Random encounter... Possibly scam?

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

zueinder

First time kenna hustled? TS think back already still didn't realize that 7-11 definitely accepts cash.

grevq80o

just now i went 7-eleven and a random auntie in her 50-60s approached me
She asked if im making any payment via paywave/card etc
then she explained she wana buy dunno what cash gold card and that they (7-11 manned cashier) dont accept cash payment for it etc
i assumed she meant for me to help her pay via paywave/card and she pay me in cash
i just walked away

now thinking back, many qns in my head
is this a possible scam, or money washing?
or was she subjected to a possible scam, eg. buy those value card codes to give scammer?
what kinda cash/gold card where 7-eleven dont accept cash payments?
U did right. Any request related to $, better avoid..

Jian19

Why would 7-11 dun accept cash payment

Doesn't make any sense at all

khoomei2022

then she explained she wana buy dunno what cash gold card and that they (7-11 manned cashier) dont accept cash payment for it etc
i assumed she meant for me to help her pay via paywave/card and she pay me in cash
i just walked away

or was she subjected to a possible scam, eg. buy those value card codes to give scammer?
Wah, you did the right thing to walk away. This sounds damn suspicious. Here’s why:

1. Likely a scam: Could be money laundering (you pay, she gives "dirty" cash) or she’s buying gift cards/codes for scammers (e.g., impersonating gov officials, tech support).
2. 7-Eleven accepts cash for everything: No such thing as "cash not accepted" for specific cards—sounds like nonsense.
3. Avoid involvement: If you paid, she might vanish, or the transaction could be traced back to you if illegal.

If you see her again, maybe inform the 7-Eleven staff. Better safe than sorry.

Devilsire

First time kenna hustled? TS think back already still didn't realize that 7-11 definitely accepts cash.
Why would 7-11 dun accept cash payment

Doesn't make any sense at all

thats what made me wondering, might be some kinda cash card / debit card purchase that requires money trail to prevent laundering or?
cos doesnt make sense too if the cashier do accept cash, yet she asking around if anyone doing paywave/cc payment for help (assuming she's paying back / upfront in cash)

Devilsire

Wah, you did the right thing to walk away. This sounds damn suspicious. Here’s why:

1. Likely a scam: Could be money laundering (you pay, she gives "dirty" cash) or she’s buying gift cards/codes for scammers (e.g., impersonating gov officials, tech support).
2. 7-Eleven accepts cash for everything: No such thing as "cash not accepted" for specific cards—sounds like nonsense.
3. Avoid involvement: If you paid, she might vanish, or the transaction could be traced back to you if illegal.

If you see her again, maybe inform the 7-Eleven staff. Better safe than sorry.
U did right. Any request related to $, better avoid..

yeah i think most typical sg local like myself will just ignore & walk away :s13:

its just the curiosity after thinking back, so sharing here & see if anyone had similar experience

Elfblade

i just walked away

I once ordered Mee Hoon Kuey at a Hawker Stall and the young lady behind me don't have cash and the stall don't accept digital payment. She asked me if I can pay on behalf of her using cash and she'll PayNow me the $5. I think Poly student only but don't carry cash around, thought everything can be paid digitally. :s13: She is young enough to be of my daughter's age, so even though I can see her PayNow details when she asked for my phone number to TT the $5 to me, I will not take advantage of her PDPA.

weiess

"i assumed she meant for me to help her pay via paywave/card and she pay me in cash"

if she can pay u in cash .. might as well she pay the cashier in cash..
scam lah..

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
we'll never know but better to play it safe, just say no thanks & walk off

zueinder

thats what made me wondering, might be some kinda cash card / debit card purchase that requires money trail to prevent laundering or?
cos doesnt make sense too if the cashier do accept cash, yet she asking around if anyone doing paywave/cc payment for help (assuming she's paying back / upfront in cash)
You haven't wake up ah? Why like still trying to justify it.

You use real money buy things then they just run or give you fake money, then profit liao lor.
Confirm is scam lah.
Just whether is big or small.

Sforthought

I once ordered Mee Hoon Kuey at a Hawker Stall and the young lady behind me don't have cash and the stall don't accept digital payment. She asked me if I can pay on behalf of her using cash and she'll PayNow me the $5. I think Poly student only but don't carry cash around, thought everything can be paid digitally. :s13: She is young enough to be of my daughter's age, so even though I can see her PayNow details when she asked for my phone number to TT the $5 to me, I will not take advantage of her PDPA.
U lost me at I poly student but she young enough to be my daughter age and the pdpa part.

Jian19

yeah i think most typical sg local like myself will just ignore & walk away :s13:

its just the curiosity after thinking back, so sharing here & see if anyone had similar experience
Think she might say pay u via bank transfer or paynow, later show u a screenshot of payment

Might be a scam 🫡

Nevereatrice

i just walked away

fake notes

grevq80o

I have similar experience. Gotch a local woman approached me for $10 to buy makan... i walked away... later felt guilty whether she was really in need... a few weeksnago at the same place the same woman came to ask for $10 again ... and i also just kept walking ... i told myself ish ok to do it and no need to feel too guilty

Joseph12

i just walked away

Why would a reputable shop not want to accept cash

Thats a scam the scammers do

Oh. So and so don't accept cash
Not convenient to pay cash etc
Well it's cashless in many aspects now but generally cash is still king

nasilemak100

just bring her go clarify with the staff

if not then just walk away. never help stranger for free. this world is not as innocent as u think

SplinterWolf

I have similar experience. Gotch a local woman approached me for $10 to buy makan... i walked away... later felt guilty whether she was really in need... a few weeksnago at the same place the same woman came to ask for $10 again ... and i also just kept walking ... i told myself ish ok to do it and no need to feel too guilty
Chio or not. Ask her for that $10, what she give in return?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.