Question about Malacca

Eviltrap

you stayed hatten? is it ok?

my last stay in hatten was when it opened lol
I stayed in Hatten multiple times since its opening. Only 1 time didn't stayed there when my wife and I tried out Novotel, which has since ceased operation. Sad.

Car park no longer need to press for the parking ticket. Use your TNG card to scan, then whenever need to drive out, just to to the check in counters to scan it, and it will let you out when you drive out. I only drive in, park until checkout. Never drive out to find parking in the city area anymore.

But yeah, check in was not as convenient as I usually book the Premier rooms, but when I tried to check in on Friday at L12, the place was closed. Was told to check in at the main lobby. So no more differentiation in check in between Premiere and non-Premiere customers.

I didn't take any buffet breakfast this time round, but my parents did. My mum told me that they went to the restaurant, enquired about the cost, was told it was RM40 per pax, but elderly get 50% off, so they paid RM40 on the spot and went in to eat.

Lifts are still notoriously slow. The first 2 lifts have been converted back to car park lifts. It started off as car park lifts, then it served all levels. But now back to car park lifts, so don't take those 2 when you need to go up to the rooms. Other lifts still serve the carpark L3, 6 and 9, I think.

Until now, the overhead bridge to Mahkota Parade is crappy. No direct link to the mall, and no direct lift landing from the car park levels to the bridge. It was tough for my mum and me. In the end, after doing it once, we simply jay walk across, which was dangerous but much faster.

Didn't cross the L3 bridge from Hatten to Pahlawan this time round. So not sure what has happened to all the shops there. Heard from a bro here that they have all since closed.

The hotel is really getting old and not maintained very well now. But the location is really good, as it is near to the malls and easy to grab to other places. The location is also good if you want to go towards Fenix Inn and Tong Sheng part of the town.

Eviltrap

Hatten not ok, kind of loc already and service all damn slow, because the place too big liao, go in and out also damn slow.

From front desk when check in slow, ask for things like extra towels also slow, minimum half day!

Anything spoil ask for technician also minimum half day! (Note that means since you check in around noon, by evening they pang kang, so is next day around noon then you see their face.

Wait for lift slow, because the place too huge.

Food so so, nothing spectacular.

Only good thing is its next to makota and palawan.
This is true.

We had requested for an extra bed when booking with the 3rd party site, and when checking in, repeated our request to the front counter, and they informed the bed will be sent to the room.

By the time we went into our room, no extra bed, and not enough towels. So called again. Was informed it will be sent up. Calling multiple times were told it will be done.

Eventually, by evening, called one last time, and was told that extra big towels need to pay RM50 deposit for 1 towel, and also need to pay the extra bed first. So went down to the counter to do all the payments before these things can be done by Housekeeping. They could have told me from the beginning. Services really getting poorer.

Habrosus

Casa del rio I heard very nice n facing river. But not cheap.
I used to stay perpetually at Casa del Rio until I switched to DoubleTree by Hilton after a couple of years' break. Also learned that the people I got to know there have mostly left.

It's a nice hotel with good location. River-view rooms have their (slight) disadvantages like mosquitoes and noise from across the river, depending on your tolerance level. I personally prefer rooms that are facing the courtyard. Wake up early for breakfast to get a table outside to experience breakfast-by-the-river.

beanstalk6

Perhaps the mosquitoes come about because the site of the Casa Del Rio was swamp before it was reclaimed. The residential area of Taman Kota Laksamana adjacent to the hotel is "famous" for being infested. The area was reclaimed and the shore ran along the first row of shophouses parallel to Jonker Street.

I used to stay perpetually at Casa del Rio until I switched to DoubleTree by Hilton after a couple of years' break. Also learned that the people I got to know there have mostly left.

It's a nice hotel with good location. River-view rooms have their (slight) disadvantages like mosquitoes and noise from across the river, depending on your tolerance level. I personally prefer rooms that are facing the courtyard. Wake up early for breakfast to get a table outside to experience breakfast-by-the-river.

Nemesis Alien

This is true.

We had requested for an extra bed when booking with the 3rd party site, and when checking in, repeated our request to the front counter, and they informed the bed will be sent to the room.

By the time we went into our room, no extra bed, and not enough towels. So called again. Was informed it will be sent up. Calling multiple times were told it will be done.

Eventually, by evening, called one last time, and was told that extra big towels need to pay RM50 deposit for 1 towel, and also need to pay the extra bed first. So went down to the counter to do all the payments before these things can be done by Housekeeping. They could have told me from the beginning. Services really getting poorer.
Actually, from the start already like that.

Eviltrap

how about holiday inn malacca?
I stayed there in the early days when I went to Melaka.

Once Hatten came up, stopped going there.

It was very nice last time, but the main problem was that had to cross the busy road separating that side with Mahkota Parade. Now even worse, they reclaimed the sea in front of Holiday Inn. The only appeal is gone liao. :ROFLMAO:

Eviltrap

I was staying at doubletree malacca, I highly recommend
I was tempted a few times, but the distance from the malls was too great. Really at the end of the city centre.

Maybe one day, if my wife and I just want to chill and relax and dun do any shopping, I will book there.

By the way, what's the appeal of this hotel?

Habrosus

I was tempted a few times, but the distance from the malls was too great. Really at the end of the city centre.

Maybe one day, if my wife and I just want to chill and relax and dun do any shopping, I will book there.

Away from sinkie devils
No human monkeys running around
Spacious rooms
Nice pool area
Breakfast time is great especially if earlier than others
Big mall next door just don't know what shops are open these days
Pre-Covid had free shuttle to Hatten and beyond don't know about now
Grab RM5 to Hatten or just take a stroll along the shophouses aka exercise safely

Who said cannot shop if staying there? I didn't drive there and could even shop until i bought a 28 inch luggage to get my loot home

really_noob

I'm planning to take an overseas guest (not from Southeast Asia) to Malacca. Planning to book Doubletree and take grab into the city centre.

I cannot take the risk of Hatten being hit and miss in terms of the service and room. Will be embarrassing for me as a host.

Anyone parked at Doubletree before? How is the carpark there? I heard the mall next door is dead.

beanstalk6

The ElementX Mall next door to the DoubleTree is quiet and not closed. The cinema is still operating.

Nemesis Alien

There is a mall there, a wok hey directly across the road, you want to go makota or what just book grab for RM$5 lor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.