Red Wing shoe Thread

chiaster

Dear all, I need some advice on boots. Will be in the Czech Republic for 2 weeks at the end of this month. It is winter there. Negative double digits in the mountains. There will be snow and ice. I will spend half the time in the mountains and the other half around urban areas.

I will be visiting Czech every year in winter. I need a pair of boots that can take me from the wilderness to the restaurants.

I had a pair of Timberland boots many years ago when I was in Korea but it has "disintegrated" in storage due to the humidity here in SG.

I was looking at Red Wing, Chippewa and Wolverine boots. My priority would be for an outsole that is most capable of the terrain I will be traversing, followed by overall comfort and lastly a slim silhouette (not chunky).

Looking forward to all advice and recommendation. Thank you. Cheers.

cannotliao

if you going stay outdoor alot get those Danner with thinsulate. they are good for cold climate and is water proof with gore tex.
google and see how much thinsulate you needed. those with thicker thinsulate wont suitable for spore hot climate as it will be very warm.
they are outdoor boot and some for hunting so outdoor should no be problem.
you can check amazon reviews.
made in usa danner are expensive but if you willing to spend the money then go for it.
take note the sizing also, danner cutting are abit narrow if you got wide feet and since cold climate you will need thicker sock so might get a bigger size for more space.
amazon pricing also going up and down if you no in a hurry can monitor and wait for better deal.
there many good winter boots out there too you might want check around. just get those with thicker thinsulate if you really looking a good winter boot but they will be warm hot in weather like spore.

patryn33

Dear all, I need some advice on boots. Will be in the Czech Republic for 2 weeks at the end of this month. It is winter there. Negative double digits in the mountains. There will be snow and ice. I will spend half the time in the mountains and the other half around urban areas.

I will be visiting Czech every year in winter. I need a pair of boots that can take me from the wilderness to the restaurants.

I had a pair of Timberland boots many years ago when I was in Korea but it has "disintegrated" in storage due to the humidity here in SG.

I was looking at Red Wing, Chippewa and Wolverine boots. My priority would be for an outsole that is most capable of the terrain I will be traversing, followed by overall comfort and lastly a slim silhouette (not chunky).

Looking forward to all advice and recommendation. Thank you. Cheers.

u looking for boots that can stand up to the cold in the wilderness but dressy enough for restaurants? or let you wear indoors without feeling crazy hot?

Wolverine 1000 boots is not build not wilderness, more dress boots.
Chippewa boots not tried such boots but the dress boots quality comparable to redwings/wolverine just priced lower.
https://www.chippewaboots.com/footwear/footwear/outdoor/arctic/25492

redwings u must not look at what ppl buy here, cause it will tahan the cold. those irsh settler range all made in china iirc

chiaster

I guess it's either insulated boots that look chunky (I can wear thin socks) or non-insulated ones that look dressy (will have to wear thick wooden socks). However, both must be waterproof and the outsole must be lugged. It's tough to find something that has the best of both worlds. Would anyone happen to know if such a boot exists?

patryn33

I guess it's either insulated boots that look chunky (I can wear thin socks) or non-insulated ones that look dressy (will have to wear thick wooden socks). However, both must be waterproof and the outsole must be lugged. It's tough to find something that has the best of both worlds. Would anyone happen to know if such a boot exists?

If u going to wilderness your nice dress boots will get scratch all over.
Distress leather will look nice and tahan better in the wilderness
Wear thick socks u will feel hot in doors for sure.

You can look at white boots, maybe fit your bill but they not cheap
http://www.whitesboots.com/index.php?dispatch=products.view&product_id=30318
https://www.bakershoe.com/product/bakers-hunter-whites-boots

GANGSTERKIA

Guys I found lots of ants in my red wings, advisable to wash the boots? I dk why like that zzzz

patryn33

Guys I found lots of ants in my red wings, advisable to wash the boots? I dk why like that zzzz

Who knows what went into boots, or what you did to boots. Go investigate lah.. u don't know but some one here know can win toto liao lol

JL3E

Have you considered North Face or Columbia trekking boots? Not as pretty as RW but they are built for cold harsh environments. YMMV 😀

patryn33

Have you considered North Face or Columbia trekking boots? Not as pretty as RW but they are built for cold harsh environments. YMMV 😀

Not dressy enough to be presentable at nice restaurants
He looking for boots that can stand the wild harsh environments but still looks good and wear comfortable indoors at fancy place

neovenezia

Maybe you can consider https://oakstreetbootmakers.com/

I4IYW4SYuZgRTFop0w8dlzwEfOId43F8cLGWblLFnLI

patryn33

Storm welt, water proof but no really wilderness boots
Crafted in Chicago can take snow and cold.. urban jungle.
I have a similar dress boots but I rather wear my cheap timberland winter boots when I am up north. I travel once a month to northern USA, may it be Seattle, New York or Chicago on biz. Snow no dress boots, dress boots not meant to wear daily esp when they get wet in snow.

I would just get 2 boots, throw one in the bag at all times.

ryanchology

hi,

i have 2 pairs of RW and want to know where can i get them resoled for moc toe and iron rangers.

another question, i bought my first two locally so can i get a recommendation on which website to order an authentic rw but at a cheaper price range?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.