Proposal Ring - Part 3

jadeites

Eh. Can someone explain what is the ring setting thingy? What is it for etc?

A diamond ring is made out of two parts. The diamond and the ring setting. So the ring setting includes the prongs/claws/basket to hold the diamond tightly as well as the rest of the ring (the round metal part that that goes on your finger). They come in any design you can possibly imagine, but most people in Singapore go for simple and classic variations of white gold solitaire settings.

jadeites

Still trying to get the different one, or get over being bothered by it lol because the price deferential is 10% for another shortlist with similar specs (except G goes to E)

I wouldn’t waste my money going up to E! There probably is a very limited selection of octagons. An option is to ask JP to look out for an octagon w similar specs and price range and wait for the next batch to come. Ask them if they would advise you to wait. Put a deposit to say that if they have exact same stone w perfect symmetry then you confirm want it. That’s if you can wait a few months for next 2-3 batches.

Sounds like you are quite bothered by it. My suggestion would be to wait for their next 1-2 batches.

jadeites

Haha I said gais with an "i" not "y", or is it spelt gaiz?

Thanks for your thoughts, I went down today to look in person again and really cannot tell with the phone camera eye or normal eye. It's just that sometimes when you see it you can't unsee it. And they currently do not have a lot of octagon diamonds in that range available.

Maybe all gena choped by all you HWZers.

LOL sorry I read wrongly! Now I see the gaizzz.

Ya, the octs are limited. Cause IMO the minute I saw them 1.) I cannot really tell they are octagon shaped compared to the rounds, when they are placed in the setting 2.) they look SMALLER than the rounds of same size (duh cause they have to cut the size to oct shape therefore appear smaller) 3.) they are more expensive since specialty cut but look smaller. So I guess for these reasons they may be a less popular option in general and thus have limited selection. Round brilliants will always be the most popular option IMO thus more options to choose from.

jadeites

Jus make a down payment for 0.517 E VS2 solaferas diamond alone for $4850 at JP. Got tio chop carrot bo?

I personally would go down to G if you cannot see the difference between EFG. Saves you a lot of money and you can go up in size. And I personally feel no need for solaferas because it’s more expensive and for the price you can go up in size, but I know not everybody in the world is like me and prefers to go up in size as long as diamond looks white, is eyeclean and sparkles like a Super Ideal diamond (that’s enough for me I don’t need solaferas).

If you are happier w E, happy with your size and happy with the price you paid then no problem. But I think it’s worth asking them to show you a slightly bigger (0.62ish) G VS2 Super Ideal diamond (not solasferas) of similar price and see if you prefer that one. It is significantly bigger IMO.

libra84

Hi all you diamond gurus!

I'm new here and like a lot of bros here, I'm looking for a proposal ring. Did some homework and started looking around. Found this diamond and would like to ask the experts here if it's a good one. Looking forward to a reply!

Price: Slightly less than SGD5000
Shape and cutting style: Round brilliant
Measurement : 5.74 - 5.77 X 3.50mm
Carat weight: 0.7
Color: F
Clarity: VS1
Cut: Excellent
Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
Fluorescence: None
Clarity Characteristics: Cloud, pinpoint
Table %: 58
Depth %: 60.7
Crown: 33.5
Pavillion: 41.0

julietta

I personally would go down to G if you cannot see the difference between EFG. Saves you a lot of money and you can go up in size. And I personally feel no need for solaferas because it’s more expensive and for the price you can go up in size, but I know not everybody in the world is like me and prefers to go up in size as long as diamond looks white, is eyeclean and sparkles like a Super Ideal diamond (that’s enough for me I don’t need solaferas).

If you are happier w E, happy with your size and happy with the price you paid then no problem. But I think it’s worth asking them to show you a slightly bigger (0.62ish) G VS2 Super Ideal diamond (not solasferas) of similar price and see if you prefer that one. It is significantly bigger IMO.

He show me a few diamond which was super idea cut until I requested it to compare w 1 diamond tat was solaferas. Price diff only by $200. So I jus take the solaferas.
Never cross my mind whether got other color beside E a not. Anyway oso buy liao. Regret oso no use. Haha

terabytez

He show me a few diamond which was super idea cut until I requested it to compare w 1 diamond tat was solaferas. Price diff only by $200. So I jus take the solaferas.
Never cross my mind whether got other color beside E a not. Anyway oso buy liao. Regret oso no use. Haha

They don't allow people to change the diamond meh? I thought JP only ask for deposit?

terabytez

I'm new here and like a lot of bros here, I'm looking for a proposal ring. Did some homework and started looking around. Found this diamond and would like to ask the experts here if it's a good one. Looking forward to a reply!

