Reddit's Log

gkhchay

Thanks Chay I will look into that. Biotest has/had a similar product - T NATION | Rhodiola - Most Potent Adaptogen 15% Rosavins

I'm okay with Caff but I agree take too late and it's jitters till late night.

I take other nootropics like Aniracetam and Sulbutiamine in the mornings. Sharp as an arrow.

Yup that's the scientific name alright, rhodiola...

This is the free sample that I got fr iHerb:

Swedish Herbal Institute, Original Arctic Root, SHR-5, 6 Capsules - iHerb.com

Gonna place it in my next order fr iHerb.

cowed77

Xander u are taking next level ish haha.

Face pulls huh... Nv tried before a direct pulling movement for my shoulders. Has it worked for u?

Will probably incorporate it in my 'bodybuilding' routine of curls at the tailend of my upper workouts hahaha.

XanderBuilt

Reddit

I didn't exercise today. Instead I went out with my wife and kid as he was due for vaccination. I took a hilarious video of him bellowing in pain and crying after the doctor injected him. My wife was not happy with my reaction and glared at me for a long time. Baby stopped crying after half a minute though. He tough and he gruff.

I shared 6 inch sub with my wife at the hospital, then went home and ate my fabulous salmon and veggie plate, drank my juice in the evening and now I'm in my comfy bed updating on my hp. Tomorrow morning I'm going to workout in lieu before going to work.

Reddit

not childish mind, its called digging into urself and pushing thru.
good job man.

Thanks bro!:) I was also making a joke about how easily my mind gets tricked. It really felt like there were two halves. One side kept saying go home go home, and the other kept saying just a bit more just a little more.

Reddit

Every day with your baby is special. On mornings when he/she is awake I call those days "magical". I'm usually late to work on the days she's awake in the morning :)

You may want to consider some caffeine in the morning - I take 200mg (1 tablet) every morning and sleep quite well. I'm not a regular coffee drinker.

"How you feel is a lie" - John Broz

Bro, I like your term magical morning. Feels like Disneyland! I'm going to give these mornings the same name too. Magical!

I'm definitely going to try face pulls next thur. I googled it just now and it looks really interesting.

gkhchay

Face pulls are v good for shoulder health: retracts & stabilizes the scapulae. It needs to be done v strictly.

Bear943

Face pulls are v good for shoulder health: retracts & stabilizes the scapulae. It needs to be done v strictly.

Agree as usual with Uncle Chay - it is not a power movement. Focus on contracting the muscles in between the the shoulder blades mid and lower trap I think. Keeps the shoulders healthy

Reddit

Alright!!! Todays a great day! It's my seventh year wedding anniversary. I had a good workout in the morning, and then went to have a good lunch with my wife and baby. He wasn't too fussy, so we could have a decent meal and conversation for half an hour. Time really does fly when you're having fun!

This morning I tried 120 at the incline bench. I managed the first 4 in relatively good form and speed, but I needed some nudging with the fifth. Still, I felt good after doing it. Sort of a break through on my anniversary. Next was close grip bench at 80, then lat machine pull downs. No dips today. Ended with 5 sets of leg lifts 8 reps and a couple of back extensions.

I didn't swim after gym. Chiong home instead and went for lunch with wife and kid.

Also, I forgot to add that I weighed myself this morning. 107.2kg! Not bad at all. Very slow weight loss, but at least I'm in the right direction.

Last sat I did some tricep and leg work, but I forgot to update here:( nothing special though.

Reddit

Finally I'm back home after spending 5 days in Malaysia with my in laws. I had a great time there, although my diet and exercise left a lot to be desired.

First, the good news. There is a gym very close to their home - a mere 5 min drive away. Very very fortunate.

The bad news. The gym is large but has very few useful equipment. No power rack, no incline press, and weights are quite limited. There is a cable machine though, so i did plenty of lateral raises using it. The dumb bells go up to 35 kg. Even though it's not a lot, I made sure to use them exhaustively. Shoulder presses lah, dumb bells upright rows lah, bent over rows lah, etc. I have forgotten how pleasing the range of movements of is. Now I dread going back to the sad dumb bells at clubfit.

Diet was also terrible. My wife's family is very warm and generous, which meant I had big dinners every night. My nephews are equally warm and passionate, so we had big lunches every afternoon. My father in law is the warmest and most enthusiastic 70 year old man I know, which meant I had big breakfasts every morning. I can't help but wonder what I'll see on my scale come Monday morning:(

Also, I didn't do any cardio other than walk and cycle on treadmills and static bicycles.

Uh oh:(

gkhchay

Get a suspension trainer like the TRX; v portable & u can use it to train when u are travelling. I use it when I travel either for biz or holiday.

Reddit

Good news! I weighed myself this morning with trepidation, but it turns out that I didn't gain weight! 107.1kg. Maybe I ate less than I remembered, or I exercised more than I thought.

