Proposal Ring - Part 3

angjon

hi guys, this might be a noob question...
how many rings does a girl need?

some tell me 1 some say 2 some say 3???

1 = proposal ring with big diamond on it
2 = proposal ring + the couple ring
3 = proposal ring + the couple ring + gold ring from the set jewelry for wedding presentation?

needa set budget for them

jerichoo

Orh. That case, where could I buy an ideal scope and ASET scope? Reason for asking is because I just bought a 0.9 carat diamond for 10k on impulse from a private jeweler. :( I only know it's triple excellent until I saw this thread and realise about the importance of the having to see the scope. :(
Will any ASET scope or ideal scope work?
Thanks le!
dude i strongly suggest since u already bought it not to look at the scopes

if it turns out bad u gonna sell it meh?

if not, why look at it? coz honestly, for the price you paid for such a high carat, something's gotta give.

its whether u wanna feel bad or just go ahead and enjoy your purchase. my 2 cents :)

1000smiles

hi guys, this might be a noob question...
how many rings does a girl need?

some tell me 1 some say 2 some say 3???

1 = proposal ring with big diamond on it
2 = proposal ring + the couple ring
3 = proposal ring + the couple ring + gold ring from the set jewelry for wedding presentation?

needa set budget for them

Common practice is proposal ring first. This one is usually bought by yourself alone unless you want to bring her along.

After she says ''yes'', then comes the couple ring / wedding bands. This one is when you guys choose and buy together.

The jewelry set is optional, depending on your in-law customs, aka ''si dian jing''. This one is at a much later stage, afew months before the wedding. Best is to check with your gf on her family's epectation for this cos some might expect more, less or nothing. I didn't have to do this one for mine :D

Sinkie

If in doubt, why dont you ask them to recertify the diamond? This way, the diamond lab can prove that the diamond is still in perfect condition.

They need to send the diamond to New York for recertify

Need to pay for insurance and flight etc too hassle

snowblaze

dude i strongly suggest since u already bought it not to look at the scopes

if it turns out bad u gonna sell it meh?

if not, why look at it? coz honestly, for the price you paid for such a high carat, something's gotta give.

its whether u wanna feel bad or just go ahead and enjoy your purchase. my 2 cents :)

Thanks bro! I wanted to buy the scope and take a look because I am already feeling bad! So I hope that by lookin at the scope, if there is a chance that it's good then I could tell myself that it's still a good buy. But I actually feel the same and agree with you that the diamond might not be Super ideal (by jannpaul standard) or even an ideal ring judging by the money I paid.. sians.

Last thing I want is my gf to ask me why the ring big but not as bright as her friends who bought from Jannpaul or other jeweler :( I think she will scream at me for wasting money ****.

angjon

Common practice is proposal ring first. This one is usually bought by yourself alone unless you want to bring her along.

After she says ''yes'', then comes the couple ring / wedding bands. This one is when you guys choose and buy together.

The jewelry set is optional, depending on your in-law customs, aka ''si dian jing''. This one is at a much later stage, afew months before the wedding. Best is to check with your gf on her family's epectation for this cos some might expect more, less or nothing. I didn't have to do this one for mine :D

we did talk about the jewelry set which is why i am very confused how does my gf wear 3 ring?
my friends around most is 2 ring, but my parents and in laws saying is 3

walaneh

impages

Hi, is this worth 5.5k?
http://s1160.photobucket.com/user/toylet3/media/4_zpshjzcupoc.png.html?filters[user]=146613214&filters[recent]=1&filters[publicOnly]=1&sort=1&o=0

http://s1160.photobucket.com/user/toylet3/media/3_zps7uqccvcx.png.html?filters[user]=146613214&filters[recent]=1&filters[publicOnly]=1&sort=1&o=1

http://s1160.photobucket.com/user/toylet3/media/2_zpsnvwlx01n.png.html?filters[user]=146613214&filters[recent]=1&filters[publicOnly]=1&sort=1&o=2

http://s1160.photobucket.com/user/toylet3/media/1_zpsbuk1dnso.png.html?filters[user]=146613214&filters[recent]=1&filters[publicOnly]=1&sort=1&o=3

kyteo79

Thanks bro! I wanted to buy the scope and take a look because I am already feeling bad! So I hope that by lookin at the scope, if there is a chance that it's good then I could tell myself that it's still a good buy. But I actually feel the same and agree with you that the diamond might not be Super ideal (by jannpaul standard) or even an ideal ring judging by the money I paid.. sians.

