RANT: Driving Experience Nowadays

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Firestorm1978

I have been driving close to 30 years. Back in the 80s and 90s (sorry for the younger ones here who missed out those years), driving in Singapore was so much more relaxing and fun. PHVs (no offence to the considerate PHV drivers here), illegal PMDs and inconsiderate cyclists were non-existent and the traffic was much MUCH smoother. I reminisce those days when I could leisurely drive from one end of Singapore to the other without having much to fear for my life from inconsiderate PHV drivers who are busily looking at their APPs and ignoring road safety rules. Not forgetting crazy e-scooters speeding on expressway/roads and cyclists competing in Tour de Singapore in big groups on Singapore roads. Of course there were also inconsiderate drivers in those days, but definitely less stressful to drive nowadays as compared to those years.

Yes, we do not really use car cams then but somehow, it seems that I am encountering less accidents (no stats to proof though) on a weekly basis. Nowadays, I will encounter an accident scene (almost at least once every week). Also, I am not sure about the younger/new drivers nowadays. During my time, when we were learning driving, we were only able to be tested in vehicles with manual gear. Does it equate to 'better skills' from the drivers back then? Much to be debated....

I also noticed that in the 80s and 90s, I rarely see vans/lorries speeding like no tomorrow on the extreme right lanes of expressways. Many were fearful of *** who could often be seen patrolling on our roads. Those pick-ups/vans/lorries came equipped with a signal light on the roof which would lit up when they exceeded the speed limit. Lastly, there are so many construction work done on our roads nowadays. Many roads are also getting really bumpy as well. It just adds to our frustrations.

(LOL....I know some will just suggest using 'BMW' instead. However, this option is regretfully not applicable to me). Car drivers, feel free to add your personal experiences here. Let's keep this thread going and be cordial to all. :)

orpisia

Emeritus Honorary Member
Too many traffic lights

Wasting time

Contributes to premature wear of brake pads

ghregular

Drivers these days don't care a sheet about anybody else but themselves.

No more courtesy no more patience, abit abit tio triggered, you die your problem.
ocassionally when irritated i wld tell wifey how nice if i had driven a truck

AuraKUPO

Ts is the kind who refuse adapt to changes and trend. Ti ti want to go back to 30 years ago. Anything he don't like means not good. But he forgot police now wear long pants already

dambio

I have been driving close to 30 years. Back in the 80s and 90s (sorry for the younger ones here who missed out those years), driving in Singapore was so much more relaxing and fun. PHVs (no offence to the considerate PHV drivers here), illegal PMDs and inconsiderate cyclists were non-existent and the traffic was much MUCH smoother. I reminisce those days when I could leisurely drive from one end of Singapore to the other without having much to fear for my life from inconsiderate PHV drivers who are busily looking at their APPs and ignoring road safety rules. Not forgetting crazy e-scooters speeding on expressway/roads and cyclists competing in Tour de Singapore in big groups on Singapore roads. Of course there were also inconsiderate drivers in those days, but definitely less stressful to drive nowadays as compared to those years.

Yes, we do not really use car cams then but somehow, it seems that I am encountering less accidents (no stats to proof though) on a weekly basis. Nowadays, I will encounter an accident scene (almost at least once every week). Also, I am not sure about the younger/new drivers nowadays. During my time, when we were learning driving, we were only able to be tested in vehicles with manual gear. Does it equate to 'better skills' from the drivers back then? Much to be debated....

I also noticed that in the 80s and 90s, I rarely see vans/lorries speeding like no tomorrow on the extreme right lanes of expressways. Many were fearful of *** who could often be seen patrolling on our roads. Those pick-ups/vans/lorries came equipped with a signal light on the roof which would lit up when they exceeded the speed limit. Lastly, there are so many construction work done on our roads nowadays. Many roads are also getting really bumpy as well. It just adds to our frustrations.

(LOL....I know some will just suggest using 'BMW' instead. However, this option is regretfully not applicable to me). Car drivers, feel free to add your personal experiences here. Let's keep this thread going and be cordial to all. :)
U left out self entitled siao Lang driver. Those who drive like an F1 driver. Or those who realised they on wrong lane n will miss a turn.

Some just zoom in n out of traffic. Some just cut into Ur lane abruptly.

N then there's those small gas or crazy ppl who will suddenly do a brake check on u Infront! Becos earlier maybe dun like d way u drive. Or honk at him B4.

Then there's d Malaysian cars n motorbikes to contend with. They bang u just run back.

kuti

i see many lorries and vans on 2nd lane and some even on first lane too.

Tok Kong

Last time less financial pressure so everyone can be on the road relaxed.

Now,
Phv/food deliveries: time is money
Lorries: more trips more money
Cyclists: my sexpensive bike deserve more

highsulphur

I can't recall the last time I saw a TP enforcing on the roads. Must be more than 10 years ago

0218crawford

TS missed out on kamikaze motorbikes - the biggest variable that makes the whole system highly volatile....much more than other variables like errant trucks and poorly designed roads

wongminmin

waiting for the green arrow/gantry to open, the behind start horning liao. Nowadays, people impatient.
filter lane, turning, stopping all no signals.
use 2 lanes to turn.... what the fish....
a little bit buay song, high beam/e bake liao.
suka suka stop at roadside, like his father road.

:devilish:

woonwoonjiakbeehoon

we got millions of aliens (not native to our local culture)

how u expect them to be respectful and even lawful to our local laws?

Mrtesting

Nowadays peak period got some fella accident just right at the exit/entrance of expressway

Haish

fishercell

Totally concur, another thing is no such thing as GPS back then.
Still remember flipping pages to pinpoint the location, by the roadside.

sunsetbay

Too many traffic lights

Wasting time

Contributes to premature wear of brake pads

Too many unnecessary traffic lights~ some t-junction can actually do away with the traffic lights~

Right turn arrow took longer time to wait and when it turns green, it only last very short for few vehicles to turn~

Traffic lights mgnt system is not smart enough, midnight no traffic but the waiting time still the same~ :s22:

0218crawford

not csb.

today was in middle lane which is quite long. decide maybe better to switch to left lane which has a shorter Q. behind moi is a big bus. moi looked at left mirror and saw nothing. wife oso confirmed can go. something inside moi decide to chill instead of switching lane..afterall still early. suddenly from don know where one kamikaze bike just zoom past on my left. had i switched lane....100% sure tio & I would prolly be on youtube today.

jin heng.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.