Proposal Ring - Part 3

misstt

@kkeell

im curious... what industry/ line does your partner and yourself work in?

sound abit rude here but sometimes i feel a stone that is too big (not befitting of the financial status) can look tacky. a 0.7x is very decent already- my banking friends (~9k combined) get stones around that size

mardybum

Mine’s a 0.52 ct SIC by Jannpaul. Paid fully by my partner. Initially I tried on the 0.7 ct but it looked too big on my finger even the salesperson said so. She also said 0.52 ct look better on my finger. 0.6 and 0.7 not much diff. Both look big also on my finger. My finger size is 44.5 (4.5). I’m happy w the size and cut and the bling bling. Hahaa. I never tot of asking for 1 ct cos it look way too big and not ideal for everyday wear. Most of all, I duwan to burnt my bf’s pocket. We still have our house, Reno and wedding etc. So many things to spend on. Not wise to spend too much on ering.

Hope84

wow surprised you can recognised it...

my diamond is only a 0.8.. not familiar with prices of 2carats so cannot make a guess 😂

does JP provide free polishing for life btw?

@gingerhoney : Sorry i must've missed your Q.

Free polishing resizing and engraving is only 1x. Only free cleaning is lifetime 😁

Kkeell

@kkeell

im curious... what industry/ line does your partner and yourself work in?

sound abit rude here but sometimes i feel a stone that is too big (not befitting of the financial status) can look tacky. a 0.7x is very decent already- my banking friends (~9k combined) get stones around that size

I know what you mean.
I do IT in a bank and my partner is self employed.
So our combined is not v fixed.

When I started to look for the ring I was taking home about 4k + after cpf and our combined was about 8-9k
Now about 10-11k

But since those are banking friends I think most ppl in the financial or sales sector tend to spend a lot of branded and materialistic stuff? Do they? My partner doesn’t spend money on branded at all.only like buying clothes and only wants a 1 carat

Talking about this I wonder about this question i would like to post the same question to @kinochoco as well. If @kinochoco don’t mind.
Bcuz I noticed @kinochoco like diamond and got quite a huge stone and still find it small. 😂

Kkeell

Mine’s a 0.52 ct SIC by Jannpaul. Paid fully by my partner. Initially I tried on the 0.7 ct but it looked too big on my finger even the salesperson said so. She also said 0.52 ct look better on my finger. 0.6 and 0.7 not much diff. Both look big also on my finger. My finger size is 44.5 (4.5). I’m happy w the size and cut and the bling bling. Hahaa. I never tot of asking for 1 ct cos it look way too big and not ideal for everyday wear. Most of all, I duwan to burnt my bf’s pocket. We still have our house, Reno and wedding etc. So many things to spend on. Not wise to spend too much on ering.

Your fingers so slim! No wonder you don’t need such big carat. Mayb my partner need to slim down her finger. Mayb bcuz she is a 5.5 and Long fingers so 1 carat is better? Hahah

Kkeell

yeah common practice, Ering is by husband, wedding bands are half half as she pays for your band, you pay for her band.

In western countries, if i'm not wrong, the banquet cost is paid by the female's family lol.

I actually Thnk it’s nice to pay for the guy’s wedding band since he paid for the e ring.
Cuz is like u also give him a token of love.
He had also given it to u.

Mayb if the diamond v ex, I Thnk is ok for the girl to pay for both wedding bands. Would be a nice gesture.
Else the guy can pay for both the e ring and wedding band for his partner.so all those worn on her hand paid by the guy.

Ladies cn Mayb use the money to pay for other things.
Mayb the guys car rims or sumthing for the hse.

Hope84

I know what you mean.

When I started to look for the ring I was taking home about 4k + after cpf and our combined was about 8-9k
Now about 10-11k

But since those are banking friends I think most ppl in the financial or sales sector tend to spend a lot of branded and materialistic stuff? Do they? My partner doesn’t spend money on branded at all.only like buying clothes and only wants a 1 carat

@kkeell is yours a super ideal from JP? If it is you can always upgrade to a 1ct

Cos seems like your girlfriend is not the showy type but just happened to have this dream of being proposed with a 1ct ring.. and you seem to be quite unsure of whether you should keep the current diamond or to upgrade as per her request. Just my suggestion but if you haven't proposed yet and you think you can still manage to upgrade to a 1ct I think that would be great. Maybe lower the spec to G VS2 to make it a bit more affordable?

