Red Wing shoe Thread

iphone1s

Sorry to cut into Red Wing space here, anyone heard or has/had a pair of Lumberjacks boots before?
They look similar to RW 8138 and tanned leather too? Goodyear welted..I guess.
I mean I'm really into a pair 8138s but the price.. Ohh.
So really appreciate if anyone knows and could give out some feedbacks worth 150s?
The only info I have is that Shoe Clinic did posted a resole on this lumberjacks boots but that was like years ago.

i am also getting the 8"moc cap next month.

by the way, I have called up lumberjack asia and they told me that they now have composite toe cap. :s12:

aakish77

Pulled the trigger

Finally bought it and I'm surprised.
Not bad at all.

IMG_20200311_143328_zpsl1wdzp1s.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

aakish77

I don't think "Lumberjack" and "Lumberjacks" (with an S) are the same company. Their logos are completely different.
I dunno where they're made from, kind of regret didn't ask them beforehand, but damn those stitchings bloody excellent or maybe I'm just lucky to get the best pair.
Damage was 159 incl Tarrago mink oil which I had to buy coz my jackets and gloves have turned into wooden sheets lying at home for ages collecting dusts.

iphone1s

I don't think "Lumberjack" and "Lumberjacks" (with an S) are the same company. Their logos are completely different.
I dunno where they're made from, kind of regret didn't ask them beforehand, but damn those stitchings bloody excellent or maybe I'm just lucky to get the best pair.
Damage was 159 incl Tarrago mink oil which I had to buy coz my jackets and gloves have turned into wooden sheets lying at home for ages collecting dusts.

Finally bought it and I'm surprised.
Not bad at all.

Burh~ you just triggered me. I am so gonna get a pair of lumbers :s13:

Vadher

Where’s the best place now to buy Red Wing shoes?

My classic chukka, which I bought 7 years ago from Shoebuy.com at around S$250 after shipping is finally giving way. The leather uppers is very well-worn but still in good condition, but the rubber sole is coming off. I will be more than happy to replace the sole if there’s anyone in Singapore who can do a decent job without costing a bomb.

kazuki666

Where’s the best place now to buy Red Wing shoes?

My classic chukka, which I bought 7 years ago from Shoebuy.com at around S$250 after shipping is finally giving way. The leather uppers is very well-worn but still in good condition, but the rubber sole is coming off. I will be more than happy to replace the sole if there’s anyone in Singapore who can do a decent job without costing a bomb.

haha I am definitely a supporter to buy from Orchard Gateway directly. Pls don't spoil market go there test size, then go buy online lah. Else how the shop survives lor...

Nono, I am not related to the shop :s22::s13:

melankholy

Support the shop too. The guy manning that place really passionate about Red Wings

iphone1s

okay, my red wings are in the shoe rack for 2 months liao. i scared to open the shoe rack to look at the sole. :s13:

TaoEhh

Sorry to necro the thread, just wanna ask around what's the suggested frequency to apply mink oil on my boots?

My 8111 was bought in 2015 and didn't condition nor wash. Recently, my friend and ever the RW staff (when I sent my 8111 for resoling after climbing Mt. Rainier with it) complained that its very dry.

Friday, I waited for the RW mink oil to come. I brushed off the dust first with shoe brush, use a toothbrush mixed with gentle soap (johnson baby) and cleansed the dirt, wait dry and applied mink oil with my fingers.

So far, since friday, I have applied the 3rd time. I read online that applying too much might damage the leather, while my friend also said that my boots were not oiled nor maintained for very long time and I should apply it everyday for a week.

So given the context, what are yall take on this?

kazuki666

Sorry to necro the thread, just wanna ask around what's the suggested frequency to apply mink oil on my boots?

My 8111 was bought in 2015 and didn't condition nor wash. Recently, my friend and ever the RW staff (when I sent my 8111 for resoling after climbing Mt. Rainier with it) complained that its very dry.

Friday, I waited for the RW mink oil to come. I brushed off the dust first with shoe brush, use a toothbrush mixed with gentle soap (johnson baby) and cleansed the dirt, wait dry and applied mink oil with my fingers.

So far, since friday, I have applied the 3rd time. I read online that applying too much might damage the leather, while my friend also said that my boots were not oiled nor maintained for very long time and I should apply it everyday for a week.

So given the context, what are yall take on this?

I am no expert, so I can only give my 2 cents worth, while waiting for others to share their inputs.

I have a pair of 8165 and 875 which I admit screwing them up because I didn't take much care of them. Whenever feeling dry, I will just brush and smack bata brand mink oil on it. That went on for 5-6 years bah, maybe longer cannot remember exactly le. Then there was a boots washing event organised by RW at OGW which I brought them alone. The staff was astonished they look bad :eek:, the leather is kinda peeling. But they still help to clean it lah. From my understand my two pair of boots is kinda irreversible liao.
Ok, why i so longwinded of my own boots. I am not sure about Johnson baby soap how good or bad are they for boots, so hopefully its not too chemically harsh on the leather. Then drying, I hope you didn't sun it, would have been ideal just air dry which probably take half a day if not more. Then the oiling. Given its advised by the RW staff, so I think should be legit. But personally I feel 3 layers is quite overboard. Imagine our skin as leather, applying oil on our skin 3 times, you going to clog the pores which is big nono for skin (leather).

TaoEhh

I am no expert, so I can only give my 2 cents worth, while waiting for others to share their inputs.

I have a pair of 8165 and 875 which I admit screwing them up because I didn't take much care of them. Whenever feeling dry, I will just brush and smack bata brand mink oil on it. That went on for 5-6 years bah, maybe longer cannot remember exactly le. Then there was a boots washing event organised by RW at OGW which I brought them alone. The staff was astonished they look bad :eek:, the leather is kinda peeling. But they still help to clean it lah. From my understand my two pair of boots is kinda irreversible liao.
Ok, why i so longwinded of my own boots. I am not sure about Johnson baby soap how good or bad are they for boots, so hopefully its not too chemically harsh on the leather. Then drying, I hope you didn't sun it, would have been ideal just air dry which probably take half a day if not more. Then the oiling. Given its advised by the RW staff, so I think should be legit. But personally I feel 3 layers is quite overboard. Imagine our skin as leather, applying oil on our skin 3 times, you going to clog the pores which is big nono for skin (leather).

yea, that's what i feel too. Therefore, I thinking to stop at 3rd layer. I don't sun dry my boots and I don't expose them to direct light as much. Once I'm wearing, I put inside drawer. After applying mink oil, i let it air dry without direct sunlight.

I'm thinking of buying saddle soap, but I was thinking if its just a marketing gimmick to make u buy their products when a gentle soap will do.

TaoEhh

I also read online RW boots oil its just mink oil + darkening effect for color.

Anyway, anyone has lobang for socks? Like boot socks to protect my toes from abrasion.

kazuki666

I can't really remember, it was around SGD 140-185 for Vibram resole. They send it to US for resoling, then send back. Took them around 3-4 months.
Oh, RW now sends back to US to resole de? I remember there was a period they outsourced to shukey?
How was the workmanship?

Sent from Xiaomi POCOPHONE F1 using GAGT

TaoEhh

Oh, RW now sends back to US to resole de? I remember there was a period they outsourced to shukey?
How was the workmanship?

Sent from Xiaomi POCOPHONE F1 using GAGT

Its OK ok though, but there's some remnants of the glue and the Cork not really shaven off properly at one part. I just think that, if you get your boots from RW you should get fixed by them also.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.