Proposal Ring - Part 3

smileedee12

I would have been able to dealt with it if it’s close to 1 or not Super ideal and so on.. but it’s not even close☹️

Hey, sounds like your only option is to upgrade the diamond. But I would suggest for you to really consider his feelings also. And I guess the two of you really need to thrash things out and really let him know that you can't move forward till you can live with your diamond. If you don't settle now, you're gonna be unhappy and I can foresee in future u all will quarrel over this again and again :(

I think I could live with mine because my SO and I went through a period of time where he simply had no money till he did not even want to go out with me because going out = spending and he didn't like it even if I offered to pay. That's where I valued his presence more than $$. Furthermore, we agreed on a special number before diamond shopping and especially if it fits within his budget. There were two super ideal cut, same carat but lower specs in other areas, I offered to top up since it exceeded his budget by $100 / $300 respectively. That's where he exploded. "Can't believe you're valuing a stupid rock over me." Wah then ok la I think back about our conversations together and appreciate him even more now hahaha.. But similar to you, my partner and I live very simple lives.

throwawaygrad

I would have been able to dealt with it if it’s close to 1 or not Super ideal and so on.. but it’s not even close☹️

I feel for you when you said he can afford... seems like he really can and not sure why just never top up a little bit more? 😂

If you have been serious about using your past birthday/anniversary gifts to put towards the diamond, time to make some calculations to show him (provided he did get gifts from you?) After all you have already sacrificed and not like you are telling him "next time I don't need gifts" which guys may not be assured about.

Is it possible to get your partner to upgrade the diamond now? IMO if he screwed up and got you a bad diamond you shouldn't feel any significance to the bad choice he made 😂

theblueark

Unless both of you willing to go trade in, can’t do anything already. My suggestion, keep this one side as a memorable item with sentimental value. That is and always will be the heartfelt gift he thought was the best for you. Just that even the best couples have different tastes and thinking. Keep it safe and remember it.

Then go buy a big-ass moisannite stone and find a jeweler to design and set it the perfect way you want. Wear that for yourself. Allow yourself to give yourself the power to ownself wear ownself shiok.

throwawaygrad

Hey, sounds like your only option is to upgrade the diamond. But I would suggest for you to really consider his feelings also. And I guess the two of you really need to thrash things out and really let him know that you can't move forward till you can live with your diamond. If you don't settle now, you're gonna be unhappy and I can foresee in future u all will quarrel over this again and again :(

I think I could live with mine because my SO and I went through a period of time where he simply had no money till he did not even want to go out with me because going out = spending and he didn't like it even if I offered to pay. That's where I valued his presence more than $$. Furthermore, we agreed on a special number before diamond shopping and especially if it fits within his budget. There were two super ideal cut, same carat but lower specs in other areas, I offered to top up since it exceeded his budget by $100 / $300 respectively. That's where he exploded. "Can't believe you're valuing a stupid rock over me." Wah then ok la I think back about our conversations together and appreciate him even more now hahaha.. But similar to you, my partner and I live very simple lives.

Can I know why your partner got angry about you offering to top up? Is it like he feels emasculated?

smileedee12

Can I know why your partner got angry about you offering to top up? Is it like he feels emasculated?

Omg what's the meaning of emasculated? XD According to him, when u set a budget, u must stick to it. If this diamond ring we bust budget, what about wedding and house Reno? You confirm will want to bust budget to get everything u want. Not gonna deny his sentence HAHAHA but in terms of wedding and house Reno, can feel he doesn't mind if want to bust by a little bit :) but diamond.. I suppose as long as it fulfills the bling criteria already, why still wanna bust budget?!

ahboy82

Hi everybody, I have been reading this thread for the longest time ever since I accidentally found out that my bf is searching for a ring but waiting v Long and nth happened. Always reading just for fun and some knowledge about the diamond since I’m never an expert and wondering how it is like from the guys point of view.
I’ve been in dilemma for a few months now and typing this bcuz I am
Almst at my wits end and have nobody to say this to. And the latest postings are somewhat similar to what I hve been facing.Never expected some ladies thou.

From the start of our years of relationship I had mentioned I Wan a 1 carat and nth much I Wan in terms of any gift or anything of monetary value. But 1 carat must.
In the years of our relationship I also joke about the carat v v often but I always emphasis on the 1 carat.
Bf always say 1 carat or 10k whichever higher.
For years we joke and talked about it.

Frenz around us almst all got married but not me even thou we were togther for a longer time. He asked before if I mind and I said I didn’t.

Many occasions he asked what would I like for bday anniversary and so on and I always said nth Juz add to the carat.
He had offered branded bags accessories and so on. But I just didn’t want them. Tbh, I’m not interested and I don’t Wan to burden my partner with the Budget for the ring.
But I really Wan it v v much. So to me, I give up the many gifts on the many occasions den no Nid waste money and cn save money for the carat or more money for the carat.

