Question about Malacca

jq75

[GPGT] Fib's ForeverAlone Trip to Melaka :crazy:

1). Avoid that chicken rice shop. If really keen, try 中华,opposite 三叔公.
2). Try the Korean food opposite Felix hotel, authentic
3). Opp station 1 cafe, foot or body massage (RM56 2 hours), good price
4). Dim sum restaurant - Try Ban Hong Xiang Tea House
5). Nyonya food near Jonker Street - Donald & Lily
6). Avoid Bah Kut Tea - Klang more famous
7). Newton Hawker centre at Bandar Hilir - spoilt for choice
8). Satay Celup if keen. Try Ban Lee Siang @ Jalan Ong Kim Wee, Avoid Capitol for the queue
9). Seafood @ Portuguese Square

The above is enuf to kill your stomach already.
pepperthrow wrote:
yo refering to your tips -(3),(4) & (5) got address??

as for (9), i like the marina terrance, stall number one!

will try out the korean food next time round, any must order?

3). Located at Jalan Melaka Raya 3. The shop name is Phoenix. Take note that the 2 hours@RM56 special price only valid till 6pm daily. Night time the price is higher. Open from 11am.

4). Ban Hong Xiang Tea House @ Jalan Gajah Berang, occupied 3 shop houses. Parking at road side is a little bit challenge.

5). Donald & Lily just opposite Casa del Rio hotel.

pacetone

[GPGT] Fib's ForeverAlone Trip to Melaka :crazy:

1). Avoid that chicken rice shop. If really keen, try 中华,opposite 三叔公.
2). Try the Korean food opposite Felix hotel, authentic
3). Opp station 1 cafe, foot or body massage (RM56 2 hours), good price
4). Dim sum restaurant - Try Ban Hong Xiang Tea House
5). Nyonya food near Jonker Street - Donald & Lily
6). Avoid Bah Kut Tea - Klang more famous
7). Newton Hawker centre at Bandar Hilir - spoilt for choice
8). Satay Celup if keen. Try Ban Lee Siang @ Jalan Ong Kim Wee, Avoid Capitol for the queue
9). Seafood @ Portuguese Square

5. Donald & Lily - in my opinion, so so only nothing great but I like the chendol better than jonker 88.

7. Newton hawker centre - yes! yes! this place sure has a variety of food when I past by but did not stop and eat. Will try the next trip.

8. Satay celup - will not eat @ Malacca anymore as they recycle the sauce. I guess all stalls are the same as once the customer finished, they pour the remaining sauce into the kitchen big pot and scoop out from there to another customer.

kenpachi82

hi guys, can i just ask which of the bus operators (707,delima etc) drop off at equatorial hotel?
and also, how to come back to SG from equatorial? have to go to the MLK bus central to buy the return ticket? or i can buy the return ticket in SG and take the bus from the hotel?
Sorry for the newbie question, nv been there b4..

buswhiz

hi guys, can i just ask which of the bus operators (707,delima etc) drop off at equatorial hotel?
and also, how to come back to SG from equatorial? have to go to the MLK bus central to buy the return ticket? or i can buy the return ticket in SG and take the bus from the hotel?
nope, those bus operator will actually stop you at melaka sentral bus station. You can go to Singapore counter such as delima express counter to buy your return ticket from melaka to singapore.
you need to take a cab or domestic bus to equitorial hotel

kenpachi82

nope, those bus operator will actually stop you at melaka sentral bus station. You can go to Singapore counter such as delima express counter to buy your return ticket from melaka to singapore.
you need to take a cab or domestic bus to equitorial hotel

thank you so much for your help to newbie question! :)

onbushao

Some coach company provide route trip services from singapore to the malacca Equatorial example Luxury Tours, konsortium and WTS.

xinping

any $50-60 hotel intro?

i googled, so far i see fenix inn like ok for the range. but i think quite a long walk to jonker street :(

valeon

any $50-60 hotel intro?

i googled, so far i see fenix inn like ok for the range. but i think quite a long walk to jonker street :(

It's either a long walk to jonker street or a long walk from jonker street to the shopping mall (if you plan to shop).

Fenix inn is very near to shopping mall.

kaypohchee

Just got back from a 3D2N trip booked with Luxury Tours through a Groupon deal (tho' the later Deal.com 5Stars deal has more perks such as free room upgrade and river cruise !)
Stayed at convenient central Equatorial Deluxe Room -extended extra 2nd night

Recommend Amy's Cuisine for nice 'unusual flavours' - just ask Mr Lim for recommendations [was told if going during weekends MUST make reservations 1st else no table]
Their Curry Chicken & Pie-Tee were good - also banana-flower salad & sweet potato/kangkong/cabbage veg dish & chendol (with ice cubes not shavings - old authentic style without red beans)
Mr Lim even advised us greedy 2 against ordering too much food [was thinking of getting their Hee Peow Soup to try] as would 'spoil' the combination of flavours etc
Located in next parallel big street from the Fenix Inn street {where the Ole Sayang and Makko nyonya restaurants are} - which is just in front of Equatorial
Also went to the Thai Spa Massage place just opposite Fenix Inn

Also tried Nancy's Kitchen in Jonker Walk area
Very very good porpiah here [the other things we had - just so so only]
The number of Nyonya Restaurants in Melaka has mushroomed to 28 now !!!!

