Reddit's Log

kakashixx

make it a point to keep your shoulders back n chest out, prevent you from hurting your shoulders bro!

justjim

Reddit here is my buddy since army daze, I mean days. He's always been encouraging and motivating to me, we used to go all the way to clementi to train after camp even though we stayed quite far away. That was 13 years ago, how time flies!

Anyway, his arms really v power one, the pix dont lie! Now "just" need to get rid of the tummy and will become super hunky liao! You can do it dude! And I will persevere with my own training too!! Isn't that why we train? To be the best that we can aspire to be!

-Jim

Reddit

update again!

i had a good workout. lots of sets at the curl machine, hammer curls and incline curls (?). a few sets of ****y squats with an empty bar as always and some extra sets of leg lifts because i suddenly felt the urge to stretch my back.

i read on another thread about developing traps, and i saw a post by rockstarz about doing alt shrugs. its a great idea! i cant lift heavy stuff, so alt shrugs effectively solves this problem for me. i asked the gym instructor if i can bring a bicycle chain when i work out my shoulders, and he said it shouldnt be a problem. cant wait to try it out next week! my traps are the size of ping pong balls. theyre embarrassing.

i didnt swim today :( i had a lot of work that i need to do, and i cycled straight home after gym. im disappointed in myself to say the least. should have left home that much earlier.

same old diet as always. pan fried chicken breasts with veggies, a bit of soup and lots of seaweed. juice for dinner again. a handful of nuts for snacks.

i actually found some time during work today to order some frozen food from sskim. pollock fillet, shrimps, chicken breasts, salmon, diced vegetables, some beef ribs for the weekend, diced beef cubes and pork for soup, etc. i wanted to order some dory fillet originally, but i saw another thread yesterday and decided not to as there seems to be some health concerns. the order easily amounted to $80, so theres free delivery! hopefully, they taste decent. i will do a quick review when i eat them.

i didnt manage to call aldrin today. kept reminding myself but i completely forgot in the end.

hey! this forum censored the word ****y! i didnt know it does that!

Reddit

make it a point to keep your shoulders back n chest out, prevent you from hurting your shoulders bro!

thanks for your reminder bro. i know i should:( but my elbows flare out once i go above 80, and then shoulders will ache. i think i shall skip this exercise for a month and see if it affects me negatively.

Reddit

Reddit here is my buddy since army daze, I mean days. He's always been encouraging and motivating to me, we used to go all the way to clementi to train after camp even though we stayed quite far away. That was 13 years ago, how time flies!

Anyway, his arms really v power one, the pix dont lie! Now "just" need to get rid of the tummy and will become super hunky liao! You can do it dude! And I will persevere with my own training too!! Isn't that why we train? To be the best that we can aspire to be!

-Jim

haha jims! i feel a little touched that you would register an account just to comment on my thread. its been a long ride, and we ish getting older by the day man. now or never!!!

justjim

haha jims! i feel a little touched that you would register an account just to comment on my thread. its been a long ride, and we ish getting older by the day man. now or never!!!
Erm actually I realised I had an account created last year when I was looking for smbody to go Japan with me lah, haha...Just that I never logged in after that..Remember to call Aldrin tomorrow! Eh, now that I'm working again already, I really understand how precious time is, so must treasure your free time man..YOU CAN DO IT!!

cowed77

Yes, I mix xtend with some cheap bcaa someone was selling online la.

But otherwise bulk bcaa I think price diff not tt much diff from xtend leh. Ur 50 bucks bcaa is how big?

XanderBuilt

update time!

today was a pretty good day. it started awesomely when i realised i lost a little over a kg over the past week. i dont know if its merely water loss or if it was just because i cut my toenails. im taking it at face value and be even more encouraged! rawr!

i tried the bcaa which i order from nutritionpark before i exercised. it was foul, bitter and altogether noisome. since it was my first time trying this horrifying concoction, i almost spat the entire mouthful, but after a brief battle as i considered the cost ($50) and the taste (nasty and brutish), i down the entire cup. hooray for my wallet!

i workout my chest. same weights and exercises as usual. i even completed the dips which i skipped last week. i was very energetic throughout, although im not sure if it can be attributed to a rare good night's rest, the bcaa, or the realisation that i lost 1 kg. im seriously thinking of skipping flat bench. i cant go heavier since my form is bad and my shoulders hurt, and the current weight that i can lift is not doing anything for me. i keep doing it more out of guilt and the idea that i must improve my form. need to think more about this.

swimming as always was quite enjoyable. 12 laps and nothing fanciful this time.

i ate a salmon steak in the afternoon with veggies, and dinner was juice.

i took these pictures half an hour ago before i showered.
relaxed

flexing

i really hope after six months i can do a before and after comparison and not feel embarrassed.

- 23 weeks = 108.6kg!

Looking good man. You're going to look beastly in weeks to come.

