Red Wing shoe Thread

Toby88

since i have both pairs, iron ranger hawthorne and beckman gt black cherry round toe.
so here's the lowdown:
-beckman is a killer in terms of comfort. almost 1 year already. still i dare not wear it for extended periods. if u wanna take it for overseas trip, do not even try, it will hurt like mad. irish setters moc toe ones somehow super comfy, no wonder its called hunting boots, can 'chiong sua'. maybe beckman gt needs more than a couple of years? cos the leather at the ankle area still not soft enough as compared to my 8138. anyway mine's a D not an E or EE. so maybe that's the cause of discomfort?
-iron ranger is not too bad. since mine's EE. only 1 month old, but seems broken in. still i try to wear it not more than 8 hours 1 day.

details difference:
-beckman uses the soles which are made of tyres? not sure about that the black part. then the 3ply wood sole (heard its actually thick veg tan ply together and not wood). in terms of sturdiness, some say better than the traction tred sole (the white sole). some say white sole better (cos can change easier and cheaper? maybe more comfy?)
-iron ranger uses the cork sole (or maybe something else). its oil resisting. doesnt have the 3 ply wood thingy. purely cork.
-grip wise, both kinda suck. why?
beckman is 2 part. heel and front feet got sole. the arch part is empty. so problem arrives when u place your feet onto a bar or a pole (when u sit on a chair, sometimes u would place your feet on the hinge or something), will definitely slip. but dont worry. your heel part of sole will hold onto the hinge.
iron ranger is kinda smooth on the soles, so i guess it doesnt have the ridges or grooves like the white soles. hence lousy grip on a rainy day?

appearance wise:
-iron ranger slightly taller than beckman.
-iron ranger removes easier than beckman becos the eyelets are 3 holes and 3 hooks type. beckman is all holes.
-original laces provided for both different. beckman is waxy fabrice type lace and flat. iron ranger is like the standard yellow brown round lace, but its light and dark brown in colour.
-iron ranger toes part (the outside) has the stripped stitching across. beckman is just round toe or moc toe. depends on the model.
-last difference. iron ranger back of the ankle part quite stiff, due to the extra leather piece sewn to it. beckman doesnt have that.

that's about it i guess. sorry for length wall of text. pics up soon

scasi

THKS TOBY!!! So in terms of classifying, Beckman seems like more of like Alden, dress boots or dress high cut shoes, where's Iron Range is boots, work wear... am i right?

Toby88

yes.
that was what they were meant to be.
beckman gt is a tribute to the founder of Red Wing. hence the gentlemen traveller. beckman the man himself wanted a shoe that was rugged enough to walk on the rough streets, but wanted a good leather so that it reflects his status as a businessman (hence the slight shine and better leather? Featherstone leather i presume). so its dress shoes with a rugged base.
iron ranger is somewhat inspired by those coal miners and iron mongers (those who deal with heavy machinery and metals). so maybe that's why cork sole oil resisting?

anyway, if got any misinterpretation, dont blame me, just jogged them down from memory. i was reading the heritage pamphlet from red wing. telling the story of red wing shoes co.

kazuki666

would anyone here happen to know if toe cap area for beckman abt the same as 8165? or even slimmer?

Toby88

depends on alphabet. D or E or EE.
if its D, should be slim. but then again, really gotta try both on.
since both also round toe, and its normal side not the reverse (the rough-out leather or the suede side, somehow a little bit different in feel when wearing, not only the appearance).
but beckman featherstone leather is a little stiff and hard compared to the work boots with white soles range.

kazuki666

am trying very hard to wear my 8165 as often as i can, especially on dress on fridays (and other days when my boss isnt ard) lol

It still does hurt my right foot arc.... :(

Just curious, is moc toe like 8875 the same as well???

