Really a lot of people around me who migrated overseas come back to Singapore.

peterlim95

CoL is likely going to go higher and higher, exponentially compared to neighbours. likely if u stay here, u need to collect cardboards to exercise til death......

besides, place small, weather sux, boring like fk, this is basically a dormitory....

Bt many ppl think of it as paradise and r still moving there...

dilphinus

Which city did u move to? Mind sharing?
Logan
Did ur friends who got Aussie PR share why they moved back to SG?
Start a family. Salaries are much higher in Singapore, after tax. All of them are doing pretty well. Definitely more than > S$15k/month.
How is the housing and cost of living crisis in Aussie? Is it as bad as depicted in social media?
Terrible. Plot of 400sqm land going for more than A$1 million. Cheap huh?

We are pretty rural. Plot of 400sqm cost more than A$400k. Doesn't include the build.
Do u cook on your own when you are in Aussie? From what i read, any services that human labour "touches" it will incur a high price, be it eating out, plumbing or electrical works.
I don't cook in Australia now cos I'm staying with my in-laws.
Isn't it an irony that with your own vehicle, you can go anywhere you want, that includes driving around whole of Australia?
Ain't it easier to just walk out to get something instead of driving out to get a loaf of bread, chips, etc?

AuraKUPO

I renounced my SG citizenship. Very dumb of me

Now can never go back SG to live and work.

Regret.
Bro your kids still can migrate here and bring you back. Get them to start their CPF engine here, build a family in a safe and rich environment, your grandkids will thank you.

tatsit

sounds pretty legit to me. come back as a foreigner is way better than being a local

samloi

Sometimes the problem not the place the person....
true in some cases.
I noticed alot of Singaporeans/Malaysians cannot accept that office engineer makes less than the tradies.
And then some of the "higher management" cannot use the same yaya papaya attitude towards the rank and files workers.

samloi

Logan

Start a family. Salaries are much higher in Singapore, after tax. All of them are doing pretty well. Definitely more than > S$15k/month.

Terrible. Plot of 400sqm land going for more than A$1 million. Cheap huh?

We are pretty rural. Plot of 400sqm cost more than A$400k. Doesn't include the build.

I don't cook in Australia now cos I'm staying with my in-laws.

Ain't it easier to just walk out to get something instead of driving out to get a loaf of bread, chips, etc?
Oz salary is not good if you are doing well in Singapore....considering the tax rates.
If can make above 8-10k in singapore, then oz salary will not be enticing unless you want to FIFO.

Property is cannot compare apples to apples lor. In Oz you own a piece of land that is worth tens of million for the same size in Singapore. My crappy apartment is about 400-500kAUD, but in singapore it will be like 1mil and above since can be classified as under "private property" aka condo.

Food wise comparable i think, especially given the price hike in sg in recent years.

Moi is love cars, but the idea of owning a car i like in singapore is close to impossible.

DragonFire

usually .. overseas country .. the foreigners are not so easily accepted and can find good jobs.

you think every country like singapore so good where foreigners get accepted easily and find good jobs and live good life?
Come back as foreigner lagi best.

inf|uencer

Oz salary is not good if you are doing well in Singapore....considering the tax rates.
If can make above 8-10k in singapore, then oz salary will not be enticing unless you want to FIFO.

Property is cannot compare apples to apples lor. In Oz you own a piece of land that is worth tens of million for the same size in Singapore. My crappy apartment is about 400-500kAUD, but in singapore it will be like 1mil and above since can be classified as under "private property" aka condo.

Food wise comparable i think, especially given the price hike in sg in recent years.

Moi is love cars, but the idea of owning a car i like in singapore is close to impossible.
what car did u buy in aus? lol a ferrari or lamborghini?

inf|uencer

true in some cases.
I noticed alot of Singaporeans/Malaysians cannot accept that office engineer makes less than the tradies.
And then some of the "higher management" cannot use the same yaya papaya attitude towards the rank and files workers.
construction worker earn more than pmet in sg lol if we have a trump pm that is lol

dilphinus

How much is your body corp/strata ? Water per quarter, etc etc etc?

Our 8.5 acres of land is only valued at A$1 million. Where got tens of millions?

homedriver

Salary doesn’t justify living standard. In Australia, everyday consume local high quality agriculture product. Holiday can drive own boat go fishing, winter go skiing. House is big and can stay with pet running happily. Every member can drive car to tour around the country. Education not stressful and government provide loan to study till undergraduate. Four seasons weather with fresher air.
Singapore is about efficiency and faster pace. More for people like to chiong to earn money. Really depend on individual.

LoUsyGamER

really depends on what opportunities are given to the people who left Sg.

A lot of finance background friends returned from Aussie because job is mainly given to the local.

Few engineering friends returned from NZ/Aussie/USA because they studied CSE and the other returned for families. They are also not doing well locally.

Doctor and nursing friends never returned.

dilphinus

Salary doesn’t justify living standard. In Australia, everyday consume local high quality agriculture product. Holiday can drive own boat go fishing, winter go skiing. House is big and can stay with pet running happily. Every member can drive car to tour around the country. Education not stressful and government provide load to study till undergraduate. Four season weather with fresher air.
Singapore is about efficiency and faster pace. More for people like to chiong to earn money. Really depend on individual.
You should really do a Google search and read up on Australia's reliance on pesticides.

peterlim95

really depends on what opportunities are given to the people who left Sg.

A lot of finance background friends returned from Aussie because job is mainly given to the local.

Few engineering friends returned from NZ/Aussie/USA because they studied CSE and the other returned for families. They are also not doing well locally.

Doctor and nursing friends never returned.

Did they get Aussie PR? Is there any difference in job hiring between PR and Aussie citizen ?

I read once get Aussie PR very easy to get jobs n benefits?

Justanewbie

Salary not that high either. Tax also high.

I think if you consider the lower income class in SG they would be thinking grass is greener.
cos they have simple needs. House and car happy like dunno what already.

The high income people high net worth people they rather stay in SG (SG as base) and hop around all over the world traveling

Hence you can tell who are the different classes of people from what they say about this topic.
Agree. Rather be high income based in SG and keep travelling. This is ideal.

Everyone wants to raise kids in SG..cos scared their kids get bullied in school esp by bigger size caucasians and lose out. Asian hate crimes.

Then if send their kids to chinese school in Australia get indoctrinated with CCP. Singaporeans are neither here nor there and our population is too small to have a self-sustaining unique cultural identity which is going the way of the dodo....sad man...really sad. :cautious:

We're not like Japanese, Thai or Vietnam with population of > 50 million. There's only 2.5 million true blue sinkies who grew up under LKY...frankly I don't know what to do...give up my citizenship and assimilate into Australia and speak like Aussie?

After migrate, they realise all their neighbours are from Pakistan, India, China, Vietnam, Indo, they get sian bcos of cultural gap.
very hard for Asian to assimilate into western countries/culture, will never be treated as one of them.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.