RANT: Driving Experience Nowadays

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Dracky

Population size and composition today is very different from that in the 90s, 80s.

Firestorm1978

Drivers these days don't care a sheet about anybody else but themselves.

No more courtesy no more patience, abit abit tio triggered, you die your problem.

Exactly! Unless I am rushing for something urgent, I really don't mind just to allow a vehicle (with signal) to filter into my lane. What can that extra few secs cost a driver? Just yesterday, barely a few minutes after I have allowed a car to filter into my lane, I had to wait for 'countless' vehicles to bypass me before I could change lane. The moment I indicated my signal, all rushed forward like as if they will lose a piece of their skin if they allowed me to filter into their lane. Nevertheless, I was patient enough to wait for close to a minute.

I will still allow vehicles to filter into my lane if they signal. Not those who DON'T.

Dividends

I have been driving close to 30 years. Back in the 80s and 90s (sorry for the younger ones here who missed out those years), driving in Singapore was so much more relaxing and fun. PHVs (no offence to the considerate PHV drivers here), illegal PMDs and inconsiderate cyclists were non-existent and the traffic was much MUCH smoother. I reminisce those days when I could leisurely drive from one end of Singapore to the other without having much to fear for my life from inconsiderate PHV drivers who are busily looking at their APPs and ignoring road safety rules. Not forgetting crazy e-scooters speeding on expressway/roads and cyclists competing in Tour de Singapore in big groups on Singapore roads. Of course there were also inconsiderate drivers in those days, but definitely less stressful to drive nowadays as compared to those years.

Yes, we do not really use car cams then but somehow, it seems that I am encountering less accidents (no stats to proof though) on a weekly basis. Nowadays, I will encounter an accident scene (almost at least once every week). Also, I am not sure about the younger/new drivers nowadays. During my time, when we were learning driving, we were only able to be tested in vehicles with manual gear. Does it equate to 'better skills' from the drivers back then? Much to be debated....

I also noticed that in the 80s and 90s, I rarely see vans/lorries speeding like no tomorrow on the extreme right lanes of expressways. Many were fearful of *** who could often be seen patrolling on our roads. Those pick-ups/vans/lorries came equipped with a signal light on the roof which would lit up when they exceeded the speed limit. Lastly, there are so many construction work done on our roads nowadays. Many roads are also getting really bumpy as well. It just adds to our frustrations.

(LOL....I know some will just suggest using 'BMW' instead. However, this option is regretfully not applicable to me). Car drivers, feel free to add your personal experiences here. Let's keep this thread going and be cordial to all. :)
I've been driving for more than 10 years, the one big difference I've noticed is that there are a lot more cars on the roads now. More cars = more accidents.

Firestorm1978

yea
then was then
now is now

what to do right? :o
Damn sian. Even the tiong car drivers back then seem to be more pro than now? Used to remember the Orchard Road's S11 koptiam beside the library and the one near to 313 Orchard now. Love to spend my weekends there to drink kopi while watching the tiong cars' action during the weekends.

amekago

I have been driving close to 30 years. Back in the 80s and 90s (sorry for the younger ones here who missed out those years), driving in Singapore was so much more relaxing and fun. PHVs (no offence to the considerate PHV drivers here), illegal PMDs and inconsiderate cyclists were non-existent and the traffic was much MUCH smoother. I reminisce those days when I could leisurely drive from one end of Singapore to the other without having much to fear for my life from inconsiderate PHV drivers who are busily looking at their APPs and ignoring road safety rules. Not forgetting crazy e-scooters speeding on expressway/roads and cyclists competing in Tour de Singapore in big groups on Singapore roads. Of course there were also inconsiderate drivers in those days, but definitely less stressful to drive nowadays as compared to those years.
Yes, we do not really use car cams then but somehow, it seems that I am encountering less accidents (no stats to proof though) on a weekly basis. Nowadays, I will encounter an accident scene (almost at least once every week). Also, I am not sure about the younger/new drivers nowadays. During my time, when we were learning driving, we were only able to be tested in vehicles with manual gear. Does it equate to 'better skills' from the drivers back then? Much to be debated....
I also noticed that in the 80s and 90s, I rarely see vans/lorries speeding like no tomorrow on the extreme right lanes of expressways. Many were fearful of *** who could often be seen patrolling on our roads. Those pick-ups/vans/lorries came equipped with a signal light on the roof which would lit up when they exceeded the speed limit. Lastly, there are so many construction work done on our roads nowadays. Many roads are also getting really bumpy as well. It just adds to our frustrations.
(LOL....I know some will just suggest using 'BMW' instead. However, this option is regretfully not applicable to me). Car drivers, feel free to add your personal experiences here. Let's keep this thread going and be cordial to all.
:)

construction one I agree....but no choice

they are catching up on Covid backlog

Firestorm1978

I've been driving for more than 10 years, the one big difference I've noticed is that there are a lot more cars on the roads now. More cars = more accidents.
PHVs + COE cars + Tour De Singapore cyclists + New Cars + Lorries/Trucks (mostly driven by foreigners) + Buses and taxis from different companies + Malaysian + Singapore bikes

