Quit without a job?

harky

Honestly, at work everything needs to be justified

Even why the company should pay you $X to do this job, why company couldn't pay you $X - $900 to do the same job?
first time ...... end of day i finish the job and fast than another collegue .

harky

Honestly, at work everything needs to be justified

Even why the company should pay you $X to do this job, why company couldn't pay you $X - $900 to do the same job?
Ya but it toxic.. No meh?

Laguna123

the young lady boss is super control and micromanage.
she ask me what i doing WFH n punish me as i nv reponse to her WHY. She remove my WFH.

to be honest.. i feel i cant stay there for tooo long. after the contract end i wont extend liao.
She do this to my collegue before.. (same level as me) i think is scarily
She didn’t ask you to Keep cam on while you wfh?

coolhead

If the workplace makes you tired, will you still stay on if they persuade you to change your mind, knowing you leave without a job?

But you really want to leave coz it's making you tired...burnt out your weekend...and your RO may not understand you and ask you to stay...despite you already state so...
Remember to zhoholang.

cosmothecat

Ya but it toxic.. No meh?
That’s the way of corporate life

Western countries, especially USA, nowadays even require you to apply for your own existing job position every 2 years. The company open up your job position for competitive applications, if you are no longer the most suitable fit, they let you go. Harsh.

—-

Some organisations use a deliberate practice of making people “re‑apply” or be “re‑interviewed” for their own roles on a fixed cycle (for example every 2 years), often framed as contract renewal, restructuring, or role review. The underlying rationales are usually a mix of HR control, workforce optimisation, and legal/administrative reasons, rather than a standard named doctrine.[1][2][3]

## What the practice is

This typically looks like one of these setups:

- Fixed‑term contracts (e.g. 1–2 years) where renewal is not automatic and staff must formally apply again, sometimes against internal or external candidates.[3][4][1]
- Periodic “re‑interviews” during reorganisations where existing employees must interview for “new” roles that are effectively the same job with a new title or structure.[2][5]
- Selection exercises when headcount must be reduced, where everyone in a pool re‑applies and only some are retained in the “new” structure.[2][3]

There usually isn’t a single official label; you will see it described as “re‑interviewing for your own job”, “reapplying for your role” or “competitive selection for existing posts”.[5][2]

## Rationale from the employer side

Common reasons employers give (or quietly act on) include:

- **Performance and value check:** Use the re‑application to reassess who is most valuable to retain when budgets or headcount are tight, instead of relying only on past appraisals.[3][2]
- **Restructuring and flexibility:** Formal interviews allow them to redesign teams, change job scopes and move people into slightly redefined roles under a “new structure” while picking and choosing who stays.[5][2]
- **Legal and contractual structure:** In fixed‑term arrangements, requiring a fresh application at renewal can avoid roles automatically becoming permanent under some labour rules, or can be used to end employment at term without calling it a redundancy.[1][3]
- **Cultural signalling:** Some leaders like to send a message that roles are not entitlements and employees must “continuously prove” their fit and commitment, a kind of internal market logic. This is sometimes justified as keeping people adaptable and upskilling, even if in practice it mostly creates pressure.[2][5]

An example is when a company “rebrands” existing jobs as new posts and makes everyone apply, while changing little in duties or pay; this can be a pseudo‑restructuring used to reshuffle people or manage out weaker performers.[5]

## How it’s framed to employees

When organisations present this positively, they tend to talk about:

- Ensuring people are still a good fit for evolving job requirements and technology.
- Giving employees a “chance” to showcase achievements and discuss career development.
- Creating fairness by having everyone in a pool go through the same selection, rather than managers privately choosing who to keep.[2]

In practice, employees often experience it as stressful and destabilising, because it introduces periodic job insecurity even when they have been performing well.[3][5]

Sources
[1] Justifying renewal of a fixed-term contract after four years https://www.blakemorgan.co.uk/justifying-renewal-of-a-fixed-term-contract-after-four-years/
[2] askST Jobs: Need to re-apply for your own job? Here's how ... https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ly-for-your-own-job-heres-how-to-deal-with-it
[3] Reapplying for same role at expiration of fixed term contract
[4] Fixed-Term Contract Ending | workingmums.co.uk https://www.workingmums.co.uk/fixed-term-role-ending-should-i-have-to-reapply-for-it/
[5] Company Enrages Employee By Asking Them To Reapply To Their ... https://www.boredpanda.com/apply-for-position-doing-five-years/
[6] Should You Apply for the Same Job Twice? Tips for Success - Dice https://www.dice.com/career-advice/should-you-apply-for-the-same-job-twice
[7] Reapplying to McKinsey After Two Years | Caseinterview https://caseinterview.com/reapplying-to-mckinsey
[8] Reapply to the same job or company? Yes, go for it. - LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/posts/just...-or-company-activity-7386417891442614272-mwSJ
[9] Is it ever acceptable to reapply for the same job you were rejected ...
[10] I was the runner up for a job I didn't get. I'm now reapplying 3 months ...

harky

She didn’t ask you to Keep cam on while you wfh?
Ah we no cam la. But i reply very fast..

The thing is i tot that the error i spot can tell her next day so i left it next day thn do.. While i do the rest first.

When she ask me. Wht i doing wfh, y nv tell her thr error tht day..

I feel that is no trust as she also show me the time stamp on folder? I was like wtf.. Do i need to proof? End day i finish my job within timeline not proof meh? Nt like i delay her.

harky

Western countries, especially USA, nowadays even require you to apply for your own existing job position every 2 to 3 years. The company open up your job position for competitive applications, if you are no longer the most suitable fit, they let you go. Harsh.
I just join..

I been work in corporate.. No such thing one. To them, work finish on time is more important.

Laguna123

L
Ah we no cam la. But i reply very fast..

The thing is i tot that the error i spot can tell her next day so i left it next day thn do.. While i do the rest first.

When she ask me. Wht i doing wfh, y nv tell her thr error tht day..

I feel that is no trust as she also show me the time stamp on folder? I was like wtf.. Do i need to proof? End day i finish my job within timeline not proof meh? Nt like i delay her.
Hard to work with nitpick manager.

loganrunning

Western countries, especially USA, nowadays even require you to apply for your own existing job position every 2 years. The company open up your job position for competitive applications, if you are no longer the most suitable fit, they let you go. Harsh.

even CS/PS prefer to hire on 2 year contracts, not auto renewal. i have not heard of the practice of "applying for own job" in there yet, but who knows? 🤷‍♂️

harky

Must tahan 1 year then quit;)
I tahan 3 years but got 1 job offered might be my last job in my life already mid 50s:D
nvm la.. i looking for job now liao.. if got gd company can just jump....
$$ can earn back but my mental cant.

just now at morning otw to work.. i was on phone thn the boss boss was past me at below.. thn she see the watch la.. dunno isit i sentivite or what.. she like stalk me la

3G SAINT

nvm la.. i looking for job now liao.. if got gd company can just jump....
$$ can earn back but my mental cant.

just now at morning otw to work.. i was on phone thn the boss boss was past me at below.. thn she see the watch la.. dunno isit i sentivite or what.. she like stalk me la
I dnt really care if I am you:)
One ear in,one ear out then you will stay in the company long:D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.