But if you already get the ring setting then maybe you can promise her a future upgrade (eg 1 or 5 yr anniversary)

Kkeell

bro, this i really cannot comment since i dunno you and your wtb, think you should know your wtb better and what are her red lines and reactions.. since she is going to marry you, doubt it be too catastrophic, maybe she will be like smileedee12 and sugaricing83 and grow to love it.. after all, at least to me, the worth of the diamond is in its sentimental and significance value, that i used it to propose to her to spend our live together:)

but one thing i know for sure and guide me well so far, once you make a decision after considering all the options, stick with it and dun look back, there is only forward left, no what if, if i know what is going to happen, i would be the richest man on earth by now.. :s13:

Hahahaha bro really cannot u turn.
Bcuz ah I Thnk even she don’t like I can offer to upgrade la cuz I gt increment and bonus after I bought the e ring.
Don’t know y it didn’t come in earlier but I Thnk even come in earlier also no use cuz I choose ordy.
🤦🏻*♂️
😂🤷🏻*♂️🤷🏻*♂️🤷🏻*♂️ I choose D leh the best. Cuz I scared wait her frenz or wad they compare den v yellow. Den like how come I get big but yellow. So I get D leh instead of down the spec and up the carat. I Juz get d and within Budget..
Would u all do the same?
Bcuz I really duno other den the one carat and v bling she never say anything else.
Do u Thnk I will b in trouble?

But she is v sentimental I duno if she will do an upgrade even if she really Wan

misstt

I know what you mean.

Now about 10-11k

10-11k is on the higher side already, especially since your partner is self-employed, i can see why she wants a 1carat...

i think there is a common misconception that just because someone doesnt spend on branded bags or something = want simple, smaller stones.

I'm one of those who doesnt spend on branded bags/ dont even want to bring to work even though it's common at my workplace and yet i do want a bigger stone.
personally, branded bags and accessories all mean nothing to me. it's expensive, loud and wears out after afew years. But a ring? i'm going to wear it for the rest of my life & it will never 'wear out' so i will make damn sure it's a ring that i love.
I wont deny that since young I have been conditioned by friends, media, etc to think that big rock=nicer. I know it's not necessarily true but when you subscribe to that idea for so many years, it's not easy to think otherwise.

this is just one perspective la, why your partner is so insistent on a 1ct... nobody in this forum can answer hahaha

ahboy82

Hahahaha bro really cannot u turn.
Bcuz ah I Thnk even she don’t like I can offer to upgrade la cuz I gt increment and bonus after I bought the e ring.
Don’t know y it didn’t come in earlier but I Thnk even come in earlier also no use cuz I choose ordy.
🤦🏻*♂️
😂🤷🏻*♂️🤷🏻*♂️🤷🏻*♂️ I choose D leh the best. Cuz I scared wait her frenz or wad they compare den v yellow. Den like how come I get big but yellow. So I get D leh instead of down the spec and up the carat. I Juz get d and within Budget..
Would u all do the same?
Bcuz I really duno other den the one carat and v bling she never say anything else.
Do u Thnk I will b in trouble?

But she is v sentimental I duno if she will do an upgrade even if she really Wan

Bro u work in bank
High pay leh

Scare wat juz buy la

Kkeell

10-11k is on the higher side already, especially since your partner is self-employed, i can see why she wants a 1carat...

i think there is a common misconception that just because someone doesnt spend on branded bags or something = want simple, smaller stones.

I'm one of those who doesnt spend on branded bags/ dont even want to bring to work even though it's common at my workplace and yet i do want a bigger stone.
personally, branded bags and accessories all mean nothing to me. it's expensive, loud and wears out after afew years. But a ring? i'm going to wear it for the rest of my life & it will never 'wear out' so i will make damn sure it's a ring that i love.
I wont deny that since young I have been conditioned by friends, media, etc to think that big rock=nicer. I know it's not necessarily true but when you subscribe to that idea for so many years, it's not easy to think otherwise.

this is just one perspective la, why your partner is so insistent on a 1ct... nobody in this forum can answer hahaha

Omg.
I fully agree with what u say about the branded bags and so on.cuz when it comes to other things she quite frugal.
Holiday nt frugal 🤣
But when she buy mi gifts she is not.
And she told me before bcuz she is gg to wear the ring for life and nt gg to Wan to change it ever.
I Thnk she have the exact same mindset as u!

