Red Wing shoe Thread

FlameTakuya

Any good reccs for an affordable pair of burgundy boots and boat shoes for my tiny yet rather wide (flat foot) feet? (size 40)

I been looking at Sierra trading post for factory seconds, good prices and great shipping, but one thing is cannot physically try the brands that can't find in sg :/

(also a bit traumatized from saf boots, got a new pair of the pernumas and you need to size down by 1, but their smallest is 7, and I'm a 7 :( blisters for whole reservist)

Kaki369

Mates, i wore my iron ranger with leather sole twice only and am thinking of doing a resole into rubber or something that has better traction. Wad wondering if anyone has a good lobang for resole please? Many thanks

patryn33

Mates, i wore my iron ranger with leather sole twice only and am thinking of doing a resole into rubber or something that has better traction. Wad wondering if anyone has a good lobang for resole please? Many thanks

No need to resole they can add a topy

https://www.styleforum.net/threads/adding-a-thin-layer-of-rubber-sole-to-leather-sole.9988/

clokwerk0

Are you sure your iron ranger comes with leather soles?

From what I can see from RW SG website, they’re either nitrile cork or mini vibram soled. You shouldn’t topy either.

Can’t recall of any RW models on purely leather soles. Closest to one are the gro-cord on leather sole models.

Kaki369

Are you sure your iron ranger comes with leather soles?

From what I can see from RW SG website, they’re either nitrile cork or mini vibram soled. You shouldn’t topy either.

Can’t recall of any RW models on purely leather soles. Closest to one are the gro-cord on leather sole models.

My apologies mate, please pardon my ignorance. Was told by the RW staff that's it's leather soles.

Did a check and google with your heads up and yes you were right. My soles are Nitrile Cork man.

So... mate, what do you recommend? I wanna wear my RWs to cold snowy countries without having to worry about slipping.

Thank you once again :)

clokwerk0

My apologies mate, please pardon my ignorance. Was told by the RW staff that's it's leather soles.

Did a check and google with your heads up and yes you were right. My soles are Nitrile Cork man.

So... mate, what do you recommend? I wanna wear my RWs to cold snowy countries without having to worry about slipping.

Thank you once again :)

To ease your worry a little, pack another pair of boots with a lug/commando soles. Even then, lug/commando soled boots still can get slippery in icy conditions.

So the usual precautions still apply.

Anyway, IMO applying topy would not really help much in snowy/icy conditions.

kazuki666

Pardon me. Why not considering the SAF boots for your snowy places you are going? To be very fair, I think my full leather pair is really very good and sturdy leh. Even until now I have just ROD, I am only just wearing the first pair nia. The 2nd issued pair is still brand new.

Kaki369

To ease your worry a little, pack another pair of boots with a lug/commando soles. Even then, lug/commando soled boots still can get slippery in icy conditions.

So the usual precautions still apply.

Anyway, IMO applying topy would not really help much in snowy/icy conditions.

Thanks buddy! I like to travel light thats the thing. Is there any other way out? :(

Which cities? Many places just wet no Ice

Switzerland and finland... walking in both snow and melted snow wet roads, sucks :( especially up and down slopes with big luggages of the missus :/

Pardon me. Why not considering the SAF boots for your snowy places you are going? To be very fair, I think my full leather pair is really very good and sturdy leh. Even until now I have just ROD, I am only just wearing the first pair nia. The 2nd issued pair is still brand new.

Did that consider too but since i have spent a bomb on my RW so might as well maximize using it lor :(

trd2970

I brought it to Seoul during winter many years back... Big regret... eventually just bought a pair of leather sneakers...these boots are NOT made for walking...

Sent from Samsung SM-N950F using GAGT

kazuki666

I brought it to Seoul during winter many years back... Big regret... eventually just bought a pair of leather sneakers...these boots are NOT made for walking...

Sent from Samsung SM-N950F using GAGT
Yours is old leather or gortex. If it's the former I think it's confirm very comfortable de leh. Change the insole for a few dollars at emart, it's ready even for 24km route march le. Just that I find wearing it very mafan to remove when entering places where footwear not allowed.
To be very fair, even my most seasoned pair 8165, after wearing on off for 7 years I also won't say it's super comfy for long distance walking. I gave up on my 8165 and 875 le, wearing 8106 more nowadays because imo it's more versatile...

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

kazuki666

Have always wanted to get a pair of 875 but no budget.. still contemplating whether to get 1 now :s13:

Is this a better deal than to get over here?

https://www.amazon.com/Red-Wing-Her...08513&sr=8-1&keywords=red+wing+875&th=1&psc=1

TIA
First pair I will suggest to get it in the store. Go to OGW look for Han. Those who been there before will know him. :) Listen to the advices and suggestions from them, don't feel paiseh to ask or try. So far my experience is they are very nice ppl even if you are buying, but don't keep going back to test sizes then buy online also lah... :p
Since you considering 875, you may want to consider 8875 too. Honestly if I knew about 8875 before I got 875, I would have went for 8875. Correct me if I am wrong, 8875 is Japan exclusive model thus harder to find outside Japan, not to say it was popularise by Kimutaku himself. 875 is as good, and classic so it's not hard to find when you want.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

clokwerk0

Thanks buddy! I like to travel light thats the thing. Is there any other way out? :(

Once I was out in Tokyo in my Alden Indy (also nitrile cork soled) where it snowed the night before and rained early in the morning, i still felt safe in them.

Just that I was a little more cautious, avoid icy pavements or have something to hold on to if I can’t avoid them. The same caution will still apply even if I had a lug/commando soled pair of boots on.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.