Red Wing shoe Thread

Dynosaur

i just resoled at shukey, don't think its that bad but they actually stitched through the soles. im fine with that. but if you are generally looking at goodyear stitching resoles, i guess singapore don't really have any cobblers doing it, the majority prefer to buy a new pair and throw away instead of resole.

Hi bro, thanks for the reply. If not much of a trouble, could you post some pics of the resole? And mind sharing the dmg? Thanks again.

kazuki666

By that's your lots of time in Japan is 2 weeks or 90 days?

I read from a local sg person who knows his way in jp. I think it was done in ard 3 weeks time with prior reservation. But problem for most of us is that how many usually will stay in jp that long if you are there only for holidays?

DARTHNERD

Here are my red wings shoes...

P0QBoLR.jpg

I need to learn how to maintain them.. i think i need to go to the red wing store to learn from the pros..

xtwis7

I abused my pair and the leather is quite cui after like 4 years. The leather got those spots don't know if put mink oil can smooth out. To me, if it's clean it ain't wearing. The whole purpose of these boots was to thrash them hard.

patryn33

I read from a local sg person who knows his way in jp. I think it was done in ard 3 weeks time with prior reservation. But problem for most of us is that how many usually will stay in jp that long if you are there only for holidays?

So true, time to get a job there or find a jap spouse with in laws there.

I wonder how much it cost for redwing usa to do it. back in 2012 its like usd$95 includes shipping in USA
http://www.acontinuouslean.com/2012/01/25/better-than-new-re-crafting-the-red-wing-1905/

patryn33

Hi bro, thanks for the reply. If not much of a trouble, could you post some pics of the resole? And mind sharing the dmg? Thanks again.

See below maybe useful. Iirc it's sgd$130
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/fashion-grooming-235/red-wing-shoe-thread-2525744-334.html

Jeremy1

P0QBoLR.jpg

I need to learn how to maintain them.. i think i need to go to the red wing store to learn from the pros..

Need to maintain one meh, I thought just need to once a while apply Mink Oil to it can already........................:s12:

Jeremy1

Now thinking back, maybe 8 years ago I got my pair of Red Wing in Fu Lu Shou Complex was fake one.................................:s8:

DARTHNERD

Need to maintain one meh, I thought just need to once a while apply Mink Oil to it can already........................:s12:

for 9111, the left boots requires leather protection spray.. this is what the guy at the redwing boot store told me.. and i confirmed with another redistributor.

for the other two.. might need mink oil.. i need to ask them for tips..

kazuki666

So true, time to get a job there or find a jap spouse with in laws there.

I wonder how much it cost for redwing usa to do it. back in 2012 its like usd$95 includes shipping in USA
Better Than New | Re-crafting the Red Wing 1905 | A Continuous Lean.

I think there are such services in tw too, seen in on a facebook before too. Such work is really a lot about workmanship craft which takes a lot of skills, experiences and the right equipment. Sadly, do we really have such ppl in sg??? :(

P0QBoLR.jpg

Your 875 is new de? It looks very raw and clean sia. moc-toe clean mint looks weird lor, imo :p

patryn33

I think there are such services in tw too, seen in on a facebook before too. Such work is really a lot about workmanship craft which takes a lot of skills, experiences and the right equipment. Sadly, do we really have such ppl in sg??? :(

Nothing in vietnum? Ed et al is done there.

Lucky for me I have lots of options if I need to resole.

DARTHNERD

Your 875 is new de? It looks very raw and clean sia. moc-toe clean mint looks weird lor, imo :p

Yes, my 875 is new and I haven't wore it.. now i am breaking my 1907... in fact I bought the two of them at the same time.:s13:

--Lipsu--

Hi guys,

tmr at Bali Lane, we will be closing the road for Nostalgia Lane Carnival 2014 where Red Wing is one of the participant.
Big discount like as low as SGD 200.00 for Red Wing Shoes.

Red Wing booth will be up by 4pm.
It is a public event, so swing by.

meschan

I had them stitch my boots, and added a half slip vibram rubber soles onto it.

As you might have known, they stitched through the soles of the boots. Notice the black stitching around the insoles and on the insoles. I paid $25 for the stitching, $20 for the half slips. Total $45.

To me, as long as the pair of boots still work, I don't mind if they stitch through the soles, nothing much I can ask for since I'm only paying $45 dollars for the job done. Although some might disagree since it was built with goodyear welt, this resole defeats the purpose of it. I don't think in Singapore you can find anyone doing goodyear stitching and I will not want to pay over $200 to have my boots shipped and resole overseas thus the decision. Hope it helps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.