R/C Hobbyist thread

Matrix23x

so here is the list of current members ?
EDMW 1/10 Drifters

TheoDR (TA05)-RTD
SayukiDR (TT01 Awaiting Shipment)
Matrix (TT01)-NTD (Awaiting Ah Hock to spray & paste sticker for cover):s13: - 27.075
OniHibiki (TT01 Awaiting batts) - 27.225/27.995/27.195
crx84 (TT01D)-RTD - 26.995
annihilatorj2x (TT01)-RTD
dxboy (Awaiting Government's Funds, LTA Approved)
compaqnuts (yokomo)-RTD - 27.145
Revolution (Awaiting Shipment?)

anyone else to add into the list?
pls enourage those who r interested! to try this sexciting hobby! as u can do sexciting drifts

Kindly Provide Me with Yr Covers Names it be nicer :s7:

Revolution

Matrix23x said:
so here is the list of current members ?
EDMW 1/10 Drifters

TheoDR (TA05)-RTR
Sayuki jiejie (TT01 Awaiting Shipment) :s13:
Matrix (TT01)-NTR (Awaiting Ah Hock to spray & paste sticker for cover):s13: - 27.075AM
OniHibiki (TT01 Awaiting batts)
crx84 (TT01D)-RTR
annihilatorj2x (TT01)-RTR
dxboy (Awaiting Government's Funds, LTA Approved)

anyone else to add into the list?
pls enourage those who r interested! to try this sexciting hobby! as u can do sexciting drifts
i ish gg to get my setup by this week if all is hokays...

can i register?

TheoDR

Revolution said:
Dear Theodr,

got some qns with rgds to 1/10 rc cars to check with you.

As u might have read from the thread, i m currently looking for a RTR kit or probably setting up one to play n have some fun.

1.)Is there a big diff between TT01 and TT01-D?
Understand one is the drift spec and the other a normal one.
Any notable difference if i were to get tt01 to play drifting?

2.)Was looking at yokomo kits and felt if not too much diff
might get it, but its performance better? Or just better built quality?

3) About electronics. What are ESC and the receiver/servos.
Saw a couple, and the terms kinda confused me.
Crystals and the jazz. Any big diff between a digital n analog servo in terms of real life performance?

Recommendations for a noob.?
Thinking of getting a used setup then use some cash for hop ups.

PS: Sry for the long pm dude. Reply if u have the time to.
If really busy, just put one side. :)

Kind regards,
Revolution
Heya! Difference between TT01 (I'll use the LED kit TT01) and TT01D is that the TT01 has a LED kit and electronic speed controller (ESC) while the TT01D doesn't. The TT01D comes with full ball bearings, aluminium drive shaft and drift tyres iirc.

If you get the TT01D, you will have to get an ESC as well. Depending on which type you get, I think prices for ESCs start from $50-60 upwards.

You can get your TT01 to start drifting by just fitting on PVC tyres.

Servos are what steers your car. The receiver is a small box that receives signals from the transmitter and sends signals to your ESC and steering servo. Crystals determine which frequency you're using. To avoid signal clash with others, make sure you and your buddy are using different frequencies if you want to run your cars together.

Digital servo has more "steps" or better modulation than analog servos, but also cost more.

Yokomo kits should be not bad, but may be more expensive than the Tamiya TT01 kits. Yokomo parts availability may not be so good too and it will be frustrating waiting for replacement parts to come in if you crash your car and damage some parts.

As for recommendations, I'd say the TT01 car is a good one to start with. If you're not too particular, you can get the Futaba Magnum Jr. controller to go with it.

TheoDR

Revolution said:
i ish gg to get my setup by this week if all is hokays...

can i register?
Winnie ish bringing in Silvia S15 kits this week, call her up tmrw to chope! :D

OniHibiki

crx84 said:
wah lan jia lat i oso 26.995.. booo
nvm nxt time i change 1 set of diff freq crytal with ur 26.995 i dun wan to spoil can current settings for my mini-z also usin tht freq can ?

Revolution

TheoDR said:
Heya! Difference between TT01 (I'll use the LED kit TT01) and TT01D is that the TT01 has a LED kit and electronic speed controller (ESC) while the TT01D doesn't. The TT01D comes with full ball bearings, aluminium drive shaft and drift tyres iirc.

If you get the TT01D, you will have to get an ESC as well. Depending on which type you get, I think prices for ESCs start from $50-60 upwards.

You can get your TT01 to start drifting by just fitting on PVC tyres.

Servos are what steers your car. The receiver is a small box that receives signals from the transmitter and sends signals to your ESC and steering servo. Crystals determine which frequency you're using. To avoid signal clash with others, make sure you and your buddy are using different frequencies if you want to run your cars together.

Digital servo has more "steps" or better modulation than analog servos, but also cost more.

Yokomo kits should be not bad, but may be more expensive than the Tamiya TT01 kits. Yokomo parts availability may not be so good too and it will be frustrating waiting for replacement parts to come in if you crash your car and damage some parts.

As for recommendations, I'd say the TT01 car is a good one to start with. If you're not too particular, you can get the Futaba Magnum Jr. controller to go with it.
theodr,

thank chius for reading thru the posts....

was overwhelmed by the infomation overload...keke

crx84

OniHibiki said:
nvm nxt time i change 1 set of diff freq crytal with ur 26.995 i dun wan to spoil can current settings for my mini-z also usin tht freq can ?

i dun understand :s27:

OniHibiki

Revolution said:
theodr,

thank chius for reading thru the posts....

was overwhelmed by the infomation overload...keke

also Matrix23 who had a pretty long chat over msn with me...

manage to get ur kit liao i guess?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.