Re-contract Singnet 10 Mbps?

jas1701

sian i called 8.30 this morning the cso wanted to direct me to retention but not yet opened so say will get them to call me.. till now still no calls from them

Aiyo you better call them instead. Wait till they call you is like waiting and waiting till dont know when.

ah_cheng1882

called at 8+ this morning and was told to call bk at 9am to be re-directed to retention dept.

called bk at 9am sharp (LOL) and the CSO was able to re-contract me again at $23.90. Her sales colleagues will contact me soon. :)

akiden

Strange!

Spoke to Retention Dept after lunch today. The guy offered me the same 1yr $23.90 contract but WITHOUT the modem.

Was told they do not offer free modem with recontract anymore but will replace modem if malfunction anytime within the recontract period.

Not sure if its a new policy starting today thus like to check with fellow folks if you're experiencing the same terms on calls made today?

Otherwise if it's only on my terms, regardless if modem is useful to me, kinda feel shortchanged, and especially so if they're giving out new fibre wireless N capable modem.

Anyone?

jas1701

akiden, if 2wire is given maybe you can 4get it lah. I also given the 2wire and after setting it up, the wireless connection status always drop from 5 bar to 2 then the icon at times will become yellow color indicating very weak signal. End up I still use back the Thompson ST536 with Linksys WRT54G, the connection stable until swee swee.

Th3Keeper

Strange!

Spoke to Retention Dept after lunch today. The guy offered me the same 1yr $23.90 contract but WITHOUT the modem.

Was told they do not offer free modem with recontract anymore but will replace modem if malfunction anytime within the recontract period.

Not sure if its a new policy starting today thus like to check with fellow folks if you're experiencing the same terms on calls made today?

Otherwise if it's only on my terms, regardless if modem is useful to me, kinda feel shortchanged, and especially so if they're giving out new fibre wireless N capable modem.

Anyone?

After recon thn keep call them say modem slow lo

ah_cheng1882

Just got a call from their sales team. The offer comes with a free wireless modem leh.

Anyone knows roughly how come i can get if i sell it online?

akiden

akiden, if 2wire is given maybe you can 4get it lah. I also given the 2wire and after setting it up, the wireless connection status always drop from 5 bar to 2 then the icon at times will become yellow color indicating very weak signal. End up I still use back the Thompson ST536 with Linksys WRT54G, the connection stable until swee swee.

Hi jas1701, totally agree that 2wire modems CMI man! I myself am also using bridging 5201 in bridge mode and the thru-put seems so much more stable. But if they are supposedly giving out 5012NV which is fibre-compatible then it's a different story. Better to get it FOC now then to be charged $150 for it when my estate becomes fibre-ready next year.

Seems from the feedback here that the chap from Retention Dept smoked me just now ahh...since everyone else here seems to be given free modem..KNN :s27:

Will try talk to the Sales Dept when they call me back for confirmation later...

jas1701

akiden, by that time most manufacturer would have this modem ready for FO. Now market not so but 1-2yrs later might be different story. Just like those days back when BB is launch. Only ISPs give out adsl modem, market still very limited. If I have a choice, I would rather buy from outside than to use ISPs unless the modem they provide proof to me wrong. Already got 2 sets of new 2wire modem stuck in my cupboard, both CMI manz.

Qubicfactor

akiden, by that time most manufacturer would have this modem ready for FO. Now market not so but 1-2yrs later might be different story. Just like those days back when BB is launch. Only ISPs give out adsl modem, market still very limited. If I have a choice, I would rather buy from outside than to use ISPs unless the modem they provide proof to me wrong. Already got 2 sets of new 2wire modem stuck in my cupboard, both CMI manz.

Just to clarify again (and again)

When using fibre optics, the 2Wire is just a router. The ONT is the modem. Singtel likes to call the 2Wire an "Integrated Wireless Modem" which it is, but the modem inside is ADSL only.

ONT unlikely you can ever buy your own since there is encryption inside to separate your traffic from your neighbours.

liangtam

So 10 years down the road, do people get to choose their cable modems like the many other models available from Motorola USA?
Please go understand what this WILL NOT happen.

Gotch new 2Wire? Don't want? Gibe me.

ironut

Just got an offer from the retention dept. $23.45 per mth for 10Mbps plan with modem.

But need to pay for phone line. $27 every 3 mths.

Kept hinting if it's possible for a rebate of that. But they stood firm.

Looks like I will have to jump to the Green camp to enjoy my hubber discounts. (Not that the green pipe is that great)

naruto13

Just got an offer from the retention dept. $23.45 per mth for 10Mbps plan with modem.

Looks like I will have to jump to the Green camp to enjoy my hubber discounts. (Not that the green pipe is that great)

for $23 internet, u still wan jump to get hub club.
i reckon this $23 will save u more than ur hub club lol.

jas1701

Think is bcos of the line phone charges of $27 for 3 mths ( est $9/mth ). Add to the $23.45 is only $32.45 and believe is still cheaper lor.

naruto13

depend his requirement.

need cable tv?
have singtel mobile?

alternative mio plan. work the sums out.

Volvo9

Did you call them when your contract end or earlier?

Qubicfactor

Don't anyhow jump on a whim then later regret hor. Think carefully, or 24 mths of potential agony if it you are unlucky and doesn't turn out right.

Any migration to another ISP can be either for the better or worse.

luarwinston

Check with singtel the phone line is not under the broadband contract for 23.45. The phone line is actually your home phone bill.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.