The construction road works / road diversification made it 10x worse.

zensushi

(LOL....I know some will just suggest using 'BMW' instead. However, this option is regretfully not applicable to me). Car drivers, feel free to add your personal experiences here. Let's keep this thread going and be cordial to all. :)

With having driven for 30 years, you should have considerable experience on the roads & thus be more adaptable to the changing environment.

No doubt it is less leisurely these days. Literally nothing we can do about it as long as we choose to drive in SG. Just stay alert & don't drive angry. Live & let live.

LoUsyGamER

Too many distractions.

Either check phone for business, message friend or small 3 or read some adult contents.

Then road hog, dash red light.

A lot of people then become reckless to siam them. Slowly everyone becomes impatient and self centered. Then the foreign lorry and van learn.

Not many racing on the road, other than a few big cases. Most had gone to Malaysia for this cheap thrill.

Firestorm1978

not csb.

today was in middle lane which is quite long. decide maybe better to switch to left lane which has a shorter Q. behind moi is a big bus. moi looked at left mirror and saw nothing. wife oso confirmed can go. something inside moi decide to chill instead of switching lane..afterall still early. suddenly from don know where one kamikaze bike just zoom past on my left. had i switched lane....100% sure tio & I would prolly be on youtube today.

jin heng.
That's why blind spot monitoring sys is important. Not foolproof but hopefully it helps in one way or another. Nowadays, eyes must open damn big to look out for kamikaze motorbikes (mostly from JB) and even cyclists.

12midnight

Ts is the kind who refuse adapt to changes and trend. Ti ti want to go back to 30 years ago. Anything he don't like means not good. But he forgot police now wear long pants already
well... not really
324015948_826669831755215_5823284931881553485_n.jpg

Firestorm1978

With having driven for 30 years, you should have considerable experience on the roads & thus be more adaptable to the changing environment.

No doubt it is less leisurely these days. Literally nothing we can do about it as long as we choose to drive in SG. Just stay alert & don't drive angry. Live & let live.
Ya lor. Nowadays, I try to be very zen about everything. I saw so many SG Vigilante videos.....of drivers jam brake, driving anti-direction, road rage etc. Sometimes, it's just due to a small matter of one driver not allowing someone to filter into his/her lane......then horn all they way....in the end road rage (abrupt braking causing accidents etc).

0218crawford

That's why blind spot monitoring sys is important. Not foolproof but hopefully it helps in one way or another. Nowadays, eyes must open damn big to look out for kamikaze motorbikes (mostly from JB) and even cyclists.
my car no BSM sys but i reckon even if got the system oso no use cos the bike appear from no where v suddenly one. i suspect BSM would also show clear to go. actually wifu ish my BSM sys. :ROFLMAO:

Level42

In the 80’s and 90’s, people complained a lot about taxi drivers. Nowadays, taxi drivers are considered saints when compared to the many worse road users.

Firestorm1978

Ts is the kind who refuse adapt to changes and trend. Ti ti want to go back to 30 years ago. Anything he don't like means not good. But he forgot police now wear long pants already
Don't like that la. Of course gotta move with the times la. That's why mine is a ranting thread. Although we have to accept the reality now, just can't help reminiscing the relatively relaxing driving experience in those days.

Firestorm1978

U left out self entitled siao Lang driver. Those who drive like an F1 driver. Or those who realised they on wrong lane n will miss a turn.

Some just zoom in n out of traffic. Some just cut into Ur lane abruptly.

N then there's those small gas or crazy ppl who will suddenly do a brake check on u Infront! Becos earlier maybe dun like d way u drive. Or honk at him B4.

Then there's d Malaysian cars n motorbikes to contend with. They bang u just run back.
I concur! I recently submitted a vid clip of one wannabe F1 driver driving a zhng COE car......driving in KPE tunnel (speed limit at that particular stretch was around 70kmh). I was driving on the middle lane at around 72kmh. This siao lang couldn't overtake from the uttermost right lane then tailgated me on my lane. His 100+hp F1 car (maybe zhng to 1000hp) came so close to my car's butt that I could even see his handsome face even though his windscreen was quite heavily tinted. He then did a zig zag Tokyo drift style filtering from left to right and right to left and continued like this all the way. Many were horning at him but he hack care.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.