Proposal Ring - Part 4

freewilly5000

May I check if JP is getting more of their diamonds certified by AGS? Just a curious question seeing the newer diamonds usually by AGS

GIA for their super ideals and AGS platinum for white series.

Pricescope people much prefer AGS platinum reports. GIA holds too little information. The digital ASET also takes into account the tilt. AGS shows how much more advanced they are as well in that sense in consumer protection.

NPACKR

GIA for their super ideals and AGS platinum for white series.

Pricescope people much prefer AGS platinum reports. GIA holds too little information. The digital ASET also takes into account the tilt. AGS shows how much more advanced they are as well in that sense in consumer protection.

Thank you! Would it be safe to say that all JP SICs (GIA certified) would certainly be AGS triple ideal? Based on the scopes (aset and H&A) that JP provides for their SIC, I would think that they are certainly of triple ideal (if they were to be graded on the AGS scale). I fully agree that AGS provides a much more comprehensive report

NPACKR

It seems like their white series are certified by AGS. As shared with me by my sales rep, it shouldn’t be a worry because AGS uses strict guidelines when it comes to grading, and usually they are stricter on the cut grading.

With AGS, the cut grading scale is from 0-10 (along with descriptive wordings), 0 being Ideal and 10 being Poor. Whereas GIA’s cut grading scale is Excellent, Very Good, Good, Fair and Poor. Even if your diamond is a GIA Excellent, you wouldn’t know if it’s at the low end or higher end of Excellent range.

Thanks bro! I Guess GIA used to be one the more well known one a while ago, but looking at the higher complexity of the AGS grading, I Guess that may be the reason Why JP is starting to get more of their diamonds graded by AGS

Fallenstar3d

If nothing is finalized, then might as well amend now. Request for changes now is better than having more trouble later on when they have already started crafting your ring. Don’t paiseh then end up with more regret.

Thanks bro, had submit my amendments for JP. Lol hope it turn out perfect this time. Keeping my fingers cross!

Fallenstar3d

same i also wanted to change design but i have limited time frame to meet. so maybe later then go back change pay money get another setting she like.

Maybe can go for the plain Tiffany type of setting first. Maybe your gf will like. 😉

crazymee184

Actually seeking opinions here for ring setting for Decagon from Jannpaul. Am looking at simple settings, do you guys have suggestions/advises? the custom knife edge modern band actually looks good

dumblepaw

Actually seeking opinions here for ring setting for Decagon from Jannpaul. Am looking at simple settings, do you guys have suggestions/advises? the custom knife edge modern band actually looks good

As a girl, solitaire is the most boring setting, a lot of my friends who received solitaires have gotten their ring designs updated after 1year. Have a look at JP's new petite band setting, or look at having diamonds on the band. Check insta for inspiration.

Miltah

Thank you! Would it be safe to say that all JP SICs (GIA certified) would certainly be AGS triple ideal? Based on the scopes (aset and H&A) that JP provides for their SIC, I would think that they are certainly of triple ideal (if they were to be graded on the AGS scale). I fully agree that AGS provides a much more comprehensive report

All JP SIC would be AGS triple zero

dumblepaw

Hi Miltah and other experts. We've received the AGS cert for our Oval 8 Diamond:

imgur.com/a/Nd9JHMn

We have been quoted 31k for it, does it look ok? According to a few of sites I've ran the measurements through, the depth is apparently apparently too "deep". Any idea if this is really the case?

ThiamWan

Hi Miltah and other experts. We've received the AGS cert for our Oval 8 Diamond:

imgur.com/a/Nd9JHMn

We have been quoted 31k for it, does it look ok? According to a few of sites I've ran the measurements through, the depth is apparently apparently too "deep". Any idea if this is really the case?

That’s the Oval hearts and arrows right? You can’t compare the ideal proportion of a traditional oval to JP’s white series oval. It’s the only hearts and arrows oval in the world. If it’s considered too deep, AGS won’t give it an Ideal cut rating liao. Note, this is a modified oval brilliant. In the same sense, the HCA is not applicable to their round white series or solasfera or any other round modified cuts. It’s the world’s first oval hearts and arrows. They have their own different set of proportion rules.

