[Recommend] Good Mechanical Keyboard

royfrosty

Anyone bought the Logitech Orion Spark? Abit gian :s13:

One of the jialut keyboard to try leh.

The keycaps are a little off for me. They tailored the keycaps gradient slope to make user "feel" better in gaming and typing. But they over do it too much. Especially for the wasd and other parts of the keys.

It overall feels weird to type for me.

And it is 0 to customize the romer G omron switches and keycaps.

avsquare

One of the jialut keyboard to try leh.

The keycaps are a little off for me. They tailored the keycaps gradient slope to make user "feel" better in gaming and typing. But they over do it too much. Especially for the wasd and other parts of the keys.

It overall feels weird to type for me.

And it is 0 to customize the romer G omron switches and keycaps.

I think the design is pretty nice but IDK about the key itself, feels damn weird, soft and cheapo sia :s22:

junialum

I was looking into the G910 but when for a test type and the key caps are unfortunately below subpar. Quality and shape. Pity.

sabotender

who remembers logitech g15? easily the best feeling keys among "normal" rubber dome keyboards, before mech keyboards were hip. build quality and rubber coating was **** though.

fzhfzh

Any mechanical keyboard for mac?

I'm using this with keyboard mac right now:

pdkb400ws_full1000_th620x400.jpg

Been using it for almost a year. Have had numerous other keyboards including filco, and even realforce, but I have to say HHKB have the best layout ever for mac. The feel of typing is also very addictive, feels even smoother than realforce after using both for quite a while.

fzhfzh

how so? since they are both topre switches

Realforce has steel plate below the keys, HHKB has no plate, the plastic bottom is used as the plate.

In terms of construction, this makes Realforce more solid, but when typing it feels harsher in terms of feedback, causing finger to fatigue faster, whereas HHKB feels more cushioned. At first I prefer the Realforce, but after typing on both for longer period of time, now I prefer the HHKB more.

but, I got the type-s version for HHKB which is silenced, that might also play a part in the keys feeling more cushioned.

koroshiya8

Have been using this Shine 4 for about 2 weeks, and found myself preferring this over K70 now kept in cold storage; I dont remember Shine 3 having such touch....

357plhf.jpg

terraflare

I recently bought an IKBC (Vortex, the ones who made the POK3R) F-104 mech keyboard from Xtremesolutions and i love the feel of it. I also owna Filco Majestouch 2, red keys for that is excellent for long use (reduce fatigue), but what i dislike is that the key caps turn shiny after heavy use. The IKBC one apparently has some special key caps that dont turn shiny.

Lastly, tried to get a Ducky Zero but a row of keys were unresponsive straight out of box, so i went with the IKBC instead. Poor quality control from Ducky.

Dr.Vijay

Administrator
Probably the plastic feel.

I've tried it and it's actually nice because it ensures your finger tips are guided right to the middle of the cap. 'non-pro' typists would appreciate it, but for those who are looking for a better feel, the plastic key caps may not be their thing.

The G910 is great for those who want a good looking gaming keyboard first with mechanical keys. It fulfills this aspect.

But most replying in this thread are folks who want to have the best feel and typing experience - not necessarily a gaming keyboard or one that looks good.

I think the design is pretty nice but IDK about the key itself, feels damn weird, soft and cheapo sia :s22:

Rubick

Why no love for Steelseries Apex M800?
Loving it over my Roccat Ryos Mk pro and filco blue switch

monikernemo

Why no love for Steelseries Apex M800?
Loving it over my Roccat Ryos Mk pro and filco blue switch
Apex M800 is rubber dome? Only more recent revision is mechanical?

I guess its more of a low profile 'gaming keyboard' with the easy (and arguably more ergonomical) to reach space bar. Heard from reviews that it is dead silent too.

Iirc uses similar switches to the ones deployed in the Orion Spark?

Sent from microwave oven using GAGT

Rubick

Apex M800 is rubber dome? Only more recent revision is mechanical?

I guess its more of a low profile 'gaming keyboard' with the easy (and arguably more ergonomical) to reach space bar. Heard from reviews that it is dead silent too.

Iirc uses similar switches to the ones deployed in the Orion Spark?

M800 is the recent mechanical keyboard. Their in house key. Heard is similar to Orion Spark. Dead silent and the led lighting jin fap lol

monikernemo

M800 is the recent mechanical keyboard. Their in house key. Heard is similar to Orion Spark. Dead silent and the led lighting jin fap lol
Oh okay the previous one is called Apex right?

But its darn expensive leh. Agree that backlighting, like the orion, is solid compared to the black spider chroma and pirate ship rgb :s22:

Haha (mentioned earlier too as per discussion on the orion) but customisation is a pain in the ass when market has only mostly custom cherry mx keycaps

How does the key distance compares to regular profile keyboards?

Rubick

Oh okay the previous one is called Apex right?

But its darn expensive leh. Agree that backlighting, like the orion, is solid compared to the black spider chroma and pirate ship rgb :s22:

Haha (mentioned earlier too as per discussion on the orion) but customisation is a pain in the ass when market has only mostly custom cherry mx keycaps

How does the key distance compares to regular profile keyboards?

Yea previous one is apex.
I got the m800 during it show, quite good price i think lol.
Lighting much more solid than my old razer keyboard and ryos mk pro.
Don think need to customise the key. As good as it gets. At least for me.
For me really didnt notice much difference between the key distance. Maybe too used to using different keyboard at different places, so cant really judge accurately lol

muddle

I guess people are still reserved about the qs1 switches on the m800. It's a joint effort by steelseries and kailh. The same kailh on razer keyboards.

Most still prefer cherry or even topre.

Rubick

As long as you use, your finger song can liao. That is what matters the most lol

killachicken

I just received my china Royal Kludge 987 RGB Keyboard. probably the cheapest RGBkeyboard out there at only $70 with shipping

Uses greetech switches. I think it is a pretty good deal if you are looking for a RGB keyboard for bling.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.