I’m not materialistic but to me bcuz it is gg to b worn on me for life and I have told him I will never ask for an upgrade and if I have to choose to sacrifice anything or choose something most impt in the wedding eg,gown, banquet, bridal shoot and so on. I would rather hve more Budget for the ring bcuz I’m gg to wear it for life. I have to like it.

We are not toking about 20k or so is 10k so to me it is not very very high Budget but it shud b able to get me a substantial diamond.

And good things are worth waiting for rte ? So doesn’t matter if everybody gets married before me.

He did ask mi to go down with him but I refused.probabaly still traditional and feel weird.

But end of the day , i didn’t get a 1 carat. Or close.
It was a 0.7x d vs1

I accidentally saw the scopes about 7-8 months before he proposed but I didn’t want to spoil it so I acted like I didn’t noe. But I was really disappointed so I dropped plenty of hints saying 0.7x really cannot 0.8 also cannot something lidat.

The ring didn’t turn out how I expected it to be at all.
I am not ngry.
My partner is great really great in every aspect.
But what really upsets me is that I usually don’t have much I Wan and I’m usually indecisive but this is the one thing that I am v sure and have Told him straight in the face but didn’t get.

When I couldn’t hold it and ask he says bcuz he feels it is the best and big enuf and worry ppl think is fake bcuz he dun earn that much and so on.i even questioned tht is not even 10k y didn’t he max the Budget.
I didn’t ask for branded or best I only wanted 1 carat and bling with side diamonds.

I was devasted I hate myself up till today and am still gg thru the emotions every few days every other days sometimes I don’t even Wan to wear it.sometyms wen I c it it also reminds mi of what I didn’t get.

He is 30+ and I am close.

I really hate myself for saying all of these and feeling all of these bcuz like I said he is great he wants the best for me and so on I try really hard to brainwash myself I Google a lot and to tell myself it’s ok it’s about the love and so on but every few days the emotions come to me.i don’t really know how Long is this gg to last.
But it is so devastating.😂😂 I don’t know how to deal with myself anymore.

I have questions and query in my mind Everyday how come this happened I spoke to him and we feel upset.

I will not do an upgrade bcuz of sentimental reasons he hates the halo and I Thnk upgrading will not justify the price.

What am I supposed to do 😂

Is like for years of ur life you aimed to be the ceo .
So ppl kept promoting faster den you and it doesn’t matter u kept working hard bcuz u aimed something higher.
But end of the day u didn’t get it you got promoted same as the rest of the ppl despite your initial goal and working hard for years thnking u will get there and on the way u rejected all other offers from other company only to end up same as the rest.it didn’t bring you to ur desired goal/position.

Anybody can advise?🙏🏻 Sorry for the Long story

So wat can u do now? Nt like u can sell the diamond n get new one rite?

I say move on bah. House more impt than some diamond.

smileedee12

I feel for you when you said he can afford... seems like he really can and not sure why just never top up a little bit more? 😂

If you have been serious about using your past birthday/anniversary gifts to put towards the diamond, time to make some calculations to show him (provided he did get gifts from you?) After all you have already sacrificed and not like you are telling him "next time I don't need gifts" which guys may not be assured about.

Is it possible to get your partner to upgrade the diamond now? IMO if he screwed up and got you a bad diamond you shouldn't feel any significance to the bad choice he made 😂

Yup agree with this. Should show him the costs saved from not buying gifts for other events. SO and I love to compare the prices of the things we bought/made for each other for birthdays and anniversaries hahaha.. Last year he was 30, I dunno about others but to me, every 5 years of age is significant so for his birthday we bought a pair of watches where his cost about 400+. This year I haven't bought him anniversary gift or birthday gift so he agreed that I could combine the gifts. For anniversary, he spent like max $10? My birthday hasn't passed. So he's been asking for a headphones which cost $500+, to which I said no because look at what he spent for our anniversary! And 31 YO not as special as 30 YO so he happily went to search and just yesterday told me he found a $399 headphones 😅

This kind of comparing not healthy in the long run la cuz will see who spend more right? But eventually both gonna live together so should think about combined expenses instead. But we'll, haven't marry yet so don't care, keep comparing. And besides, you helped him save on past gifts for other events, I think should really ask him to upgrade the diamond while u still can :)

sugaricing83

No leh, not upset at all. I went with him for the ring selection and i know how ex the diamond ring is. I think initially the size of the diamond is a priority, but it dies down in the end. The size is not gonna be an indicator of how happy your marriage will be.

I Thnk urs with the halo already looks v big.
Honestly, were you v v upset the first few months? And would you still upgrade it now if he asked? Or do u still occasionally look at urs and hope it was the one u wanted.

sugaricing83

You want upgrade so much then you pay for it lo, since you are also working what. He already told you this is the best he can afford liao, you still so insistent.