Last thing I want is my gf to ask me why the ring big but not as bright as her friends who bought from Jannpaul or other jeweler :( I think she will scream at me for wasting money ****.

Dun be scared boss.

End of the day. marry is the sake of love. Not to compare each other ..
Just be truthful. end of the day, down the road, bound to buy more diamond rings. so i ask her take it easy.

KinoChoco

Idea. When you're going to customize your wedding bands, consider Jann Paul and then since you're a 'customer', perhaps you can pass them the proposal ring to check with ASET. (might not be as clear tho since it's already mounted)

I'm pretty sure they won't mind to check for you if you're potentially a customer for their wedding bands :)

hisdearqueen

Hi, is this worth 5.5k?
http://s1160.photobucket.com/user/toylet3/media/4_zpshjzcupoc.png.html?filters[user]=146613214&filters[recent]=1&filters[publicOnly]=1&sort=1&o=0

http://s1160.photobucket.com/user/toylet3/media/3_zps7uqccvcx.png.html?filters[user]=146613214&filters[recent]=1&filters[publicOnly]=1&sort=1&o=1

http://s1160.photobucket.com/user/toylet3/media/2_zpsnvwlx01n.png.html?filters[user]=146613214&filters[recent]=1&filters[publicOnly]=1&sort=1&o=2

http://s1160.photobucket.com/user/toylet3/media/1_zpsbuk1dnso.png.html?filters[user]=146613214&filters[recent]=1&filters[publicOnly]=1&sort=1&o=3

I cannot access the links wor

hisdearqueen

Hi all, JannPaul quoted me the following:

0.6 E VS1 Ideal cut 5.5k.

Is this worth it?

Barring the scope images aside (until the links are fixed) ...

and also 5.5k inclusive setting? If without setting I think price a bit high, especially when it's not super ideal.

My hahaha personal record keeping of JP prices (long story there) shows:

Super Ideal0.62 D VS1: $5.8k (no setting)
Super Ideal 0.60 D VS2: $5.8k (with basic setting)
Ideal 0.62 E VS1: $3.9k (no setting)

Unfortunately I did not keep track of the dates purchased. Even if inflation :p is taken into account, I think IF without setting, 5.5k for just the stone of ideal E VS1 is a bit pricey.

walaneh

Vdx9Dh6.png

QQgIaNt.png

irx3jxk.png

UvvmKJ4.png

Did I kena chop carrot?

hisdearqueen

Vdx9Dh6.png

QQgIaNt.png

irx3jxk.png

UvvmKJ4.png

Did I kena chop carrot?

Scope images look okay leh, unless I'm missing out on slight arrow misalignment. Did they tell you why this was classified as Ideal but not Super Ideal? But JP only carries super ideal, so ideal is stock from House of Hung?

JP never chop carrot one, so best is you try to clarify or find out why ...

walaneh

oops my bad, in the email they say that it's a super ideal cut. but when I was introduced to it, I was told it was ideal/triple excellent.

iV6EmNB.png

hisdearqueen

oops my bad, in the email they say that it's a super ideal cut. but when I was introduced to it, I was told it was ideal/triple excellent.

iV6EmNB.png

then for $5.5k you never kena chop carrot lah ... market price.
Congrats on your gorgeous purchase! :s12::s12::s12:

FYI, in case you are confused. Super Ideal is a term JP came up with that guarantees their diamonds are ... like many would say here, the "cream of the crop" of the "industry standard" ideal/triple excellent. :)

walaneh

Thank you! i though it was just ideal because the guy just kept explaining ideal and triple excellent. not once did super ideal come out of his mouth. hahaha

snowblaze

Idea. When you're going to customize your wedding bands, consider Jann Paul and then since you're a 'customer', perhaps you can pass them the proposal ring to check with ASET. (might not be as clear tho since it's already mounted)

I'm pretty sure they won't mind to check for you if you're potentially a customer for their wedding bands :)

Dun be scared boss.

End of the day. marry is the sake of love. Not to compare each other ..
Just be truthful. end of the day, down the road, bound to buy more diamond rings. so i ask her take it easy.

Thank you! I will try. i'll Take a picture of it when i get it. lols

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.