Recommendations for fridges

qhong61

Some people I've spoken to swear by Japanese brands like Mitsubishi and Sharp while others say Korean brands especially LG is also good. Some prefer "ang moh" brands like Fisher & Paykel.

Budget aside, generally which brands are good for fridges?
Sharp and Panasonic.

eauyong

Using one Goldstar (now the Company changed name to LG or "Lucky Goldstar" since joined with 'Lucky') purchased in 1992 and still going strong.

Also, one Mitsubishi bought in 2014.

Previously, have one National (now Panasonic) for close to 35 years. It was still working but changed it due to the appearance.

All are good brands.

crunsik

Using one Goldstar (now the Company changed name to LG or "Lucky Goldstar" since joined with 'Lucky') purchased in 1992 and still going strong.

Also, one Mitsubishi bought in 2014.

Previously, have one National (now Panasonic) for close to 35 years. It was still working but changed it due to the appearance.

All are good brands.

any feedback comparing Mitsubishi vs Panasonic?

eauyong

any feedback comparing Mitsubishi vs Panasonic?

I think Panasonic still have an edge over Mitsubishi. These panasonic Japanese workers formerly under the founder Matsushita were really perfectionists. Most Japanese households would take Panasonic (formerly National) anytime.

crunsik

mine Mitsubishi still working after 13 years

:eek::eek::eek: !! 13 years! is Mitsubishi noisy?

I think Panasonic still have an edge over Mitsubishi. These panasonic Japanese workers formerly under the founder Matsushita were really perfectionists. Most Japanese households would take Panasonic (formerly National) anytime.

thx for the info! I am quite keen on Panasonic too, however the feedback is that since the compressor is on the top, it tends to be noisier that Hitachi and Mitsu

laser168

thx for the info! I am quite keen on Panasonic too, however the feedback is that since the compressor is on the top, it tends to be noisier that Hitachi and Mitsu

nope. just that the door & to push harder to close it other than that no issue at all.

I will change to LG 626L Side by Side Fridge if mine mitsubishi is spoil.

qhong61

Dont find my panasonic noisy.

huggermonster

fridge to recommend

Hi ..looking to buy a top freezer fridge with about 500L plus capacity. Currently considering Sharp, Hitachi, Samsung and LG. Hitachi and Sharp around $1299 whereas LG and Samsung about 200 to 300 more. Been to the Superstores and they seem to recommend only LG or Samsung. Any issues with Sharp and HItachi fridges?

Gixxerfied

Hi ..looking to buy a top freezer fridge with about 500L plus capacity. Currently considering Sharp, Hitachi, Samsung and LG. Hitachi and Sharp around $1299 whereas LG and Samsung about 200 to 300 more. Been to the Superstores and they seem to recommend only LG or Samsung. Any issues with Sharp and HItachi fridges?

Profit margin higher for them??

I go GC, friend's colleague who deals in fridge nv bother introducing LG/Samsung to me..

Was looking at Hitachi initially but he mention if want MIJ then Sharp>Mitsubishi>Hitachi..

I'm sure MIJ Hitachi is fine..

devilcup

need to be MIJ? i find Hitachi non MIJ build not bad that why i bought it. To me most impt of the fridge other than build, is the function. I prefer twin cooling/evaporator unit fridge (2 doors one). Best is with odour control function. not sure it is a normal nowadays.

tk

I would not recommend LG.. my sis-in-law bought LG and regretted.. closing bottom door will cause the top door to open a bit.. end up top freezer got ice forming due to air leaking in.. and the servicemen that came down after she complain say it's normal.. :s8:

huggermonster

Profit margin higher for them??

I go GC, friend's colleague who deals in fridge nv bother introducing LG/Samsung to me..

Was looking at Hitachi initially but he mention if want MIJ then Sharp>Mitsubishi>Hitachi..

I'm sure MIJ Hitachi is fine..

MIJ ones a bit ex for me. I am fine with made in anywhere as long as quality is ok and function wise wont deteriorate badly after a few years. Hoping the fridge to last me for 10yrs if possible.

huggermonster

need to be MIJ? i find Hitachi non MIJ build not bad that why i bought it. To me most impt of the fridge other than build, is the function. I prefer twin cooling/evaporator unit fridge (2 doors one). Best is with odour control function. not sure it is a normal nowadays.

when did you buy yours? is it still working ok?I am looking at R-VG690P3MS hitachi fridge. actually torn between hitachi and Samsung and sharp. The samsung model in purple but a bit smaller at 501litre. hopefully some one here bought the samsung one and can give review.For Sharp, all the salespeople kept saying they using panasonic compressor so not so Sharp-like as compared to a few yrs back..The wife just crossed out LG because she dont like stainless steel look and someone here just warned about the LG fridge so yeah i guess i m left considering those 3 fridges.

devilcup

when did you buy yours? is it still working ok?I am looking at R-VG690P3MS hitachi fridge. actually torn between hitachi and Samsung and sharp. The samsung model in purple but a bit smaller at 501litre. hopefully some one here bought the samsung one and can give review.For Sharp, all the salespeople kept saying they using panasonic compressor so not so Sharp-like as compared to a few yrs back..The wife just crossed out LG because she dont like stainless steel look and someone here just warned about the LG fridge so yeah i guess i m left considering those 3 fridges.

just bought, not shift to new hse yet but soon. I only did a comparison before samsung and Hitachi when i was at harvey norman. The salesman which is my fren too reco me hitachi too.

anyway, regarding sharp fridge... i have one over 15 yr old at my current place. Sharp is well known for the fridge. you never go wrong with these brand so far that i know of.

Regarding samsung, my fren fridge is samsung, 6-7 yrs liao still good. so i think they are good as well. no exp with LG... My LG TV spoil exactly 5 yr after purchase. My wife dun like LG too though she say their innovation is good.

ArtURtlE

my house using hitAChi fridge... 10yrs still gg strong...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.