Red Wing shoe Thread

goat1991

wanna ask ar.. if red wing kanna in light rain, do i need to reapply mink oil or do anything?

kazuki666

wanna ask ar.. if red wing kanna in light rain, do i need to reapply mink oil or do anything?

dunno the expertise ans. But for me i will just wipe dry, let it air properly.

My 8165 been thru alot rain with me the last mth, but it was perfectly dry inside, just some wet on the outside.

goat1991

caught in a light rain... but was dry when i reach back home...

before my rw kanna rain... i can clearly feel tht the leather is a bit sticky ( i think it is becoz of the mink oil)

but after ytd's light rain... the rw like not sticky anymore...

so i dunneo whether nid to apply mink oil or juz dun care...

goat1991

Photos from MO #1,

IMG_0254.jpg

IMG_0252.jpg

IMG_0248.jpg

IMG_0246.jpg

how come the laces for the black RW is not all black? first time seeing such laces

and

the red wing logo like different from mine tht is bought from queensway :eek:
edit: my logo look like this
8130zoom3.jpg

james71882

The triple stitches of the shoes like three different stitches,not uniform. and the logo font also different. Conclusion: Suspect the shoes in the photos are fake RW.

kazuki666

caught in a light rain... but was dry when i reach back home...

before my rw kanna rain... i can clearly feel tht the leather is a bit sticky ( i think it is becoz of the mink oil)

but after ytd's light rain... the rw like not sticky anymore...

so i dunneo whether nid to apply mink oil or juz dun care...

i was still thinking how to remove the stickiness for my 875 lor LOL
maybe rain will be a gd remedy :p

Abt the above pics, i noted this one
IMG_0254.jpg

chinese leather protection product?
sorry, i am not racist. I am a sg chinese myself, and a big fan of chinese literature. But when it comes to quality, i find it hard to trust them sometimes

RW with chinese supplements? taobao?
is this MO from the hwz MO de???
I think many ppl whack with them right? Believing that its factory rejects

I am so loving my 8165 again coz back to office after the long wkend :)
Can any guru explain if the leather used for 8165 and 875 the same? Somehow i find 875 much tougher and the mink oil is like sticky on it... :(
TIA

goat1991

Received my red wing shoes on 24 dec
Here are some photos

RedWingShoe1.jpg

RedWingShoe2.jpg

RedWingShoe3.jpg
here is the box pic...

yes it is from the hwz MO...
lucky never get from him... I still though he will be giving RW's leather protection product :(

The moc toc is come in "D"/narrow.. but i asked the suntec RW uncle to let me try the D size, he said RW do not produce D size for moc toc...
So i PM the person doing this MO, he said it is older version of the 875 hence do not have E, only D...

EDIT: If can prove him fake.. he said he will be refunding 200% back... :D :D :D

I_Hate_Veggie

here is the box pic...

lucky never get from him... I still though he will be giving RW's leather protection product :(

The moc toc is come in "D"/narrow.. but i asked the suntec RW uncle to let me try the D size, he said RW do not produce D size for moc toc...
So i PM the person doing this MO, he said it is older version of the 875 hence do not have E, only D...

EDIT: If can prove him fake.. he said he will be refunding 200% back... :D :D :D

If you noticed, how come the leather tone/shade for this pair like very light. And the area between leather and base should be same colour as the leather instead of another colour as shown in the picture, looks like reddish reddish one.

And i also all along thought 875 came in E only...:s22:

kazuki666

Received my red wing shoes on 24 dec
Here are some photos

RedWingShoe1.jpg

RedWingShoe2.jpg

RedWingShoe3.jpg

here is the box pic...

hmm...

its like photo hunt game :p

1) Those of u whom bought 875 or moctoe RW boots from authorised dealers locally. Do u have that white cardboard inside your boots to support it de?

abt the width i am not too sure, coz i asked for 5.5E straight away. Didnt ask if there is D though...

cant rem how my 875 box looks like, will post pics of it tonight

goat1991

irrc.. u also buy from queensway rite? queensway box not white de :( but inside got some words

but if take apple and compare apple... the both white box doesnt look the same to me...

You notice tht our RWs hor is use wood insole.. hence can clearly see the "wood" colour between the leather and white soles..

but in the pic... u see the colour is a bit red rather than the "wood" colour...

875_11.jpg

EDIT: Spot the boots eyelets :( 1 is black 1 is white... WTF?

kazuki666

irrc.. u also buy from queensway rite? queensway box not white de :( but inside got some words

but if take apple and compare apple... the both white box doesnt look the same to me...

You notice tht our RWs hor is use wood insole.. hence can clearly see the "wood" colour between the leather and white soles..

but in the pic... u see the colour is a bit red rather than the "wood" colour...

875_11.jpg

EDIT: Spot the boots eyelets :( 1 is black 1 is white... WTF?

i bought from hk de.

ok, it seems that the eyelets is a give away
from RW tw website, it seems like darker colored eyelets too...
http://www.redwing.tw/new.html

my pair from hk also
img0461n.jpg

phew.... :)

But then, i notice models like 8138 and 8131 eyelets also silver de wor. My 8165 also silver...
so how to tell???

goat1991

I think the best way to tell is the quality of the leather loh... and i think the wood insole..

if fake... the quality same as RWs i also dun mind hahaaa..

and ur red wing logo same as mine... if u see the MO RW the logo on the side is different 1 :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.