to a pink sapphire.

I remembered someone recommending the best credit card for rebates. I just applied the UOB one card and will swipe it there every month and maximize the cash rebate. Any particular conditions I need to pay attention to? Or go there swipe the monthly max and the rest is auto liao right?

gRyTfKb.jpg

Hahaha! I guess the Solafera range is very popular. I manage to get my hands on a 0.6ct Solasfera.
I didn't really notice how much % it covers her finger but it looks proportionate though. Oh well impt thing is my SO is happy with it so yea~ hahahha!!

As for the uob one cc, from what I know you have to swipe 2k consecutive 3 months within the same quarter, minimum 3 transaction per month. I think its better if you ask the bank directly. Later give you wrong information GG. hahah! :s13:

fir3bon3

I believe you guys can head down there to listen to their education luh. Can learn at the same time narrow down on what you want.

KinoChoco

What about Love & Co? Their love mark ideal series, and pricing is not as crazy as other brands...but also depends if she's ok with love & co brand la...haha.

You're in deep **** bro, lol.

I assume she will want at least 1 carat. Your budget gonna be deep deep liao if you want an ideal cut 1 carat from atas brand.

mero_cwj

What about Love & Co? Their love mark ideal series, and pricing is not as crazy as other brands...but also depends if she's ok with love & co brand la...haha.

I assume she will want at least 1 carat. Your budget gonna be deep deep liao if you want an ideal cut 1 carat from atas brand.
:s13: hope he has 25-30k to spare...

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

kyteo79

No ah, it's a fact. I've been to all well known jeweler in SG.

It's common to see prices over 2x of JP. I've only looked at above 1 carat tho.

There are cheaper options where their business concept are close to JP, but their quality arent better and pricing is also not really cheaper....but like i said, if his GF does care about branding...those random online stores i doubt she will want.

Thanks clarification to newbies like me.

kyteo79

Brands are cartier, tiffany and co. harry winston, DBeers etc ..

It is always good to go for a education tour .. ehehee

kyteo79

icon3.gif
;)

Talking outside diamonds

A cert is just a cert ...

American standards vs British standards which is better ?

size 5 = 42 ?

Wahahah ...

Where GIA or GIC or GIF i dun really care ... it is just only a report with numbers ... this is a fact ... importantly she loves the "stone" and i will be happy to part the "money" ... "money" i term as "paper"

kyteo79

Dun make it your first shop ...

cos i did it as the first shop and i was sealed there ... cannot run even no chance to go across to shop ... Wahahaha ...

kyteo79

Hahaha! I guess the Solafera range is very popular. I manage to get my hands on a 0.6ct Solasfera.
I didn't really notice how much % it covers her finger but it looks proportionate though. Oh well impt thing is my SO is happy with it so yea~ hahahha!!

As for the uob one cc, from what I know you have to swipe 2k consecutive 3 months within the same quarter, minimum 3 transaction per month. I think its better if you ask the bank directly. Later give you wrong information GG. hahah! :s13:

Why dun you

uob
citibank
dbs

Each card 2k 1 shot ? no need keep going back waste petrol & parking ...

kyteo79

Doubt so ... if have time and just picking diamonds, can travel around for holidays and go overseas dealers and am sure it will be a good deal ..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.