Reddit's Log

Reddit

i realised as time goes by..u will slowly forget about your kfc etc. and actually feel guilty after you consumed them..at least this is what i feel myself. im not eating super clean though..but much cleaner than in the past.

anw, im hitting my 3rd month anniversary of working out! excluding 2months of going to the gym n doing nonsense haha. i started out as a skinny fat, is still a skinny fat now but gt abit more muscles,not much of manboobs now, slightly smaller tummy now hehe. so jiayou!!

I hate moobs with a vengeance, and I have two large and wobbly ones. Sian man.

Jiayou bro!

Reddit

update time!

today was biceps and quads. good workout. the weights at clubfit are quite limited, so i have to exhaust myself on the curl machine first before using the dumb bells. same old exercises. it gets repetitive after a while, and a little boring, but no choice. i have a guilty admission to make: i like to imagine my biceps to be mountains when lifting heavy weights because somehow i feel like i can do more!

i did leg extensions again. they do make my quads burn while doing the actual exercise, but usually there isnt any after effects. i usually console myself by thinking that at least my legs arent shrinking.

swimming is same old same old. 12 laps in about 20 min. the pool was surprisingly crowded today. not sure why since its usually deserted.

diet is unfortunately ruined :( my students gave me chocolates, and i could not resisting ripping open one and devouring it. guilty pleasure man. lunch was chicken boobs and veggies, and dinner as always was juice.

after thinking for a long time last night, i decided to put my pictures here - minus the face! i think that will help create a greater sense of accountability, and force me to do even better.

can some kind bros help me post the two pics? i cant do it due to insufficient post counts.

please dont criticise my body too much hor. i already know its super chui, but im going to improve myself! i took these two pics after showering last night. one is completely relaxed, and the other is flexing nuts already

wait! i CAN upload pics! yay!

Reddit

you have been training for some time alr? like not that cui leh haha.

keep it up!

thanks for your kind words bro, but i think the pics make me look nicer than i really appear. my love handles and tummy are enormous, and very wobbly.

i have been exercising for a little over 6 months. i think maybe its because i used to work out when i was younger, so its easier for me to develop muscles again. cutting down on fats is the hard part.

XanderBuilt

You've got good potential. Best is to take your enthusiasm and match it with direction from a good coach. Theres so much more you can do when your back is better.

Training wise I think you could consider programs like 3 day full body, 4 day upper/ lower split or 2 days on 1 day off push/pull/legs split or chest/back, legs, arms split. I think a 5 way split is not needed for now, you'd be better off with a rest day or just swimming on off days.

Reddit

You've got good potential. Best is to take your enthusiasm and match it with direction from a good coach. Theres so much more you can do when your back is better.

Training wise I think you could consider programs like 3 day full body, 4 day upper/ lower split or 2 days on 1 day off push/pull/legs split or chest/back, legs, arms split. I think a 5 way split is not needed for now, you'd be better off with a rest day or just swimming on off days.

thanks again for your tips bro! i dont think i will be getting a coach despite your advice :(. money is really tight for me now with the baby and all. plus im going to a physiotherapist regularly, and he helps me quite a lot. most importantly, i know who i am. im just another fat dude trying to lose weight! haha

i did try to do a few similar muscle groups a day. unfortunately, i found out that i merely feel pumped, and none of the muscles ache. i think its likely that i dont have the stamina to continuously work more than 2 groups per session.

Reddit

damn ! while im climbing hard to 100kgs, TS is easily 110kgs and again......DAMN !

eh...dont tease me leh:s13: im super overweight. my waist is 40 over inches. that really puts me in the danger zone. thats why im motivated to lose weight. i want to be around for a long time for my kid!

crandfs

Wah, you dun look like you're over 100kg at all. Nice shoulders when flexed btw :)

DrSheldonCooper

wa when i saw ur post i thought u were just blubber. looking quite good actually!

would be nice to see what u can achieve after fixing your back.

here's a small suggestion. maybe u can stop ur physio for a while. and just continue doing what he/she has been doing for u weekly by yourself, and use the money to visit jon/aldrin for an assessment at least. as strength/sports training coaches they might have a different approach to your injury as your physio which might be beneficial for you.

back is very important, try not to scrimp on it!

