Re-contract Singnet 10 Mbps?

Streetwise

the $10 rebate is how many months?

when was that?

Only Singtel knows when:D. Anyway, if ur contract is less than 1 mth, u can call retention dept and they will tell u the current package they've on offer. I got a $10 rebate for 1 year and 2nd year managed to get a $15 rebate :D. Note tat no deals are on the table all the time....call at the `right' time and u may just get a worthwhile package:D.

For me, if Singtel don't offer a attractive package.....then it will be time to move on.

ussr_1991

oh man this is bad. all my family members are currently on singtel tho, and the mio home gives us pretty good line discounts. argh

All telco suck in one way another.

Although I prefer Starhub connection (Cable only), but a word of advice. If 4G is important to you, Starhub offer most data but connection is quite spotty. There are threads in Mobile Communication Technology discussing about Starhub's 4G Nation-wide network which is still quite not good in various area.

So what you gain, is what you lose as well.

Summary:

Starhub Pros:
  • Cable TV
  • Unlimited phone calls @ $2.XX (Original price @ $10.49)
    Hubber Club discount
    (30% for 4 line + 5% broadband discount + 10% SCV TV discount VS 25% for 4 line with Mio, no discount with broadband & TV etc)
  • Cable broadband more stable than ADSL (Always Draggy Super Laggy)

Especially true if the copper line is deteriorating over years or humidity
  • For less price, higher International Speed than Singtel ($29.90 for 18Mbps International Speed, Local 50Mbps, Upload 2Mbps VS $36.90 for 15Mbps download, 1Mbps upload + 1GB mobile BB without USB modem that can be top up for extra $10 per month)

Starhub Cons:
  • Lousy 3G / 4G network

Singtel Pros:
  • Excellent Dual band coverage (But in the East, some other forum user claimed that M1 is king and hence Singtel is best in West only)

Singtel Cons:

• $9.81 monthly for Digital Voice
  • Lag TV as stated hundred times
  • Most expensive mobile plan (20 mins less talk time for $39 plan and 100 min less for $59 plan and up to 1X more excess data charge since it is $10.70 per excess GB VS $6.42 for Starhub and $5.35 for M1)

ussr_1991

I stay east side, M1 coverage was real bad around 1 year back. Not sure if things have improved.

That M1 claim in the East is by someone else as I have yet to try out. But mine East side sometimes cannot receive phone call as I placed my cell phone (Non-3G) next to my home phone (Non-cordless type). BTW, the mobile is Singtel one.

I switched to M1 from Singtel. Never regretted. In the East, M1 is king. In the West, M1 is weak, Singtel stronger. So you need to consider where you use your network the most. But so far, M1 works well in most places, even on trains (except in the West).

BTW, there are also claims somewhere else that M1 sucks at high floor coverage too. But yet to be confirmed by me.

blue00

Only Singtel knows when:D. Anyway, if ur contract is less than 1 mth, u can call retention dept and they will tell u the current package they've on offer. I got a $10 rebate for 1 year and 2nd year managed to get a $15 rebate :D. Note tat no deals are on the table all the time....call at the `right' time and u may just get a worthwhile package:D.

For me, if Singtel don't offer a attractive package.....then it will be time to move on.

thks but dun get u...

so i n total u sign a 2 years contract, 1st year is $10 and 2nd year u enjoy $15 rebate?

or is u sign 4 years contract, 1st contract is $10 off n 2nd contract is $15 rebate?

ussr_1991

thks but dun get u...

so i n total u sign a 2 years contract, 1st year is $10 and 2nd year u enjoy $15 rebate?

or is u sign 4 years contract, 1st contract is $10 off n 2nd contract is $15 rebate?

Nowadays where got 4 year contract one? Perhaps it is a one year contract and he renew every year bah.

Streetwise

thks but dun get u...

This is the story. Signed two yrs with $10 rebate for 2yrs...but Telco sys limited to input only 1 yr rebate. Thus, I had to call in on the 12th mth to get another yr rebate..but I was late by two mths...called and was given $15 rebate for 12mths.

ET_phonehome

This is the story. Signed two yrs with $10 rebate for 2yrs...but Telco sys limited to input only 1 yr rebate. Thus, I had to call in on the 12th mth to get another yr rebate..but I was late by two mths...called and was given $15 rebate for 12mths.

kudos to them for giving u

ET_phonehome

was given a phone line waiver (the quarterly charges) previously so just pay what i call, now considering the fiber route

LocalGod

have been signing with singnet for dunno how many years. maybe 4-6? recontract again and again.

now have starhub fiber and want to terminate this. how do i go about doing so? do i need to bring my modem? will be terminating my phone line as well.

ussr_1991

have been signing with singnet for dunno how many years. maybe 4-6? recontract again and again.

now have starhub fiber and want to terminate this. how do i go about doing so? do i need to bring my modem? will be terminating my phone line as well.

1) You may port over phone line to Starhub (Digital Voice)

2) Modem (Not Mio TV box but the white box with "2Wire" wording) is all yours to keep / throw in recycling center.

3) Call 1688 and follow the robot instructions and request to talk to their staffs for termination. They will transfer you to retention department that promise heaven and earth like that, si mi "if I give you 2 months waiver, would you consider not to terminate?" thing. Just be firm and after 7 working days -> Ta da! Stinktel free liao.

Ex Mio User who did exactly the same (Not using Starhub fiber so never port but cancel home line).

cannotliao

actually i dont mind stick to the ADSL if they keep the price low $20+ but now they just force upgrade the plan and ask to pay $30 per month. simply forcing consumer to sign up for higher plan which dont really need.

ussr_1991

actually i dont mind stick to the ADSL if they keep the price low $20+ but now they just force upgrade the plan and ask to pay $30 per month. simply forcing consumer to sign up for higher plan which dont really need.

The $30 per month comes with 1GB mobile BB aka value added service. But the point is who is going to use it when those ADSL users are generally light surfers.

touchme

The $30 per month comes with 1GB mobile BB aka value added service. But the point is who is going to use it when those ADSL users are generally light surfers.

1gb bb is designed for people to exceed and pay accidental charges. On the contrary may be good for the same light users on the move.

ussr_1991

1gb bb is designed for people to exceed and pay accidental charges. On the contrary may be good for the same light users on the move.

Haha, for that group of user, prepaid mobile BB really cannot help as it is too expensive.

Mobile Data | SingTel

StarHub - Support - Broadband - FAQs - MaxMobile - MaxMobile Prepaid

M1

How to compare? But it is way more expensive than what's bundled in ADSL plan. But hor, just use the phone and surf might be better. At least 2GB leh (Unless die die need to use tablet / laptop on the go)...

macb0y

Hi Guys,

Any review on starhub 25mbps performance?
Is it slow for surfing and torrent at nite? How about youtube?
I'm staying Hougang area.

Thinking of switching to starhub after my $23 10 mbps plan expire in jan.
I dun think i want to get their $29 15mbps plan 2 yrs contract since it is more exs than starhub 25mbps.

Cheers :)

Esthergal

So satiki ! Like that cheaper then the $23, 10mbps plan !

:eek::eek::eek:

touchme

your adsl plan is $29 (15mbps) or $23 (10mbps)? Rebates is quarterly or monthly?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.