Toby88

as a matter of fact, most of us do not have equal feet size. either left or right is bigger while the other slightly smaller.
so its always best to get E or EE, if feet is slightly wider.
imo, moc toe seems wider than round toe. i think its due to the fact that moc toe allows your toes to wiggle up and down more than round toe. cos round toe is dome shaped and moc is more rectangular. then again its really up to individual preference. for me, the trick is when i try them on, i must have some space inside for me to wiggle my toes and shift and feet a little bit (room for expansion, cos our feet expand when warm sweaty or contract when cold and also when walk long distance, feet will get slightly sore and tender as compared to when they are "fresh").
well, gotta admit E or EE not so 'swee' cos fat-fat. D is slim and nice. haha. maybe beauty come with a price to pay.
other than that, gotta depend on the factor of seasoning your boots till its soft and comfy.

kazuki666

as a matter of fact, most of us do not have equal feet size. either left or right is bigger while the other slightly smaller.
so its always best to get E or EE, if feet is slightly wider.
imo, moc toe seems wider than round toe. i think its due to the fact that moc toe allows your toes to wiggle up and down more than round toe. cos round toe is dome shaped and moc is more rectangular. then again its really up to individual preference. for me, the trick is when i try them on, i must have some space inside for me to wiggle my toes and shift and feet a little bit (room for expansion, cos our feet expand when warm sweaty or contract when cold and also when walk long distance, feet will get slightly sore and tender as compared to when they are "fresh").
well, gotta admit E or EE not so 'swee' cos fat-fat. D is slim and nice. haha. maybe beauty come with a price to pay.
other than that, gotta depend on the factor of seasoning your boots till its soft and comfy.

btw, abt this sizing of E, EE or D. Does it apply for all boots???
Say my pair of 8165 can come in UK6 EE and UK6 D ???

actually that time when i was trying out this model, btn UK6 and UK 6.5.
UK6.5 the sides ok, but i find abit too much room for the toes to wriggle.
UK6 the wriggling toes lesser liaoz, but sides more tight, thus my right foot arc always will abit sore after a day of wear.

But technically i understand its not the boots prob, coz my right foot arc is a little protruding de, like the bone a little bit out...

Teaken

btw, abt this sizing of E, EE or D. Does it apply for all boots???
Say my pair of 8165 can come in UK6 EE and UK6 D ???

actually that time when i was trying out this model, btn UK6 and UK 6.5.
UK6.5 the sides ok, but i find abit too much room for the toes to wriggle.
UK6 the wriggling toes lesser liaoz, but sides more tight, thus my right foot arc always will abit sore after a day of wear.

But technically i understand its not the boots prob, coz my right foot arc is a little protruding de, like the bone a little bit out...
It is the width, not known as sizing/length for D, E & EE. It is pretty standard in all shoes, chk out your army PT shoes, you will know that it is in EE so that all type of feet can fit. http://shoes.about.com/od/mens_size_charts/a/men_width.htm

My take is, measure your size in red wing store, they do provide free measurement for pre-order etc. You will know ur length and width, ie, UK6/6.5, D, E or EE.

The reason why you got too much room for your toes to wriggle is too long in length for you. Hence, you shd go for UK6 instead of UK6.5. Instead of getting D width, you shd try E, your feet will feel better after wearing for the whole day.

Always try to ask the shop asst if the shoes come in diff width. This is how you choose your shoes. :D I got wide feet, hence, E shoes always fit well than a D.

Side note, try your shoes during the day when your feet had expand, if you been in cold zone for the day, dont try any shoes, as it your feet tend to contract.

kazuki666

It is the width, not known as sizing/length for D, E & EE. It is pretty standard in all shoes, chk out your army PT shoes, you will know that it is in EE so that all type of feet can fit. http://shoes.about.com/od/mens_size_charts/a/men_width.htm

My take is, measure your size in red wing store, they do provide free measurement for pre-order etc. You will know ur length and width, ie, UK6/6.5, D, E or EE.

The reason why you got too much room for your toes to wriggle is too long in length for you. Hence, you shd go for UK6 instead of UK6.5. Instead of getting D width, you shd try E, your feet will feel better after wearing for the whole day.

Always try to ask the shop asst if the shoes come in diff width. This is how you choose your shoes. :D I got wide feet, hence, E shoes always fit well than a D.

Side note, try your shoes during the day when your feet had expand, if you been in cold zone for the day, dont try any shoes, as it your feet tend to contract.

So meaning by right the pair of boots will come in various width at the same size?
say UK6 D, UK6EE
Is that what u mean???

actually i am already wearing the boots le, just that i am trying to understand more, so that i am slightly more prepared for the next pair in the future. :p
Coz when i got my 8165, the sales in feder sports told me that this width sizing doesnt seem to apply for the 8165 model...

