Red Wing shoe Thread

voltshin

never got a chance to wear till today.

IMG_0677.jpg

nicolnicolnicol

can someone school me on the difference of 8131, 8173 and 875? cos they look the same to me

They all belong to the same classic design group - the moc toe.

The difference between the numbering of the shoes is just to show the different color/materials used to build the shoe up.

8131 = oro russet portage leather
8173 = hawethorne suede
875 = oro leather

blackicon

They all belong to the same classic design group - the moc toe.

The difference between the numbering of the shoes is just to show the different color/materials used to build the shoe up.

8131 = oro russet portage leather
8173 = hawethorne suede
875 = oro leather

Thanks for the info.

ambivalence

Hey,
just checkin when you guys bought your redwing the toebox and the heel left some space?
thanks

anotherraybanfan

Hey,
just checkin when you guys bought your redwing the toebox and the heel left some space?
thanks

A few factors will determine the amount of allowance 1) sock thickness, most RW shoes are not lined the exposed suede can destroy thinner socks esp during breaking in period. 2) amount of slippage (should be less than an inch when walking as told by local RW store) provided u lace all the way up. Normal practise to buy half size down from your regular. Width wise size D and E makes quite a difference too. I got a 8EE recently from US red wing HQ from a friend. I thought moving up from 8E to 8EE can spare myself pain on the last toe from previous breaking in experiences. Wrong move, EE is a different animal. No pain when fitting in but my red wing feels like Air walk now ... lol

blackicon

went down to RW at suntec ytd to find out my size. The SA measured my feet and gave me 8D for the moc toe series, though mentioning my fit is abit broad. Upon trying, I feel abit tight at the sides. Is it common? or getting a size E will be better? Cos he mentioned that as long that is not the toe part that is tight it is ok.

[Mubiq]

Just to check is all the soles of red wings are replaceable at shukeys at far east? Is shukey sole replacement original red wing stuff or is some third party brand?

I am keen to get one red wing brand of shoes to wear with jeans and office working pants. which model is suitale?

d3n

Just to check is all the soles of red wings are replaceable at shukeys at far east? Is shukey sole replacement original red wing stuff or is some third party brand?

I am keen to get one red wing brand of shoes to wear with jeans and office working pants. which model is suitale?

go for beckman 9016 cigar featherstone.

Tooi Kono Machi De

Die la...My 1month + old de 8146 kinda "split at the seams" on the top of the boot.Well split is kinda exagerating but yeah u get the general idea.The top part in front of the boot got several areas peel off slightly at the sides...So what I wanna know is if this will inevitably happen after the boots have been worn for a long time?Cos I'm considering sending the boots to shuckey's to rectify the problem if it doesn't cost too much.Sadded sia...Must be squat too much liao >.<

fishcake2005

Die la...My 1month + old de 8146 kinda "split at the seams" on the top of the boot.Well split is kinda exagerating but yeah u get the general idea.The top part in front of the boot got several areas peel off slightly at the sides...So what I wanna know is if this will inevitably happen after the boots have been worn for a long time?Cos I'm considering sending the boots to shuckey's to rectify the problem if it doesn't cost too much.Sadded sia...Must be squat too much liao >.<

This is norm lah for moc toes.

d3n

14wdkdf.jpg

quick question... i notice my shoe (see the blue circle area) got this part, which also cause me to try wear this shoe for 10-15 mins (initially it took me 20 mins to wear my shoes...) cos my feet always jam at that area... need to pull very hard to allow my feet goes into the sole area.

any tips? (now I know why doc marten got that handle thing...) or this will improve once my shoe is more seasoned?

Beta_Tester

for my 875.. i loosen my lace until quite lose and it fots quite easily.. but taking out sometimes jammed. i actually tightened quite strongly..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.