But 10k-11k is after I gt an increment, quite substantial and unexpected.

Before that my salary goes mainly to my bills and expense for current hse and all and feed ownself.I need to feed my family. Bcuz nbdy feeding. 😂 every month only cn save 1k. Before that almst CNt save anything a few hundred Mayb.

Kkeell

Bro u work in bank
High pay leh

Scare wat juz buy la

Lol bro wen I Juz started my pay v Low leh.
Every month half go to household🤦🏼*♀️
Still need feel ownself and Pay Uni Loan.

Only Heng every year have increment and bonus.
I use bonus payoff loan.
If nt a lot budden.

Only Heng this year bonus more n increment better.

If not liability a lot.
Marry also need money.nbdy cn help me only myself.

Need to work v hard.

@kinochoco and @havcove are the rich ones.
I also wish

Now I c the velle post I scared my gf lidat.duno
How.but all done ordy.cannot u turn

misstt

Omg.

Holiday nt frugal ��
But when she buy mi gifts she is not.
And she told me before bcuz she is gg to wear the ring for life and nt gg to Wan to change it ever.
I Thnk she have the exact same mindset as u!

haha really same kind^
i suggest you go ahead with the 0.7x, tell her you know it is not the ideal but you did the best you could with what you can afford (+you want to take her off the shelf now so cannot wait to save any more $$)
Also add that you'll be happy to upgrade her stone next time (if you are really open to that idea)

i think hard to be angry at you when you say that earnestly

Kkeell

Btw, does anybody buy d colour?
Does it look fake now to think of it.
Even thou it’s the best but hmm.. will it look fake cuz too white?🤦🏻*♂️
Or can anybody justify a D for me?

Like if I get a man made diamond cfm wun b yellow Ma rte?
Mayb put side by side look same den how?

Kkeell

haha really same kind^
i suggest you go ahead with the 0.7x, tell her you know it is not the ideal but you did the best you could with what you can afford (+you want to take her off the shelf now so cannot wait to save any more $$)
Also add that you'll be happy to upgrade her stone next time (if you are really open to that idea)

i think hard to be angry at you when you say that earnestly

Hahahahaha
Really I don’t know how.
What you said made me feel better.
But she is usually quite insistent don’t know how.
🤣🤣 wait kena nag for life

throwawaygrad

Btw, does anybody buy d colour?
Does it look fake now to think of it.
Even thou it’s the best but hmm.. will it look fake cuz too white?🤦🏻*♂️
Or can anybody justify a D for me?

Like if I get a man made diamond cfm wun b yellow Ma rte?
Mayb put side by side look same den how?

Man made is supposed to copy real diamonds so I think whiteness probably no difference. My friend's orro looks white but H&A not that obvious ba... I read from weddingbee forums man-made diamonds aren't under as strict scrutiny as real diamonds so cutting wise, really no assurance that it's up to the same standard.

Anyway about the size, don't worry cos Super Ideal does look slightly bigger than its size.

I'm not sure if it's too pragmatic of me but if I'm the lady, I would appreciate getting heads up about the smaller size first before the actual proposal. Some ladies have very high anticipation for the proposal so if anything falls below expectations they might get a bit emotional about it, like the post we saw yesterday...

havcove

Lol bro wen I Juz started my pay v Low leh.
Every month half go to household🤦🏼*♀️
Still need feel ownself and Pay Uni Loan.

Only Heng every year have increment and bonus.
I use bonus payoff loan.
If nt a lot budden.

Only Heng this year bonus more n increment better.

If not liability a lot.
Marry also need money.nbdy cn help me only myself.

Need to work v hard.

@kinochoco and @havcove are the rich ones.
I also wish

Now I c the velle post I scared my gf lidat.duno
How.but all done ordy.cannot u turn

i also start from btm mah, my starting pay was only 2.2k.. back in 07 before the crisis when my peers were getting around 2.7k... just that now more comfortable but the higher the takehome, the higher the expenses, previously still can save a few hundred monthly even with 2.2k salary, this year really cannot save anything even when i eat cai peng daily on my own.... each couple has their own problems :s22::s22:

my consultant previously told me the average size of diamond rings in sg is between 0.5 to 0.7, and reading online, it says the same thing so yours is already on the high side:) so try to sell this point:)

https://blog.moneysmart.sg/wedding/read-buying-diamond-ring-youll-making-mistake/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.