Work on increasing your sources of protein from real food.

Get a decent fish oil product.

Don't worry "too" much on the weight fluctuations - basically do the right things and your weight and body composition will take care of itself.

Reddit

time for update!

i didnt update last night as i was too busy with work. from now on, i will do a quick 5 minutes update even if im busy.

today i did some back work. pretty good workout. now i include back extensions as well. just 3 sets of 10, performed very slowly and with strict form. my lower back really is getting stronger, and thats something in which i find great comfort. after which i finished with a set of slow leg raises, trying to use my knees to touch my chin.

swimming was a very relaxed affair. i find that it helps me recuperate at a faster rate. whenever i skip swimming, i find myself feeling stiffer and experiencing more muscle ache. maybe its just imaginary. still, it has become an indispensable part of my exercise routine.

lunch was tasty salmon steak, a little burnt but nonetheless tasty. i should take pictures of my meals for a week and post them here!

i called aldrin. he is a very affable individual, and based on what we talked on the phone, certainly very knowledgeable. unfortunately, after discussing with my wife, i decided to continue working on my core on my own and continue visiting my physiotherapist. once my finances are better (sometime in june when business picks up), i will consult aldrin again.

Reddit

Yes, I mix xtend with some cheap bcaa someone was selling online la.

But otherwise bulk bcaa I think price diff not tt much diff from xtend leh. Ur 50 bucks bcaa is how big?

i just logged in and saw your reply. the one i ordered from nutrition park is this

BCAA_Optimum Nutrition_ BCAA 5000 Powder (336g)

i tried mixing it with chocolate whey, and it turned out surprisingly tasty. sort of like bitter chocolate :s13: once i finish this tub i will get the pills. i cant stomach bcaa on its own. really repulsive.

Reddit

Looking good man. You're going to look beastly in weeks to come.

Work on increasing your sources of protein from real food.

Get a decent fish oil product.

Don't worry "too" much on the weight fluctuations - basically do the right things and your weight and body composition will take care of itself.

thanks for your encouragement! although my main aim is not to look really good, that would be an incredibly persuasive factor!:s13: i need to lose weight and be healthier, and most importantly, develop a strong back so i can play with my kid.

i think im almost at my limit for protein from food, since lunch is already very filling and i dont have time for a meal in the evening. maybe i can munch on some eggs right after classes. i think i will try that tomorrow night! if im fast i can still make it within the 8 hr time frame

cowed77

If each pill is 1-2g, how the hell are u gonna stomach downing >10 pills lol.

I suggest xtend.

Reddit

If each pill is 1-2g, how the hell are u gonna stomach downing >10 pills lol.

I suggest xtend.

oh yeah...i didnt think of that. hehe i never tried downing so many pills before. drink water also drink till full. xtend sounds more reasonable.

Reddit

todays workout was good. the gym was very crowded, so instead of my usual triceps pull down, i did close grip bench press as the station was free. i was pleasantly surprised to find out since im still fresh i can hit 100kg 6 reps with no pain in my shoulders, but i needed some nudging for the last two. no wrist pain as well. i think i shall start with this the next time. next was standing triceps extension, then pull down, and then finished with just 2 sets of slow dips. i remember my hands were shaking by then. moved on to the hamstring station, but i was too exhausted to do any significant work.

for some reason, my appetite was poor throughout the entire day. i didnt finish my veggies, and i struggled to finish the breast meat. also didnt finish my juice just now. i did eat some nuts, so thats good.

in the afternoon, sskim delivered the foods i ordered! the total was $79, since the salmon fillet was slightly smaller than expected. still free delivery.

looks ok to me. i will try it soon enough and report the taste back here! the food is definitely cheaper than buying in supermarkets or wet market.

cowed77

Actually u shud really do just tt, ie the benchin before the triceps...

Reddit

Actually u shud really do just tt, ie the benchin before the triceps...

yeah, xander also suggested the same thing! im going to try that for a week eventually, although im not confident. as far as i know, i can squeeze 20 maybe 25 good sets before im too tired to do anything. if i split them up between chest and triceps, then i only feel pumped and neither group aches the next day. right now i have to dedicate all sets to one group and work it until exhaustion in order to see any growth.

i hope my stamina has improved so that i can either lift heavier for all sets, or complete more sets. i have to try it out for a week and see how it turns out.

cowed77

20 sets?!
I do 5-7 sets, and only 3 bigger sets, and I call it a day. Lol.

Reddit

Wah! That means your workout is actually quite fast! Does it work well for you?

cowed77

My sessions... Usually abt 1.5 hours I suppose. I take half an hour to warmup... Den write in my logbook my planned session for the day.

Works decently enough I suppose. Haha!

Reddit

That sounds very organized:) I just read your thread. Since you play basketball I'm sure working out is a method to improve your game. Mine is to lose weight and develop a strong back and yours is probably jump higher and run faster. I envy u man

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.