Redmi Note 8

bbcccc

Mine is a Redmi note 8 pro 128/8 china set. Yes you can flash it to global rom easily after the bootloader is unlock. You can use nfc, ezlink/banking apps & otp msg without any problem BUT google pay won't work if your bootloader is unlock. :(
thx u thx u
:)

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 8 PRO using GAGT

plmokn

Mine is a Redmi note 8 pro 128/8 china set. Yes you can flash it to global rom easily after the bootloader is unlock. You can use nfc, ezlink/banking apps & otp msg without any problem BUT google pay won't work if your bootloader is unlock. :(

Can lock back??

plmokn

Torn between Mi9lite vs redmi note 8t. Any advise? Can the nfc use for Google pay here in sg if its it global eu rom??

NightRaven49

Can lock back??

Torn between Mi9lite vs redmi note 8t. Any advise? Can the nfc use for Google pay here in sg if its it global eu rom??

no cannot lock back, if not will brick and cannot fix.

yes can use nfc for gpay if with local/global set without further modification.
mi9lite - amoled, sd710, under display fp
rn8t - dedicated sdcard, macro lens, should be cheaper
see which one fits ur needs better lor.

Redmi is a China-based smartphone and a sub-brand owned by the Chinese electronics company Xiaomi. It was introduced as a budget smartphone line manufactured by Xiaomi, that was first announced in July 2013. It became a sub-brand, separated from Xiaomi, on 10 January 2019.

nirV4N4

Can lock back??
You can't lock the bootloader back. You will brick it but if you accidentally lock it through Mi Flash tool 'clean all & lock', just go to fastboot mode and unlock it using Mi Unlock tool. This will unlock your bootloader again & unbrick your phone.

valuesniper

BlackWing1977

Just order Redmi Note 8 Pro on Lazada for $370... is this okay??

My Samsung Galaxy A8 Star the battery started to bloat... and out of warranty liao... :(

So I am going back to Xiaomi once more...

Previously I got 2 Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 and Mi Max 2... both also battery bloated... Mi Max 2 was within warranty so got service it... then I bought my current Samsung... :o

Edit: After I saw the price on Shopee... I cancel the Lazada order liao... difference so big..

BlackWing1977

After going thru some reviews, decide to go for Xiao Mi 9 Lite, global rom version from a local seller on lazada. 128GB/6GB Ram @ $339

Sent from Samsung SM-P585Y using GAGT

cscs3

My Samsung Galaxy A8 Star the battery started to bloat... and out of warranty liao... :(

Previously I got 2 Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 and Mi Max 2... both also battery bloated... Mi Max 2 was within warranty so got service it... then I bought my current Samsung... :o

Edit: After I saw the price on Shopee... I cancel the Lazada order liao... difference so big..

Your observation is correct. So far my Xiaomi phone battery also don't last long.

GoodBetterBest

This is from my understanding. Battery bloating due to heat. Gas build up inside the battery. Various factors - charging circuit no good, rapid discharge, or anything that causes it to heat up.

It could be due to your way of using the phone or your apps. One of my previous phones has temperature warning, but I don't know which app it was now. Last time, I listened to YouTube video when I was in the sun with my phone in my pocket. It triggered the alarm and I realise I shouldn't be doing that. You might want to try some apps that notify you if the temperature goes too high.

I don't think the charging circuitry is so bad nowadays and causes the battery to bloat. Probably the way we are using the phone or some rogue apps running which causes problems.

Pocoyoz

Your 3 phones batteries bloated. :eek:
My 6 yo Xperia still hasn't bloated.

Sent from Amazon using GAGT

BlackWing1977

This is from my understanding. Battery bloating due to heat. Gas build up inside the battery. Various factors - charging circuit no good, rapid discharge, or anything that causes it to heat up.

It could be due to your way of using the phone or your apps. One of my previous phones has temperature warning, but I don't know which app it was now. Last time, I listened to YouTube video when I was in the sun with my phone in my pocket. It triggered the alarm and I realise I shouldn't be doing that. You might want to try some apps that notify you if the temperature goes too high.

I don't think the charging circuitry is so bad nowadays and causes the battery to bloat. Probably the way we are using the phone or some rogue apps running which causes problems.

Could be the way I charge the phone.. I tend leave the charger plugged in... even when it is already 100%... sometimes could be like that several continuous day. :(

Do you guys where to find decent reliable servicing technician?? Not official service centre as the Mi 9 Lite I buy is export set... local service centre dun accept.

GoodBetterBest

Could be the way I charge the phone.. I tend leave the charger plugged in... even when it is already 100%... sometimes could be like that several continuous day. :(

Do you guys where to find decent reliable servicing technician?? Not official service centre as the Mi 9 Lite I buy is export set... local service centre dun accept.

If you leave it plug in all the time, I don't think that would cause the battery to be bloated if the phone is doing trickle charging (though they say don't charge to 100% but I do). You can get an app to monitor your charging current and temperature. It's the heat generated that causes the battery to bloat.

There are 2 components to consider: the phone and charger. Who knows how much current is required to charge ? The phone. So the phone is controlling the charging (together with the charger as in QC). If the phone circuitry is faulty, then problem (less likely nowadays). Also if you are running a rogue app (or buggy) which causes problems to the phone, then phone may not be able to control the incoming currently correctly. Also, the charger may not be regulating correctly. But if your set up is fine all along, could be a lousy app recently (or running extended time).

There are 2 things I like to do: reboot the phone regularly. Apps or OS, etc could get in trouble if running extended time. If I need to charge quickly, I will use a higher power charger but if I don't, I use a weaker one and let it charge slowly or I use those cables that has more resistance.

I normally switch off my phone at night and give it fewer opportunities (OS or app) to run rogue. My phone can auto off and on.

The above is solely based on my understanding.

BlackWing1977

If you leave it plug in all the time, I don't think that would cause the battery to be bloated if the phone is doing trickle charging (though they say don't charge to 100% but I do). You can get an app to monitor your charging current and temperature. It's the heat generated that causes the battery to bloat.

There are 2 components to consider: the phone and charger. Who knows how much current is required to charge ? The phone. So the phone is controlling the charging (together with the charger as in QC). If the phone circuitry is faulty, then problem (less likely nowadays). Also if you are running a rogue app (or buggy) which causes problems to the phone, then phone may not be able to control the incoming currently correctly. Also, the charger may not be regulating correctly. But if your set up is fine all along, could be a lousy app recently (or running extended time).

There are 2 things I like to do: reboot the phone regularly. Apps or OS, etc could get in trouble if running extended time. If I need to charge quickly, I will use a higher power charger but if I don't, I use a weaker one and let it charge slowly or I use those cables that has more resistance.

I normally switch off my phone at night and give it fewer opportunities (OS or app) to run rogue. My phone can auto off and on.

The above is solely based on my understanding.

The few things I do consistently is perhaps take pictures (that is during work) and play games... sometimes for up to 30min or 1hr... and sometimes it can get so laggy and hang... then I will restart the phone... normally I do not turn off the phone or restart the phone. :o

Anyway... I just hope my 3rd Xiaomi phone Mi 9 Lite... can at least last for a year... nowadays not easy for a phone to last until 2 years... for re-contract... that is why I gave up on getting plan with device liao... 2 years contract but phone uplorry before 2 years is up... so I chose M1 Big Data plan (now no more) pay about $25/mth got 40gb of data.

wongminmin

Hi, once battery bloated, please do not use it. The phone battery may explode anytime and lead to fire hazard.

bloated battery is due to temperature, faulty battery, improper charging.

1 charging while playing game.
2 battery manufacturer.
3 continuous charging to achieve 100%

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.