I know both our financial and I feel 10k is ok.
It is not 3x his salary.

I also don’t feel my ring looks like the fig he paid. I was shocked. Bcuz I feel it’s not justifiable.

Can anybody plz help mi I don’t Wan our relationship to suffer bcuz of this and I dun Wan to hurt him further but I am really suffering I feel like I CNt move on to the banquet and so on. They are just extras no feel bcuz my ring not what I Wanted.😖

sugaricing83

For the house, reno, wedding banquet and honeymoon, are you paying for it?

He didn’t get mi a bad diamond to him it’s the best diamond.
I hate myself for not gg with him hate myself on many occasions when I Thnk of our conversations and I didn’t tell him I saw the scopes and I cannot accept. But wud it have worked? Since I dropped so many hints and the ending is still the same? What have I been waiting for?
Once he said what If big but nt bling.i said cannot. So he say ok den I get the best for u ok.all have.
I said ok.i wanted to continue with actually don’t need the best cuz I nt diamond expert if need to choose I will still
Choose carat size over the rest. But I duno y I didn’t say that out. Now I regret Everyday of my life.i wonder wen can I get over no matter how many tyms we trash things I still cannot get over no matter how much I psycho myself. Everytym I tot I’m ok ordy a few days later I’m the same again.

If he had told me if Wan big cannot so bling only cn choose one or if he had said that n never tell mi give me the best I wud have said size over bling. Is my fault I should have told him my priority still carat size. Hahaha I tot I say many years ordy he understnd. Bcuz I have never said Wan Super ideal of wadever I didn’t even know about colour or Super ideal and so on. I Juz Wan the 1 carat. So y he need to get mi Super ideal and so on. Duno isist kena influence or kena brain wash or wad. Ok I know I v bad I know he says he think is the best.juz not the best in my opinion bcuz nt Wad I Wan best also no use.

I c most ppl either max their Budget or TOP up or hve allitle allowance but my partners change is 4 digit from what he bought.
I probabaly wouldn’t b feeling this way if I didn’t told him all the carat for many years and drop hint so many times.

All no use hahahahah

😂😂 v depressed

gingerhoney

I know both our financial and I feel 10k is ok.
It is not 3x his salary.

I also don’t feel my ring looks like the fig he paid. I was shocked. Bcuz I feel it’s not justifiable.

Can anybody plz help mi I don’t Wan our relationship to suffer bcuz of this and I dun Wan to hurt him further but I am really suffering I feel like I CNt move on to the banquet and so on. They are just extras no feel bcuz my ring not what I Wanted.😖

It’s a D colour, naturally price will be on higher side. I think 0.7 D colour would be close to 10k already depending on which cut and shop you go to

So how much did he exactly paid for it, do you know?

gingerhoney

He didn’t get mi a bad diamond to him it’s the best diamond.
I hate myself for not gg with him hate myself on many occasions when I Thnk of our conversations and I didn’t tell him I saw the scopes and I cannot accept. But wud it have worked? Since I dropped so many hints and the ending is still the same? What have I been waiting for?
Once he said what If big but nt bling.i said cannot. So he say ok den I get the best for u ok.all have.
I said ok.i wanted to continue with actually don’t need the best cuz I nt diamond expert if need to choose I will still
Choose carat size over the rest. But I duno y I didn’t say that out. Now I regret Everyday of my life.i wonder wen can I get over no matter how many tyms we trash things I still cannot get over no matter how much I psycho myself. Everytym I tot I’m ok ordy a few days later I’m the same again.

I c most ppl either max their Budget or TOP up or hve allitle allowance but my partners change is 4 digit from what he bought.
I probabaly wouldn’t b feeling this way if I didn’t told him all the carat for many years and drop hint so many times.

All no use hahahahah

😂😂 v depressed

lol.... hinting wont help ba. sometimes guys also wont get it.

for myself i went down with my SO to see, also to unds more about diamonds and what i want best. also wanted to make sure that is something i really like because it’s a huge purchase

misstt

why cant i see velle19 posts?? deleted??

anyway it already happened and the diamond already bought.
either you suck it up or top up $$ (whether yourself or your SO) and upgrade your diamond- the options are clear; idk what other response/ help you're expecting from this forum. i cant say i share your feelings and im sure it sucks to feel so horrible about your e.ring but no point whining

give it a month or two to calm down and if it irks you so much, dont wear the ring now lor. put aside until you calm down

KinoChoco

why cant i see velle19 posts?? deleted??

anyway it already happened and the diamond already bought.
either you suck it up or top up $$ (whether yourself or your SO) and upgrade your diamond- the options are clear; idk what other response/ help you're expecting from this forum. i cant say i share your feelings and im sure it sucks to feel so horrible about your e.ring but no point whining

give it a month or two to calm down and if it irks you so much, dont wear the ring now lor. put aside until you calm down

