Proposal Ring - Part 4

yoongcy421

finally after such long wait, our decagon is finally ready!!

gonna go check it out in person in 2 weeks.

I dont know how to see if this is a good enough decagon but I do have faith in JP.
If any sifus have some time can help take a look?

sotongster

Hello diamond shifus, I have placed a deposit for the following Decagon.
AGS 104112745053

I know their white series line is the best already. But any expert comments on the Depth of the diamond?

I have noticed from other posts that the various decagon depth ranges from 60+% to 66+%

We are also still pending the scope images

Thank you!
what a nice weight! you'll pay for 0.5 range!!!!!!! congrats on a pretty diamond. i think should be ok once since JP checks proportions before even selling to consumers.

sotongster

finally after such long wait, our decagon is finally ready!!

gonna go check it out in person in 2 weeks.

I dont know how to see if this is a good enough decagon but I do have faith in JP.
If any sifus have some time can help take a look?

how long did u wait for yours?

Miltah

Hello diamond shifus, I have placed a deposit for the following Decagon.
AGS 104112745053

I know their white series line is the best already. But any expert comments on the Depth of the diamond?

I have noticed from other posts that the various decagon depth ranges from 60+% to 66+%

We are also still pending the scope images

Thank you!

JPs SIC conformed to the modern round brilliant specs and had depths 60-61.9%
So pple are used to it which gave a certain width to the stone
When the decagon first came out, it had much deeper cuts in order to achieve the level of brightness u see in the aset n IRL. Over time they improved on the cut.

Your stone is certainly not the deepest
Qs is can u really wait for a better stone to arrive?

CaptainFantastic

Grateful to receive comments on this diamond

GIA 2364624851

Proportion is quite bad. HCA score is 4.9. It's a very steep deep cut so it will suffer from those usually light leakages and the diamond will look smaller for its size.

It's a flat 1.00 carat weight too which is not v worth to get especially that its a steep deep cut. A better cut 0.9+ carat diamond is gonna shine better and look bigger.

I saw the clarity plot diagram and it has very scary and big natural and indented natural inclusions on the edges. Indented natural / natural are inclusions that the cutter left untouched unpolished. It's usually done to save the carat weight or up the size but at the expense of quality. These type of inclusions has risk for the diamond to chip too. I'll give this one a pass.

xoBmWLo.jpg

intelcore1000

JPs SIC conformed to the modern round brilliant specs and had depths 60-61.9%
So pple are used to it which gave a certain width to the stone
When the decagon first came out, it had much deeper cuts in order to achieve the level of brightness u see in the aset n IRL. Over time they improved on the cut.

Your stone is certainly not the deepest
Qs is can u really wait for a better stone to arrive?

Hi Miltah thanks for your input

The certs has a set of measurements (in mm) which I assume to be the Length x Width x Depth, mine being 5.48 x 5.23 x 3.34. Taking Depth/Width (2nd no)= 63.8% Depth.

I have noticed in a couple of other AGS certs posted, their Depth % is calculated using the Depth/ Length (1st and bigger no). Case in point below

Q1) Wondering why the difference in calculation. Let me know if I brought up a valid point or am I over-analysing

Q2) Do you think the spread (width) is noticeably compromised by the depth (at its carat of .597). Nevertheless I am pending the scope images for a further look if required

intelcore1000

Update
Hi Miltah thanks for your input

The certs has a set of measurements (in mm) which I assume to be the Length x Width x Depth, mine being 5.48 x 5.23 x 3.34. Taking Depth/Width (2nd no)= 63.8% Depth.

I have noticed in a couple of other AGS certs posted, their Depth % is calculated using the Depth/ Length (1st and bigger no). Case in point below

Q1) Wondering why the difference in calculation. Let me know if I brought up a valid point or am I over-analysing

Q2) Do you think the spread (width) is noticeably compromised by the depth (at its carat of .597). Nevertheless I am pending the scope images for a further look if required
Updated, FYI to all who has the same query as me. Just received this clarification from Casey

*White Series proportions*
In the past AGS measured it flat to flat, which they realized was inaccurate and did not reflect its true depth.

Hence, they changed the measurements from tip to tip, which affected the depth % to be lower. And this reflected on the certificate for the diamonds that was certified from August 2021.

wlun228

Anyone can help to take a look at this diamond ?

AGS 104117092059
Not sure how to obtain the HCA score though.

Thanks

CaptainFantastic

AGS 104117092059
Not sure how to obtain the HCA score though.

Thanks

The HCA tool is here - https://www.pricescope.com/tools/hca
It only works for the round brilliants (57 facets). Other cuts or shapes won't apply.

That is JP's decagon diamond which is their top of the top cut. You're safe on that part. Their white series criteria is alot more than just the basic HCAs and proportions.

CaptainFantastic

Thanks so much for the detailed reply. Really appreciate it. What's a good price for this diamond?

I got offered this too: GIA 2367950532. Yay or nay?
Its the same as above.. stone is steep deep cut. This one has the indented natural inclusions on the edges too. Im not sure if this is alittle worse off with the 45% star and fluorescence.

sotongster

AGS 404051656002

Thank you very much in advance!

Hyperrex

Hi to all the shifu,

Quotation price 6.5k

AGS 104116852057

Appreciate if the shifu can help to appraise and advise.

Sincerely appreciate the advice.

AikiBoy

i saw 0.7 carat decagon white series lab grown at about $2300 excluding setting.
Most likely you need about 3-4 months if currently no stock.

I bought my wedding band there as well.
got available stock meh?
got shop to go see see myself?

_death_god

Hi to all the shifu,

Quotation price 6.5k

AGS 104116852057

Appreciate if the shifu can help to appraise and advise.

Sincerely appreciate the advice.

Hi all, i am quoted 0.758c F VVS1 for 8.75k excluding settings.

Seems like mine is quite overprice compare to this bro (0.663c G IF) for 6.5k?

Hyperrex

Hi all, i am quoted 0.758c F VVS1 for 8.75k excluding settings.

Seems like mine is quite overprice compare to this bro (0.663c G IF) for 6.5k?
Bro, my quotation since last year and only gotten the diamond quite recently, further more your diamond is larger and f + vvs1.

The best comparison for you is to refer to 39 of 41 in this thread, the one who is quoted 7.2k. Despite saying this, your one really look ex. probably your one is recently quoted? The assistant will probably quote you as per supply and demand + covid which drive the diamond price up.

_death_god

your F is colorless.
If i recall, IF is flawless which is one grade higher than VVS1
Bro, my quotation since last year and only gotten the diamond quite recently, further more your diamond is larger and f + vvs1.

The best comparison for you is to refer to 39 of 41 in this thread, the one who is quoted 7.2k. Despite saying this, your one really look ex. probably your one is recently quoted? The assistant will probably quote you as per supply and demand + covid which drive the diamond price up.
I see bro, yeah i have bought the diamond roughly the same timing as the bro that was quoted (0.698ct D VVS1 7.2k) VS mine (0.758ct F VVS1 8.75k). Like kena abit over quote liao :sick::sick:

sotongster

If i recall, IF is flawless which is one grade higher than VVS1

I see bro, yeah i have bought the diamond roughly the same timing as the bro that was quoted (0.698ct D VVS1 7.2k) VS mine (0.758ct F VVS1 8.75k). Like kena abit over quote liao :sick::sick:
i think 0.7 is a different price bracket as compared to 0.6

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.