I'm no expert but based on paper specs not enough to determine if it's a good diamond. Any scope images?

jadeites

The diamond is acceptable and has a score of HCA 1.6, so the cut is good. But HCA is only an elimination tool, not a deciding tool. Doubt it’s a Super Ideal cut at that price?

However, I think you can do better on price and maximizing your budget for a bigger but still well-cut diamond. Do you feel like you can go down in color to G and go down to VS2 or SI1 as long as the diamond is eye clean? At that size you won’t be able to see white inclusions without a loupe. You could get a significantly bigger size for the same budget if you are able to lower your criteria. There are eye clean SI1s and VS2 will probably still be eye clean.

libra84

The diamond is acceptable and has a score of HCA 1.6, so the cut is good. But HCA is only an elimination tool, not a deciding tool. Doubt it’s a Super Ideal cut at that price?

However, I think you can do better on price and maximizing your budget for a bigger but still well-cut diamond. Do you feel like you can go down in color to G and go down to VS2 or SI1 as long as the diamond is eye clean? At that size you won’t be able to see white inclusions without a loupe. You could get a significantly bigger size for the same budget if you are able to lower your criteria. There are eye clean SI1s and VS2 will probably still be eye clean.

Hi! I found this on Fonder Diamonds website and it is their super ideal cut. Booked an appointment, went down and discovered that they do not hold onto the diamonds physically. They will only ship in the diamonds from the factory once you decided on the one you are getting. Payment is only after seeing the diamonds physically so I guess it is not so bad.

The salesman showed me a couple of the diamonds that someone else ordered using the ASET scope and from my limited knowledge, they do look very good! Very little light leakage.

He also said that they partner with Sarine Technologies to do a lab test call Sarine Profile in order to assess brilliance, fire etc. I googled about Sarine Profile and it does seems like a real thing as Love & Co. in China also started providing Sarine Profile for their diamonds this year.

Therefore I would also like to ask if anyone has bought diamonds from Fonder Diamonds before? They are quite new and I am still considering my options...

KinoChoco

Hi! I found this on Fonder Diamonds website and it is their super ideal cut. Booked an appointment, went down and discovered that they do not hold onto the diamonds physically. They will only ship in the diamonds from the factory once you decided on the one you are getting. Payment is only after seeing the diamonds physically so I guess it is not so bad.

The salesman showed me a couple of the diamonds that someone else ordered using the ASET scope and from my limited knowledge, they do look very good! Very little light leakage.

He also said that they partner with Sarine Technologies to do a lab test call Sarine Profile in order to assess brilliance, fire etc. I googled about Sarine Profile and it does seems like a real thing as Love & Co. in China also started providing Sarine Profile for their diamonds this year.

Therefore I would also like to ask if anyone has bought diamonds from Fonder Diamonds before? They are quite new and I am still considering my options...

I checked them up before, they do not sell actual Super ideal quality, their diamond sucks and they proclaim to be Super ideal, some of those are worse than a normal ideal.

ThiamWan

I'm no expert but based on paper specs not enough to determine if it's a good diamond. Any scope images?

I agree with terabytez. Without the scope images, you won't be able to tell if its a good diamond. The proportions is just paper specs. I almost bought this diamond below. Luckily I insisted on the scopes back then.

Comments pls. I found this diamond from a family fren jeweller. Its a Super ideal cut 1.09 F VS2.

de2dTIY.jpg

The HCA score is 1.2
light return - excellent
fire - excellent
scintillation - excellent
spread - very good

They rushing me to confirm the diamond before it gets sold to someone else.
Is this a good buy?

I asked and got these pictures. Its quite different from the photos i see other ppl posting. He told me its a super ideal cut and the proportions are super ideal too.

np8svYk.jpg

74dHNIb.jpg

cQ8BMYa.jpg

ThiamWan

I checked them up before, they do not sell actual Super ideal quality, their diamond sucks and they proclaim to be Super ideal, some of those are worse than a normal ideal.