Maybe husband/fiance saw it and........

misstt

actually now that we're kinda talking about $$... i realised that it's really very easy for the person who's NOT paying to keep asking to 'up the budget' or 'max the budget' but for the person who's paying... wa sian/ painful

personally i believe in pulling my own weight in a r/s but the 'traditional' side of me still want my SO to pay 100% for my ering. So in return, i offered to get my SO a fancy watch. problem is... my SO very humble and frugal so dont want...

at that moment i personally experienced/ realised... wa the feeling of having to pay few thousands for a gift is really very very painful. and both of us are already considered middle-upper earners, cannot imagine how heart pain someone must feel to fork out so much $$ for a ring (havent even count reno, wedding, etc)

after that realisation i stopped bugging my SO to up budget and decided that i will pay for my share of the ring in other ways (wedding or reno or what)

Hope84

@Velle19

Can totally understand how you might have felt. I'd be very upset if I were you too. But if you know for sure you want to spend the rest of your life with him, then don't let this thing become a bitterness that will affect your relationship with him. (Unless this is just another thing on top of other issues that makes you feel unhappy with him).

I think when the time is right you can always upgrade in the future and keep this one for its sentimental value, or trade it in so you pay less for your future upgrade

Just sharing my experience:

Before my now husband proposed, I told him my spec. Luckily he followed all my requirement (GIA 3X, 1ct+, F, VVS2) and he told me he had to save up and ate instant noodle for almost a month in order to do so (poor thing).. hahaha.. but then I realised 5 years later that there is a far more superior diamond called the Super Ideal cut which looks larger than the other non super ideal diamond + has this incredible sparkle that I really want. And now that we are in a financially more stable position, we can afford an upgrade.

Since my first diamond was not a super ideal (GIA triple excellent only since it was what I knew back then) I could not trade it in for a super ideal cut. but anyway it has some sentimental value and can be passed on to my son for him to propose to his future fiance for example..

Despite allowing me to upgrade and giving me quite a budget for my upgrade, my husband was a bit sad about this whole upgrade thing because he felt that he already fulfilled all my requirement when he proposed (and it cost him arm and leg to buy a ring that I ended up wanting to upgrade again after 5 years).

But after he saw the new diamond in person, and especially after he saw the ring on my ringer in the final ring setting he said it was definitely worth it and he is very happy for me. He was even suggesting that I could even upgrade it again in the future (maybe 10yrs anniversary) knowing this time with the super ideal cut i can get 100% trade in value..

So I think it's ok if he feels this is what he can afford now and gave you this 0.7ct diamond instead of a 1ct. You can upgrade it in the future when the time is right. And that time you may have a different set of new spec that you want that is even better compared to what you thought you want now

sugaricing83

Agree with you. Its nice to have a big diamond, but looking at the bigger picture, it’s not fair to keep expecting the guy to buy the diamond according to your specs, especially when a lot of people still have the mindset that the guy is supposed to foot the bulk of household expenses.

A big diamond doesn’t guarantee a happy marriage. It’s just like branded bag, no doubt you feel good looking at it, but its not gonna feed you, its not gonna contribute to the marriage. Money in the bank is more practical. And the constant arguments/unhappiness will just breakdown the marriage.

Anyway given how materialistic this world is becoming with all the influencers flaunting their material stuff, its not hard to predict that such cases will happen more and more frequently.

actually now that we're kinda talking about $$... i realised that it's really very easy for the person who's NOT paying to keep asking to 'up the budget' or 'max the budget' but for the person who's paying... wa sian/ painful

personally i believe in pulling my own weight in a r/s but the 'traditional' side of me still want my SO to pay 100% for my ering. So in return, i offered to get my SO a fancy watch. problem is... my SO very humble and frugal so dont want...

at that moment i personally experienced/ realised... wa the feeling of having to pay few thousands for a gift is really very very painful. and both of us are already considered middle-upper earners, cannot imagine how heart pain someone must feel to fork out so much $$ for a ring (havent even count reno, wedding, etc)

after that realisation i stopped bugging my SO to up budget and decided that i will pay for my share of the ring in other ways (wedding or reno or what)

blurpandasg2014

Sometimes got to prioritise... Bigger/Better ring vs grand banquet vs nicer renovation. Which one is most impt.

If want a bigger ring den have to be prepared to compromise on the other 2 and vice versa

gingerhoney

@Velle19

I think the only thing u can do now is to change ur mind set

mayb getting a 0.7 is not that bad.. diamonds above 1c the price increases super a lot. quite hard to find 0.9 diamonds too. and if u compare 0.8 and 0.7 the size diff can be marginally small if put side by side, especially when it comes to diff cuttings (a good cut 0.7 might even seem bigger than a normal cut 0.8)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.