Raising Rental

meekiatah

den helped throw rubbish? once a month?
wobble.gif

;)

lol.. my flat is those type with dustbin in the kitchen.. but suffice to say that we have mutual trust with each other that we don't lock our rooms when leaving for work, only on long trip then we lock..

drkcynic

Best to do some market research and see what is the rental in your area like instead of randomly increasing just because you feel like having a few hundreds more.

Your tenants might also be savvy, who knows next moment they see upstairs someone offer lower for the same thing.

No right or wrong, you want to up rent, you take the risks of them leaving and with that come all the misc costs in securing new tenants which might not be worth the trouble.

TOKARA

$1k is good. Some areas can be lower. Every landlords will think their rentals are below market rates like post #13 until they started renting the place out... The market will adjust itself.
Master bedroom leh

qhong61

Best to do some market research and see what is the rental in your area like instead of randomly increasing just because you feel like having a few hundreds more.

Your tenants might also be savvy, who knows next moment they see upstairs someone offer lower for the same thing.

No right or wrong, you want to up rent, you take the risks of them leaving and with that come all the misc costs in securing new tenants which might not be worth the trouble.
Any paying agent commission

meekiatah

If tenant got budget then ok.
Else they may decide to move to common room.
In another unit.
For $1k.

Both are EP holders, and non smokers (this is something I especially value).. Definitely can afford, is whether they accept or not..

NightGhost

High rental also need to check if hit which level of tax because rental incum counts as others incum in tax submission.
If im not wrong
If increase liao collect more money but end up hv to pay more tax jialat liao which make u across different tax lvl.

DragonFire

"COL has risen, I want to increase your rent by $xxx. If you buay song, FO."
This works well if you are guaranteed another tenant immediately. Else you are shooting yourself in the foot if they really FO and you cannot get a tenant at a much higher rate for a couple of months.

It takes a year at 10% higher rent to get ROI on 1 month of rent loss. Think about that a moment.

tellim

My fren decided to raise the rental cos he buay song he rent cheaper than market rate and the guy seems to be able to afford more cos always see him buy stuffs online. If the tenant can buy stuffs mthly amt more than 100-200 a mth, he should be ok to top up 100-200 more mthly right?

End up the guy left and now the room empty for months.

However my fren is not sorry..he rather leave it empty than rent to leeches.

83sarahtan

Hi folks

I have a pair of tenants renting my master bedroom for the past 3 years. Good tenants, seldom cook and never late in payment.

With the high COL now, I'm intending to raise their rental by couple of hundreds.

How best to bring up to them, can anyone advise...
Wah steady tenants for 3 years ah, that one hard to find leh. Maybe just bring it up nicely—say you appreciate them, but due to rising costs (utilities, property tax etc.), need to adjust slightly. Give them 1-2 months’ notice and keep the tone friendly. Good tenants usually understand one if you explain properly.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.