So far all the ''Super ideals'' I saw at Fonders are not Super ideals. I think they have their own version of their own ''Super ideal'' lol. Don't trust the sample diamonds on how its ''suppose'' to look like. That's not the diamond you're getting. Every diamond is cut differently and its not right to show a good one as sample of what you're getting.

From what I heard, Fonders dont carry inventory because they do drop shipping like Bluenile. They're like middleman selling other ppls goods. Everyone other websites will also have access to those same goods. You should be able to find the diamonds on Fonders in other websites like Bluenile, etc. which might be cheaper. But like Bluenile, you won't know the real quality.

What I suggest is to visit as many jewellers as you can. Whatever diamonds that you like, record the GIA number then ask around. For these online goods, I realised most jewellers all can get them too. I recorded some GIA numbers from Fonders that I initially liked and asked around. Most of the jewellers quoted prices cheaper than Fonders for the same diamond. But after getting the scopes, I realised they all have different issues with them.

The Sarine profile report is a gimmick companies use to upsell the diamonds. Just use the ASET scope, it can't hide anything.

jadeites

Their “Super Ideal” diamonds are just normal diamonds with ideal proportions and a HCA score of <2, which means they are well-cut diamonds. They are definitely not on par with JP Super Ideal cut diamonds and priced accordingly. Be careful cos some of the inclusions on their diamonds look truly terrible. Cut is not everything.

Like someone else suggested, you can take the GIA number of the diamond you’re interested in and get quotes from other diamond wholesalers for that same diamond. Alternatively, you could just try to negotiate with Fonder and try to get them to match the lower price quoted by other jewelers.

If you were planning to go the James Allen route, then going with Fonder will work for you. At least you can view the diamond beforehand at Fonder, pick a diamond with HCA rating below 2 and you can get a diamond that is reasonably well-cut and sparkly, and a bigger carat for your budget than you could get at JannPaul. But be careful with cloudy/milky diamonds (there are milky and faint brown diamonds on Fonder!!!! Need to read the report carefully), positions of inclusions that may risk the integrity (chipping) of the stone, and FLUORESCENCE. Sometimes you get diamonds at good prices at Fonder because they have fluorescence or other flaws like certain inclusions. This will affect the future value of your stone (undesirable, so lower). However, you will get a discounted stone, but be aware of why it’s discounted and what you’re buying. Faint fluoro is negligible but will affect the price and future value of your stone.

The BEST way to buy a diamond from Fonder would be to take the sarin report, GIA cert number of the one you’re eyeing and post it on Pricescope forum for the members to help you review the inclusions etc. I won’t trust Fonder or most jewelers to be 100% honest with you about every single possible bad aspect of the stone. But Pricescope will tell you for sure whether or not it’s a good stone and worth your money. No use asking us here, we only know how to tell you go to JP and buy diamonds cause you won’t ganna cheated (this is true cause JP is honest with superb customer service but a more expensive route to take because you can actually buy a bigger, still well-cut diamond at James Allen (or Fonder) for the same budget of a smaller Super Ideal at JP).

libra84

So far all the ''Super ideals'' I saw at Fonders are not Super ideals. I think they have their own version of their own ''Super ideal'' lol. Don't trust the sample diamonds on how its ''suppose'' to look like. That's not the diamond you're getting. Every diamond is cut differently and its not right to show a good one as sample of what you're getting.

From what I heard, Fonders dont carry inventory because they do drop shipping like Bluenile. They're like middleman selling other ppls goods. Everyone other websites will also have access to those same goods. You should be able to find the diamonds on Fonders in other websites like Bluenile, etc. which might be cheaper. But like Bluenile, you won't know the real quality.

What I suggest is to visit as many jewellers as you can. Whatever diamonds that you like, record the GIA number then ask around. For these online goods, I realised most jewellers all can get them too. I recorded some GIA numbers from Fonders that I initially liked and asked around. Most of the jewellers quoted prices cheaper than Fonders for the same diamond. But after getting the scopes, I realised they all have different issues with them.

The Sarine profile report is a gimmick companies use to upsell the diamonds. Just use the ASET scope, it can't hide anything.