Also recommend Dong Fung Char Teng (closed Weds) where the locals go at Bukit China
Out-of-the-world Char Siew & crispy Roast Pork [has roast duck etc too] from a stall that operates from 6pm
Tze Char recommended was the fried Hor Fun there
Next time round - would also order from very popular Porpiah & Pork Porridge stalls
Some stalls there operate only in AMs/Lunch-time
Cab driver said before that - there's also a good Wantan Mee at another coffeshop
Very honest cab-driver even taught us how to walk to near-Jonker Cruise Centre from Bukit Cina after our dinner at Dong Fung (walk to big red corner Mamee Sign and turn left ----> will come to main Stadthuys Red area etc after walking thru' their "Little India area") .... saw Capitol Satay Chelop with long queue and Sterling Hotel along the way
Had asked cab-driver to fetch us after our shopping spree at the new Aeon Jusco
When we're too lazy/tired to walk, just take cheap cabs [only RM12/15 only]

We did the River Cruise TWICE - at 6pm and at 7.30pm in 2 days (just RM20 for 45 mins)
Walked back to Equatorial after that passing the mega shopping malls
If willing to splurge, the Casa del Rio is a good hotel just at beginning of Jonker Walk as it overlooks the river
Admire the old architecture - esp of some Jonker Gallery shops (2 back-to-back long shophouses combined into 1 - nice staircase railings & marble floors/tiles etc) !

Have yet to try the Kopitiam One chendol recommended by several locals (closed Weds)
it's just opposite the Hoe Kee Chicken Rice (which is just next to Sum Shoo Kong and Chung Hwa Chicken Rice after the bridge)

In all a very enjoyable relaxing 'fruitful' trip - achieving all that we had wanted to do
eg closing dormant bank a/cs, shopping, eating, hair/massage, etc

teacher

Going to Malacca Mar 12/12

i am planning to drive to Malacca Mar 12/12. Friends backed out last min. Is there anyone who is going there on the same day? Preferably someone who is familiar with the car drive to Malacca and getting around for good food in that place. I will be driving and you can share the car-ride and perhaps share some of the costs.

alvin0603

you might try this out, just walking distance from jonker

everyday.com.my/coupons/tr/TheBabaHouseMelaka.htm

cc2mss5

driving up tmr, 15mar.
will attempt to enjoy all the goodies being shared here.

buswhiz

enjoy your trip, just take note that malacca wil be very congested every weekends..

beanstalk6

Especially these school holidays week. You will be escaping the very same people you try to escape from and meet them there escaping from you. It will be like visiting Bugis Junction. Haha

cc2mss5

back from 4d/3d stay at fenix inn (damage rm417) for a superior double rm
and tried the following:

Day 1
- lunch had kfc takeaway (damage rm19.90 for 2 zinger sets dat comes with cheesy wedges :D)

- dinner @ restoran nonya makko (damage rm45.50. ikan asam pedas with cracker is shiok, we even bought the crackers back)

Day 2
- b/f @ ban hong xiang (damage rm23.50. i would say it's average but definitely cheaper than in sinkee)

- lunch @ chung hwa chicken rice (damage rm24.50 for 3-ppl set, 1 coke, 1 chrysanthemun > chicken is so-so but rice ball is nice)

- dinner @ amy heritage nonya cruisine (damage rm50++. food is real good though slightly ex)

Day 3
- b/f at mac (damage rm20.50 for family meal of hotcakes, saugage mcmuffin w egg, big breakfast, 1 coffe n 1 hot milo)

- late lunch @ ban lee siang satay celup (damage rm0.60 per stick > shiok :D)

Day 4
- b/f @ ban hong xiang

- lunch had mac takeaway

< Back to reality.... meaning home! >

thks all for ur recommendation. we've missed the Portuguese seafood and hope to try nx time

dede1217

Especially these school holidays week. You will be escaping the very same people you try to escape from and meet them there escaping from you. It will be like visiting Bugis Junction. Haha

Anyone knows how to get from Maleka bus terminal to mokhota hotel?
how much is de cab fare?

stonefish35

Anyone knows how to get from Maleka bus terminal to mokhota hotel?
how much is de cab fare?

You can take the RM1 Panorama ( iirc ) Red Bus probably 15mins ride , or a RM15 cab ride .

panorama_melaka_route_map_big1.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.