I’ve seen it myself. The performance is way beyond normal ovals or even the SIC rounds.

dumblepaw

That’s the Oval hearts and arrows right? You can’t compare the ideal proportion of a traditional oval to JP’s white series oval. It’s the only hearts and arrows oval in the world. If it’s considered too deep, AGS won’t give it an Ideal cut rating liao. Note, this is a modified oval brilliant. In the same sense, the HCA is not applicable to their round white series or solasfera or any other round modified cuts. It’s the world’s first oval hearts and arrows. They have their own different set of proportion rules.

I’ve seen it myself. The performance is way beyond normal ovals or even the SIC rounds.

OK thank you for your response! We have waited about 2 months for this diamond. can I also ask if you would know why the cert is dated 23rd of November, when we were only told of the diamond today? Does this mean somebody rejected this diamond previously?

ThiamWan

OK thank you for your response! We have waited about 2 months for this diamond. can I also ask if you would know why the cert is dated 23rd of November, when we were only told of the diamond today? Does this mean somebody rejected this diamond previously?

I don’t think the lab would sent out one diamond at a time after it’s certified. They probably accumulate them and send them out by batches.

Irenicis

Hmm as a gauge, I secured my diamond on 12 Nov and the cert was dated 30 Oct...

Miltah

imgur.com/a/Nd9JHMn

It’s a modified oval or cut. The same rules dun apply. At least u know light performance has always been JPs priority.
Yes taken in general, u are certainly losing some face up value or width but u can’t win on all fronts

dumblepaw

Thank you all for your advice! We went down to see the oval yesterday, and have given JP the go ahead to craft the ring. Will post the final product when we receive it!

For anybody thinking of getting a ring at JP, we were served by Eugene, and I cannot recommend him enough. Super knowledgeable and patient, did not try to upsell us on the diamond.

We were initially looking for a diamond in G VS2 1.7 to 1.75 carat, but after months of searching they could not find a rough with those specs. Eugene held on to a E VS1 1.832 carat for us, but did not recommend it until the cutters confirmed they could not find the smaller rough.

He suggested it but did not push it on us at all, we decided to go for it on our own! Excellent service from Eugene :)

koifishclown

Thank you all for your advice! We went down to see the oval yesterday, and have given JP the go ahead to craft the ring. Will post the final product when we receive it!

For anybody thinking of getting a ring at JP, we were served by Eugene, and I cannot recommend him enough. Super knowledgeable and patient, did not try to upsell us on the diamond.

We were initially looking for a diamond in G VS2 1.7 to 1.75 carat, but after months of searching they could not find a rough with those specs. Eugene held on to a E VS1 1.832 carat for us, but did not recommend it until the cutters confirmed they could not find the smaller rough.

He suggested it but did not push it on us at all, we decided to go for it on our own! Excellent service from Eugene :)

Wow! 1.8ct white series oval. Congrats! Do share the photos of your ring when done up! The white series oval I saw that time was only 0.7ct when I was there back then. It was the largest they had and I thought it was already damn sparkly. Can't imagine how a 1.8ct will be :s22:

dumblepaw

Wow! 1.8ct white series oval. Congrats! Do share the photos of your ring when done up! The white series oval I saw that time was only 0.7ct when I was there back then. It was the largest they had and I thought it was already damn sparkly. Can't imagine how a 1.8ct will be :s22:

They now have some ovals over 1ct in stock if you are interested. We're super happy with the purchase! Excited to see it. We received an email from JP today saying that the ring will we ready on the 12th of March. For bros out there looking to purchase from JP, my timeline is as follows:

Design rendered: 2 weeks
Wax ring created from finalised design: 1 week
Customise diamond cut: 2-3 months
Crafting and setting the ring: 2 months

kheng86

Does Jannpaul sell ready-made ring? Or eveything has to be customised? Thank in advance 😊

hello54321

How much did JP quoted you for your diamond?

They now have some ovals over 1ct in stock if you are interested. We're super happy with the purchase! Excited to see it. We received an email from JP today saying that the ring will we ready on the 12th of March. For bros out there looking to purchase from JP, my timeline is as follows:

Design rendered: 2 weeks
Wax ring created from finalised design: 1 week
Customise diamond cut: 2-3 months
Crafting and setting the ring: 2 months

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.