Hi thanks for the insights! Just want to ask when you said "recorded some GIA numbers from Fonders that I initially liked and asked around. Most of the jewellers quoted prices cheaper than Fonders for the same diamond", these jewellers are online ones like Bluenile and James Allen or do you mean local ones like eClarity and Canary?

libra84

Their “Super Ideal” diamonds are just normal diamonds with ideal proportions and a HCA score of <2, which means they are well-cut diamonds. They are definitely not on par with JP Super Ideal cut diamonds and priced accordingly. Be careful cos some of the inclusions on their diamonds look truly terrible. Cut is not everything.

Like someone else suggested, you can take the GIA number of the diamond you’re interested in and get quotes from other diamond wholesalers for that same diamond. Alternatively, you could just try to negotiate with Fonder and try to get them to match the lower price quoted by other jewelers.

If you were planning to go the James Allen route, then going with Fonder will work for you. At least you can view the diamond beforehand at Fonder, pick a diamond with HCA rating below 2 and you can get a diamond that is reasonably well-cut and sparkly, and a bigger carat for your budget than you could get at JannPaul. But be careful with cloudy/milky diamonds (there are milky and faint brown diamonds on Fonder!!!! Need to read the report carefully), positions of inclusions that may risk the integrity (chipping) of the stone, and FLUORESCENCE. Sometimes you get diamonds at good prices at Fonder because they have fluorescence or other flaws like certain inclusions. This will affect the future value of your stone (undesirable, so lower). However, you will get a discounted stone, but be aware of why it’s discounted and what you’re buying. Faint fluoro is negligible but will affect the price and future value of your stone.

The BEST way to buy a diamond from Fonder would be to take the sarin report, GIA cert number of the one you’re eyeing and post it on Pricescope forum for the members to help you review the inclusions etc. I won’t trust Fonder or most jewelers to be 100% honest with you about every single possible bad aspect of the stone. But Pricescope will tell you for sure whether or not it’s a good stone and worth your money. No use asking us here, we only know how to tell you go to JP and buy diamonds cause you won’t ganna cheated (this is true cause JP is honest with superb customer service but a more expensive route to take because you can actually buy a bigger, still well-cut diamond at James Allen (or Fonder) for the same budget of a smaller Super Ideal at JP).

Hi thank you for the wealth of information! I did some more research on Fonder Diamond and found that the same address is also registered with the company name Fonder Capital Pte Ltd. since 2010. Although they are registered with ACRA but on the website opencorpdata, their Entity Status is Gazetted To Be Struck Off. Now I'm not 100% sure what that means, but it does raise my concern... So I might give it a miss and go for a more reliable company.

But thanks! I will be sure to check out the Pricescope forum :)

jadeites

Hi thanks for the insights! Just want to ask when you said "recorded some GIA numbers from Fonders that I initially liked and asked around. Most of the jewellers quoted prices cheaper than Fonders for the same diamond", these jewellers are online ones like Bluenile and James Allen or do you mean local ones like eClarity and Canary?

You can quote the GIA numbers at any jeweller including eclarity and canary, even Jannpaul can help you bring in the diamond you want (but it won’t qualify for their trade-in policy).

This is because anyone can bring in that diamond for you (maybe even me LOL I went to register with hari krishna diamonds, hk.co but you need a company to do so) and sell it to you at a markup from the wholesaler’s price. They will usually be able to beat the other price that someone else quoted you, because no matter who you ask, they will still make a certain percentage from the diamond. They all check on Rapnet.com (international diamond listing for jewelers) to figure out where the diamond is located.

It doesn’t mean that Fonder’s pricing is not competitive, because if you took the lower price to Fonder and try to ask them to match it, they can still do so. You can always check for the market value of the diamond you’re looking at on James Allen and Fonder is in that range. I don’t think there’s any risk in buying from Fonder if you find a diamond you like at a good price, pick a setting, get the ring made and that’s enough for you. In the kinda unlikely event that the business closes down eventually, you can get your ring polished and resized anywhere.

jadeites

Hi guys, I’m looking for someone who wants to save $1000 off a JannPaul stone that they want to purchase and already know the GIA number of. It should cost $4500 or more in order for me to use my trade-in, so you pay $3500 for a stone quoted to you as $4500. Or it can cost less e.g. $4000, but then you’ll only get a $500 discount since I’ll still be losing $1000. I want to trade in my JP stone, so I can purchase that stone for you. Send me a message!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.