Question about Malacca

beanstalk6

I am planning to go to Malacca with my family. All together 3(My self, My hubby and My daughter 16 years)

The whole purpose is stay in Malacca for 3 or 4 days, Eat, do some small shopping (Cloths only), Sleep and return back.

We don't drive and don't speak Malay. Also prefer food with in walking distance.

Budget Approx < S$100 per night, walking distance to near by places for food.

Can you suggest hotel and best way to reach?

Is Malacca better or any other suggestion?

Thanks

Cath.

Go by coach. There are many 3star hotels within your budget. Look in agoda or any hotel booking portal.

whitesand

Anyone ever try to stay at Aldy Hotel Stadhuys Malacca? I drive there and any advice on the car park (online booking site says "free parking nearby" does not sit well with me) situation is appreciated.

And, how about the room? Online booking site review siad it can be noisy... I rather get first hand review from friends here.

beanstalk6

It can be noisy because there is a cafe downstairs that is popular with touring bikers. The road outside has little motor traffic otherwise. In fact that particular street is a pedestrian-only road. I am not sure about the parking facilities, though there are many lots along the roads nearby, especially around the padang or Taman Merdeka.

whitesand

It can be noisy because there is a cafe downstairs that is popular with touring bikers. The road outside has little motor traffic otherwise. In fact that particular street is a pedestrian-only road. I am not sure about the parking facilities, though there are many lots along the roads nearby, especially around the padang or Taman Merdeka.

Thanks for that info.

Anyone got anymore input? Thanks in advance.

dleodleo

Anyone ever try to stay at Aldy Hotel Stadhuys Malacca? I drive there and any advice on the car park (online booking site says "free parking nearby" does not sit well with me) situation is appreciated.

And, how about the room? Online booking site review siad it can be noisy... I rather get first hand review from friends here.

Noisy because it has a pub below.

I didn't see any hotel carpark when i passed by. i think you may have to park open air carpark infront of the hotel. The police station is just beside the hotel only.

I like this hotel location cos it is located between the Jonker street and Palawan mall. The attractions also walking distance. The red dutch square is opposite only and the portugese hill is 3 mins walk only.

Do feedback when you are back.

dleodleo

I am planning to go to Malacca with my family. All together 3(My self, My hubby and My daughter 16 years)

The whole purpose is stay in Malacca for 3 or 4 days, Eat, do some small shopping (Cloths only), Sleep and return back.

We don't drive and don't speak Malay. Also prefer food with in walking distance.

Budget Approx < S$100 per night, walking distance to near by places for food.

Can you suggest hotel and best way to reach?

Is Malacca better or any other suggestion?

Thanks

Cath.

Do not worry, the local can speak English and many chinese there.

Less than $100 per nite you can try Fenix inn (opp Equatorial hotel). Hotel Puri, Baba House and etc.

Try to stay within the palawan mall area or jonker street area. Then you can walk.

So far, i have stayed at Fenix Inn, Equatorial, Hotel Puri and we travelled by foot to jonker street, palawan mall, makohta parade and etc. Although we drove there, we didn't drive around, we parked our car in the hotel and travelled by foot.

You can read this blog for more info:
Guitar 123 Singapore Food and Travel Blog! : Malacca - Casa Del Rio Hotel (Part 1)

http://missuschewy.com/tag/malacca-travel-blog/

I always make sure we patronise the jonker 88 chendol and penang laska. Love the chung wah chicken rice.

Do drop by jonker street nite market if you happen to go during the weekend.

dleodleo

is ramada hotel melaka ok? cant find much room available for good friday. kinda last minute trip...

what about mimosa hotel? is the room small?

Ramada is far, you have to drive to Palawan Mall and Jonker Street. Cannot walk.

Habrosus

Ramada is far, you have to drive to Palawan Mall and Jonker Street. Cannot walk.

Can walk la, just go along the shophouses - lots of things to see along the way.

I stayed at Casa del Rio, walked to St Peter's Church - oldest in the whole of Malaysia - and walked back past Ramada, etc, threw shopping back at hotel and continued to shop in Palawan and the nearby malls. :D

Malacca is good for leisure walks here and there, if one is not in a hurry. :)

dleodleo

Can walk la, just go along the shophouses - lots of things to see along the way.