Beastosterone

eh...dont tease me leh:s13: im super overweight. my waist is 40 over inches. that really puts me in the danger zone. thats why im motivated to lose weight. i want to be around for a long time for my kid!

If I were u, i will run, swim, skip more often

Bear943

@ Reddit welcome to the 110kgs club. Good job in deciding to change and taking action to bring about the change. To echo what Xander and a few others had said, get your back fixed because even deadlifting the bar could screw up your back big time and exacerbate your current condition. Deadlifting is not exactly the friendliest exercise for your lower back. oh and those are some b1tchin biceps

crandfs

I would suggest more HIIT swimming and compound+isolation combo supersets in gym, plus cut carbs drastically and calories not so drastically. And take Omega 3, BCAA, and a multivitamin. And also Gotu Kola will supposedly tighten loose skin.

Running and skipping at your weight may risk knee or foot problems. I got one 80kg friend who basically decided to do what you are planning, become a lean mean fighting machine, so he started doing a lot of running, few weeks later had to see specialist for knee surgery. Few months later, his right knee still wobbles when he walks... :eek:

XanderBuilt

thanks again for your tips bro! i dont think i will be getting a coach despite your advice :(. money is really tight for me now with the baby and all. plus im going to a physiotherapist regularly, and he helps me quite a lot. most importantly, i know who i am. im just another fat dude trying to lose weight! haha

i did try to do a few similar muscle groups a day. unfortunately, i found out that i merely feel pumped, and none of the muscles ache. i think its likely that i dont have the stamina to continuously work more than 2 groups per session.

Precisely. Upper/Lower and 3 way splits like Push/Pull/Legs or Chest/Back, Legs, Arms work two muscles at the most and some light isolation work.

So Upper/Lower is typically upper with chest, back, triceps and biceps (say) and lower is quads, hammies, calves. Done.

Push is chest, triceps, shoulders, sometimes calves.
Pull is back, biceps, lower back.
Legs is always quads, hammies, calves.

Chest/Back, Legs, Arms is self explanatory and you'd do shoulders on arm day.

Splits are favoured by body builders but it doesn't mean you can't get strong on it. You're trying to increase weight every session or the number of reps and your capacity to work increases.

Reverse pyramid training is a good scheme for cutting. Basically you're watching your diet, reducing your calorie intact, keeping your protein and fat levels healthy and your training is keeping your muscle mass. You'll look quite amazing leaned out.

Good advice from Crandfs.

Reddit

quick update today! later im going out to paktor with my wife. how i treasure these moments now...

today i worked on my shoulders first. i realise i didnt post my shoulders workout for you guys to critique yet.

first up is usually smith machine ohp, depending on whether its available. that machine's popularity is amazing. people sometimes camp there, doing all kinds of exercises. usually i start with 40kg 15 reps x 2, 80kg 8 reps x 2 and 100kg 6 reps x 1. then i move on to ohp at the power rack. some warm up sets and then 40kg 6 reps x 1. next is alt lateral raises with dumb bells, and then alt front raises with dumb bells. then im done with shoulders.

abs is quite simple for me. today i did leg raises with a 20kg dumb bell - which i seriously doubt is 20kg.

i dont swim on Wednesdays, so no cardio for me today other than the cycling.

lunch today is the same - salmon and veggies. dinner was better. my wife made steak! yumyum.

thats pretty much it for todays update. i will post my weight every monday. 99.9kg or bust!!!

Reddit

wa when i saw ur post i thought u were just blubber. looking quite good actually!

would be nice to see what u can achieve after fixing your back.

here's a small suggestion. maybe u can stop ur physio for a while. and just continue doing what he/she has been doing for u weekly by yourself, and use the money to visit jon/aldrin for an assessment at least. as strength/sports training coaches they might have a different approach to your injury as your physio which might be beneficial for you.

back is very important, try not to scrimp on it!

i think youre right man. i will discuss with my wife again. right now my exercise routine is super cheap. off peak at clubfit is only $40 for 6 months, and swimming is only a dollar. cycling is free!

Reddit

If I were u, i will run, swim, skip more often

i was just thinking of increasing the number of laps i swim. i seem to be stuck at a plateau. unfortunately i cant run or jump, since my back is super chui. but i definitely get your point about more cardio :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.