Question on aircon servicing

BBClone

usually peepur call for service (clean) once every 3 months or you can stretch a bit if you dont use often.

the easiest thing you can do is just DIY clean the air filter (open the flap and take out the filter and wash with some soap/water, wait dry then put back) = do so once a month?

u can see how the technician clean. if you think u can DIY what they do, then you actually could!

i have been DIY-ing for a few years now, there are many online youtube videos and an EDMW thread here also on DIY aircon cleaning

btw gas top up scam i kena before. no need to top up one. if u need to top up means got leakage, top up also useless, gotta top up again and again each time 100+ no use coz root of leakage not solved

as others mentioned, don't even allow the guy to help you check if gas need topup. why? because a dishonest svc guy will take the opportunity to leak the gas and you will permanently need top up regularly.

so DO NOT TAKE UP ANY OFFER TO CHECK GAS EVEN IF IS FREE

Yes, it’s true. Kena some gas top up BS, claim my gas is leaking after “checking” my compressor. Since then the air con is not cold, every annual servicing I need to add $100 for gas.

After years of this scam, air con compressor need to change and lay the gas pipes again. I intentionally chose another contractor to do it, and the air con man became dulan because he thought he can finally milk the cash cow.

mgx-alander

If me i will service with my original installer

Anything not happy i kan him and say u install 1..

charliebrown

already chemical cleaning... but within 2 weeks leak again...
my experience. chemical cleaning for FCU can solve aircon blow no cold issue (if already confirmed not a gas leaking issue)..
water leaking for FCU more likely the drain pipe clog lah...

paperplane1943

when its raining (especially heavily), I used a pressure water hose/spray (bought cheap cheap at taobao) and only spray at the silver fins (dont spray at the fan or anywhere else). alot of dust water will flow out and compressor happy again.

i never use any chemicals or soap or anything. just water to flush out the dust accumulated at the fins.

deepblue_82

my experience. chemical cleaning for FCU can solve aircon blow no cold issue (if already confirmed not a gas leaking issue)..
water leaking for FCU more likely the drain pipe clog lah...
sometimes is blower dirty thats why the power is less,
the drain pipe have to install correctly at an angle else the water discharge cannot go out then will flow back then become leak.

treeskull

I DIY. Took 3 hours my first try deep cleaned till the point I took out the roller fan and clean it over water. The dirtiest is the water catcher some parts got mould Liao

hot water with baking soda with dish washing soap mix together then pour over the water catcher

ahnyaahnya

My friend aircon every night. Hubby ownself clean. Many years old. Panasonic. Serviced once

Goodshot

Got 1 idiot from Aircon guru came up quoted me $250 for topping gas , I ask him what gas he say R410 I jitao fxx him

Then he still buay song , knn really got ppl so shameless

treeskull

If really the refrigerant leak, it will take very little time to empty it cos the closed system is pressurised and even a small pinhole is enough by then u won’t even feel any coldness.

top up gas won’t solve the leakage, if really leak then can buy new one alrdy

top up gas normally is intelligence tax

ahnyaahnya

If me i will service with my original installer

Anything not happy i kan him and say u install 1..
I gave up on my original installer. After some years ( but hardly used, used total of less than 2 years ) room not cold. The workers came . Told me need chemical cleaning . Not doing that day, will come another day. On 2nd day, was told compressor spoilt, must buy new aircon. B s. The other units working. Only that room. Later on i got my helper to open FCU to see.... very dirty lah . Doing without aircon for that room. My tenants don't need aircon. That room is breezy and facing East too

Goodshot

Ya sia , seriously this line is as dirty as car/ bike workshop. 80% of them is out to scam u

Monstruo^

Currently my air con is not cold. The last general servicing was around late July 2025.

Since then, I never clean it myself or call anyone to clean it.

So now, I just need a general servicing/cleaning? Or I ownself clean the 2 piece of black thingy first?

virtualape

top up aircon gas because not cold is usually bs. if really not enough gas, there are 2 ways to check.

#1 put your palm on the indoor unit coil. condensation should appear on your palm after 2-3 mins.

#2 check outdoor unit to see if the valve connecting the gas pipes has a layer of frost. if you are facing the condenser, the valves, piping are usually on the right side.

of course gas does leak due to bad installation, weakening of copper pipe causing minor puncture etc but it rarely happens.

so if theres no gas leak and a/c isnt cold, its usually because of dust/grime at the evaporator coil of the indoor unit. get it cleaned. even a dirty blower with dust trapped inside affect the airflow.

Rainstrike

If u can DIY is good, but I berry bad with my hands so all these hands on thing I cannot do. Call sexpert better. My Aircon I try to drag, like 7-8 months no clean then it gets very HOT. When the uncle come and clean he say very dirty.

Better clean 3 months or 6 months like that. A lot of dirt and bacteria one. Later blow liao sick

Orphan

Hi, I’m a first-time homeowner and have installed four FCU air-conditioning units in my 5-room BTO. Could you advise on the recommended servicing frequency for all four units? Should servicing be done every three or four months, or at a different interval?
Depends on usage and environment.

1st year, can service at 6 months' interval.
2nd year, 4 months' interval.
3rd year and above 3 months' interval.

Service all 4 units at the same time. Makes life easier.

My aircon 5 years old. But I am lazy and my rooms are not that dusty.

So I mostly just clean the easily removable filters once in a while.

Then about every 6 months, major weekend project to DIY tear open the aircon to remove the axial fan to wash it.

Plus pour choke clear solution down the pipe. After that, pour water in until the water flowing out the exit pipe to the bathroom drain is smooth and clear.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.