I stayed at Casa del Rio, walked to St Peter's Church - oldest in the whole of Malaysia - and walked back past Ramada, etc, threw shopping back at hotel and continued to shop in Palawan and the nearby malls. :D

Malacca is good for leisure walks here and there, if one is not in a hurry. :)

Walk very far leh at least 20 to 30mins. Like tat might as well stay near Jonker Street and Palawan Mall. No need walk so far.

Habrosus

Walk very far leh at least 20 to 30mins. Like tat might as well stay near Jonker Street and Palawan Mall. No need walk so far.

Ah, then my total walk that day could have been +/- 2 hours. The good thing is that the walk is mostly along the shophouses and I managed to do some shopping along the way, thus having to drop my bags before heading for Palawan. :s13:

By the way, I at last managed to be there for the Jonker Street night market... found nothing much there leh. :s22: Think I prefer the KSL Monday night one, somehow. :o

Next Malacca trip, I won't bother to aim for weekend already, especially when the crowd is :eek: ! =:p

dleodleo

Ah, then my total walk that day could have been +/- 2 hours. The good thing is that the walk is mostly along the shophouses and I managed to do some shopping along the way, thus having to drop my bags before heading for Palawan. :s13:

By the way, I at last managed to be there for the Jonker Street night market... found nothing much there leh. :s22: Think I prefer the KSL Monday night one, somehow. :o

Next Malacca trip, I won't bother to aim for weekend already, especially when the crowd is :eek: ! =:p

I think the jonker nite market more for atmosphere ba. More of local snacks and touristy souveniors but to me is fun lor but very crowded.

Oh KSL is better? Like that I must find time to go there one Monday liao. :s13: I saw many bloggers post very nice food there.

Habrosus

I think the jonker nite market more for atmosphere ba. More of local snacks and touristy souveniors but to me is fun lor but very crowded.

Oh KSL is better? Like that I must find time to go there one Monday liao. :s13: I saw many bloggers post very nice food there.

You've not gone to the KSL one? Remember not to eat before you hit the stalls! :D

Only thing I like about the Jonker Street one, I guess, is that the shops are open late during night market time. :s13:

travel-delight

Popular places to visit if you are going on a malacca tour

Porta De Santiago (A'Famosa)
St Paul's Church
Cheng Hoon Teng Temple
Hang Li Poh's Well
Tan Kin Hock Local Product Centre
Christ Church

Foodwise, Peranakan food is the most popular.
Also try the famous hainanese chicken rice balls.

you can do a 1 day tour
the transport from Singapore to Malacca takes around 4 hours drive

Or you can also do a 2 day 1 night package if you want to spend more time in malacca.

MisterLim001

Popular places to visit if you are going on a malacca tour

Porta De Santiago (A'Famosa)
St Paul's Church
Cheng Hoon Teng Temple
Hang Li Poh's Well
Tan Kin Hock Local Product Centre
Christ Church

Foodwise, Peranakan food is the most popular.
Also try the famous hainanese chicken rice balls.

you can do a 1 day tour
the transport from Singapore to Malacca takes around 4 hours drive

Or you can also do a 2 day 1 night package if you want to spend more time in malacca.

this roti canai stall. where is the exact address? i want to go and eat

Habrosus

the exact address not stated leh

Do you know how to "play" with Google map?

Click on the word "Direction" and enter your starting point. You can then see the route you can take to get there. It has the estimated time to travel too, depending on how you travel - walk, drive, etc.

No, I don't have the exact address as well, but I tried the above and it works. Good luck!

kisskiss

Going Melaka soon.

From Melaka Sentral, cab fare to jonker street how much? go to the taxi stand and avoid ppl asking u?

I intend to buy the Bus back to Singapre at Melaka Sentral, It not very hard right? Delima should be easy avilable?

Thanks.

invisible999

Going Melaka soon.

From Melaka Sentral, cab fare to jonker street how much? go to the taxi stand and avoid ppl asking u?

+1 on this. Out hotel's reception told us that it should be no more 20 MYR to get from the bus station to the hotel which is nearby Jonker st.

Do all local cabbies refuse to use meter there?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.