As I was swimming just now, I decided to give myself less time to hit 99kg. National day seems very far away, so I find myself less driven. Since it's reasonable to lose 1 kg a week, I'm going to set a new target.

99kg BY 1ST JUNE!!!

Just typing it out makes me wish I swam another 2 rounds just now.

Incline bench
Empty bar - warmup
40kg - 15 reps 2 sets
80kg - 8 reps 2 sets
120kg - 6 reps 1 set (last 2 reps got nudging. Sian)

Lat machine pull down
47kg - 8 reps 4 sets
52kg - 6 reps 1 set

Close grip bench
40kg - 8 reps 3 sets
80kg - 6 reps 2 sets

Dips
8 reps 6 sets (couldn't do the last 2 sets)

Hanging leg raises
6 reps 6 sets (first few sets is knee to bar, but slowly became knee to elbow hehe. I'm just too heavy)

Swimming
6 rounds. Abt 20 min.

I'll update my diet tonight. Hopefully I don't cave in the afternoon and eat crap. I'm going to tattoo 1st June onto my forehead

Reddit

Get a suspension trainer like the TRX; v portable & u can use it to train when u are travelling. I use it when I travel either for biz or holiday.

Thanks man! I don't know if I'll get it or not, since I don't travel much at all. But if I do go elsewhere other than my in laws place, I will definitely consider getting one. The YouTube videos are interesting!

Reddit

i had a fine workout today. i reached the gym earlier than usual as my baby woke me up.

biceps curl machine alt arms
50 - 1 set 15 reps
60 - 1 set 10
70 - 5 sets 8 reps
80 - 1 set 4 reps (too heavy for me still)
however, i dont know what the numbers mean.

alt hammer curls
20kg - 4 sets 8 reps per arm

close grip pull ups
4 sets of 4 lousy incomplete pull ups

quad extension
5 sets of 8 reps (cant remember the weight)

im planning to try lunges next week.

after working out, i went to tpy ntuc to buy some raw nuts from phoon huat. however, it turns out they have closed down! :( i will probably make a trip to the bugis branch and get them instead.

also, i cycled from tpy to have a look at dennis gym. i only remembered they have a new branch in geyland west cc after i saw yamcancook's post. they have an offer now: $486 for 12 months. the facilities are definitely new. the dumb bells go up to 40kg, which is a major attraction for me. unfortunately there is no incline press.

diet is the same as always. pan fried chicken breasts with a big plate of broccoli, and a jug of juice at 6pm.

i have decided to consume salmon steak at least 3 times a week, hopefully 4. i feel a little uncomfortable taking fish oil, and prefer to get the oily goodness straight from fish instead.

for the past 3 weeks, ive been drinking a mixture of whey and bcaa 15 or 20 minutes before working out, and a mixture of whey, bcaa and creatine right after working out, and i have to say i dont feel much of a difference. i think my stamina is better, but i dont know if its just psychological. nevertheless, i will continue with the routine.

Reddit

Update time!

I had an interesting day today. Workout was not good at all as I kept talking to someone halfway through.

Ohp
Warmup with empty bar
20kg - 12 reps 1 set
40kg - 8 reps 4 sets
50kg - 6 reps 1 set
I realise my ohp is far weaker than smith machine ohp. Not quite sure why. It definitely feels better on the shoulders like you guys advised. No more smith machine ohp for me.

Alt lateral raises
16kg - 10 reps 2 sets
20kh - 6 reps 2 sets

That's when I stopped and starting talking to this huge guy named Ricky. He told me he won gold in a recent south east Asian competition. He looked enormous and quite ripped. It was very interesting to see how passionate he is about bodybuilding. Apparently he's competing in the sea games too. Do you guys know him?

After chatting with him, ironically I lost all mood to exercise. I think I talked too long and warmed down. Anyway I ended with 6 sets of leg lifts and a couple of sets of back extensions and then headed home.

Salmon steak and mixed veggies for lunch, and tasty beef cowboy bone for dinner.

kakashixx

you can always lift more weight on the smith machine..u need more stability when you lift free weights :)

Reddit

good workout today.

for the first time my brother went with me to the gym. it was a strange as im not used to having someone around me when i work out.

pull ups
4 reps 6 sets

lats pulldown
5 sets (i forgot to take note of the weights again! last two sets is the whole thing)

sitting lat machine, alt arm
5 sets (again, i forgot to remember the weights. i recognise my weights by the number of plates)

shrugs (incline bench)
20kg dumb bells - 12 reps 4 sets

leg lifts
4 sets of 6 reps

my bro told me about a bakery shop near the swimming pool, so i went to get some raw nuts. $33 worth of them to be exact. they taste ok, except a little laohong already.

diet is kinda boring today. boiled chicken breasts with veggies, and juice for dinner. i kept snacking on the nuts during work. very satisfying.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.