No way to chk my saf boots lor, ord long ago liaoz, though still waiting to finish the 10cycles...
but have to say its damn gd to wear it. It was as painful as my RW, probably coz the saf boots leather is thinner? But hey, its super durable. Up hill down water, go parade square, 1pair all the way. :D

Teaken

So meaning by right the pair of boots will come in various width at the same size?
say UK6 D, UK6EE
Is that what u mean???

actually i am already wearing the boots le, just that i am trying to understand more, so that i am slightly more prepared for the next pair in the future. :p
Coz when i got my 8165, the sales in feder sports told me that this width sizing doesnt seem to apply for the 8165 model...

No way to chk my saf boots lor, ord long ago liaoz, though still waiting to finish the 10cycles...
but have to say its damn gd to wear it. It was as painful as my RW, probably coz the saf boots leather is thinner? But hey, its super durable. Up hill down water, go parade square, 1pair all the way. :D
Yes, same size, diff width, UK6D, UK6E & UK6EE. I had seen Red Wing with D, E & EE. Now hard to find EE. If you can find E, gd enough. Best is try out the shoes when you intend to buy. :D

kazuki666

Yes, same size, diff width, UK6D, UK6E & UK6EE. I had seen Red Wing with D, E & EE. Now hard to find EE. If you can find E, gd enough. Best is try out the shoes when you intend to buy. :D

hmm....

then either the sales at feder is not honest or they have no idea what they saying...
They say different model has different width fixed. :S

Shucks! my 8165 would have been heaven if its slightly wider... :(

Teaken

hmm....

then either the sales at feder is not honest or they have no idea what they saying...
They say different model has different width fixed. :S

Shucks! my 8165 would have been heaven if its slightly wider... :(
I managed to find D & E for 8179 in sg, of cos after a hard time. :s13: Anyway it is down to batches brought to sg by Red Wing SG, U maybe see D or E. I encountered b4 so I know.:)

--Lipsu--

THKS TOBY!!! So in terms of classifying, Beckman seems like more of like Alden, dress boots or dress high cut shoes, where's Iron Range is boots, work wear... am i right?

Scasi, you wanna buy GT?
It will be good if you can find the 100th Centennial Collections of GTs.
Using Horween leathers rather than the normal featherstone. Super valuable.

scasi

still thiinking of between GT or Iron Range.... but very budget, July kena 3plus1 (insurance, road tax and installment) beh tahan.......

--Lipsu--

GT more suitable for you, bro. Can wear for many occasions. But like I said, go for the Horween leather, 190x..series. Your feet will worship you :)

centauri61

GT more suitable for you, bro. Can wear for many occasions. But like I said, go for the Horween leather, 190x..series. Your feet will worship you :)

is 19xx series like limited edition?

saw this pic of a guy from sufu rocking the pair i like!

4733971690_de3301b787.jpg

Toby88

Horween leather~~~ sibei swee! lol! sticking to my featherstone for now. haiz.

anyway, for me, i would always place an insole into my boots. helps to eliminate the problem of too much foot space especially for my EE iron ranger. i would recommend the SAF insole from emart. fits the boots perfectly and its F-O-C (unless u used your emart credits to get gortex boots and a whole load of socks, then gotta wait for another 2 years :s13:)

--Lipsu--

is 19xx series like limited edition?

saw this pic of a guy from sufu rocking the pair i like!

Yes, it is the 100th years Centenial edition, series run with 19xx. Basically, it the same as GT's 90xx series, the main difference is the leather used.

Horween leather~~~ sibei swee! lol! sticking to my featherstone for now. haiz.

anyway, for me, i would always place an insole into my boots. helps to eliminate the problem of too much foot space especially for my EE iron ranger. i would recommend the SAF insole from emart. fits the boots perfectly and its F-O-C (unless u used your emart credits to get gortex boots and a whole load of socks, then gotta wait for another 2 years :s13:)

@Toby, it is really a dream to have both GT and IR. I'm also looking to do the same :) Just that I couldn't find the 19xx GT yet, dunno wanna continue getting IR.

centauri61

Yes, it is the 100th years Centenial edition, series run with 19xx. Basically, it the same as GT's 90xx series, the main difference is the leather used.

@Toby, it is really a dream to have both GT and IR. I'm also looking to do the same :) Just that I couldn't find the 19xx GT yet, dunno wanna continue getting IR.

19xx GT available at a jap site... price is xxx... :eek:

found 1911 on blog!
http://five-secondskin.blogspot.com/2008/10/red-wing-gentleman-traveller-series.html

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.