Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

yanejean07

I'm learning driving

Hi everyone, I just pass my BTT, can anyone intro me good PDI for auto? Jurong or BBDC will be great. Many thanks.

philipsdell

Does any one know a Mr Anthony who drives a Toyota?? License plate number 962A. It's my second lesson with him and he sleeps for almost half the time!!

Pinkvaio

can anyone recommend me a good PDI instructor for Auto?
-bukit batok area
-doesn't eat my lesson time
-high passing rate
-able to send me for TP within 15 lessons max (I have experience driving before)
-fluent English speaking
-not tiko pek (i'm a female)

Thanks alot!

joeidle1

Have shortlisted the following 3 PDI. Anyone has their contacts? Can share here or PM me? Thank you!!!

NG LAI HUAT
LIM SOON SIM
TAN KIM SEONG

cocoa123

I just took my first lesson from mr Anthony. got to know him through ledrivinginstructorsg. he keeps sleeping and first time stall kena scold already wtf. never teach how to check blind spot and stuff and ask me to pay in advance. is this normal. I already paid registration fee how? any reliable private instructor? I am not even sure if I want to go for the next lesson.

I knew my instructor from ledriving too, also kept falling asleep.
But i heard that most of the private instructors are like that, my instructor also keep scolding one = = but i treat it as normal loh. Pay fees liao also cannot do anything.

ryanchology

I knew my instructor from ledriving too, also kept falling asleep.
But i heard that most of the private instructors are like that, my instructor also keep scolding one = = but i treat it as normal loh. Pay fees liao also cannot do anything.

what did you learn on your first lesson? he keeps slapping my leg. damn trying to look forward to next saturday lol.

OKCATYEON

what did you learn on your first lesson? he keeps slapping my leg. damn trying to look forward to next saturday lol.

First lesson mostly teach me to shift gears and get used to the biting point.

Stalled about twice at traffic light cos too kanchiong, never scold.

ryanchology

just to check, the procedure of starting manual is

slowly release clutch, once feel the car start to move forward then step gas OR when clutch fully depress, step gas rev till 2500-3500, then release clutch? im confused

Deepvk

IMO, Its hard to gauge these things with technical terms such as RPM. Like they always say, it's about the feel. When your car begins to vibrate then you stop releasing your clutch and give gas a bit.

Viagraman

just to check, the procedure of starting manual is

slowly release clutch, once feel the car start to move forward then step gas OR when clutch fully depress, step gas rev till 2500-3500, then release clutch? im confused

Depending on the type of car you are using. Ask your instructor.

For Honda, you only give in gas after you get the biting point.

For Mitsubishi lancer, you give in gas first, then you release till biting point

mypillowtalks

The "ideal" scenario will be to release to the biting point and gas, hold clutch there for split second then fully release it.

Both your methods are also correct, because the goal is not to let the vehicle stall. Cars will stall when you let the clutch out without giving it gas.

If u are not very familiar with the half clutch point, just gas a bit then release clutch, once u get more familiar, release clutch a bit more before stepping on the gas. You will reach the point where by your right leg step on the gas when your left leg reach half clutch point.

This method is good because when u drive outside next time, and you want to start off from slope, you dont really need handbrake. Just gas more and release to halfclutch point

LachesisxD

Can anyone consult if 32/hr with enrolment fee of $60 considered expensive?
The circuit rate is $30/hr and the car rental for TP is $250

car rental is normally $250 ,
34 / hour is the highest i seen so far for peak hours auto
if not there are instructors that are doing this to pass time and they charge only 28/30 .

registration fee there's another site i would recommend would be $55
Private Driving Instructors Singapore

motomage

Ok..Just had my first driving lesson. Here to share my experience. . .

Lesson start at 1530hrs

-05mins intro / admin / paperwork/ move to training ground..

-10mins talk about ''theory'', about the controls, mirror, etc...

-10mins to try, listen and reach the ideal 1500/2000 rpm...

-05mins, tried clutch to 1st gear and feel biting point

-10mins, tried moving off, but vehicle stalled cause i kanchiong

-10mins, started moving off with LOTS of guidance and slowly
in 1st gear. No brake applied, just let go accelerator at turning.
1 round then do some review.

-10mins, started moving with much guidance and slowly in 1st
to 2nd gear. No brake applied, just let go accelerator at turning. 2/3 round then do some review.

-10mins, started moving with guidance and slowly in 1st and 2nd. Tapped on the brake before turning. 3/4 round then do some review.

-10mins, started moving with guidance normally in 1st to 2nd and 3rd gear. Tapped on the brake, change back to 2nd gear while turning, Vehicle stalled at turn, cause i went to gta style. .
1 round then kana serious review.

-08mins, started moving with guidance normally in 1st to 2nd and 3rd gear. Tapped on the brake, change back to 2nd gear while turning. Quite smooth.. 5 /6 round straight then final review...

Lesson End: 16:58hrs

Anyone learned so little/much on first lesson ?
One more concern, i never really waited for 1500to 2000rpm to drive off. I just accelerate abit then half clutch and drive off liao. Will i be penalized for that in test ?
He say i consider fast, i think hes just smoking me..

Fees: $42 for 90mins
$50 Registration

mypillowtalks

Anyone learned so little/much on first lesson ?
One more concern, i never really waited for 1500to 2000rpm to drive off. I just accelerate abit then half clutch and drive off liao. Will i be penalized for that in test ?
He say i consider fast, i think hes just smoking me..

I think quite fast already.

Moving off part is fine, wont get penalised unless your moving off is really slow, or you stall but restart engine slow.
I believe you get the ideal of clutch control already, your goal is to move off without stalling or jerking forward, not necessary high engine rpm, just enough to get your vehicle moving off without 'vibrating'.
To be honest if you just release your clutch to the 'half clutch' point and hold it there, your car will crawl without the need of stepping on the gas.

If you realise your car engine sound like going die off, or things vibrating, you need more gas(or release less clutch). A good sound to hear when you move off will be in this sequence:
1. Engine rev a little bit louder than normal
2. The engine become softer and get lower pitch as you release your clutch to half clutch point.
3. The sound you hear in step 2 maintain the same for a split sec
4. The engine rev up as you step more gas and fully release the clutch.

First lesson is about like that, drive around, get use to clutch/steering/brakes.

Think 2nd lesson u will start to learn left turns, then right turns, u turn.

Your 3rd lesson should be 1.5 hours type. 1/2 hour learn vertical + directional change, another 1 hour go drive

4th lesson will be 1 hour, go drive around test routes, do u turn, change lane, slope.

5th lesson 1.5 hours. 1/2 hour recap vertical and directional change, then maybe learn parallel parking.

6th lesson drive around test routes, practice slope, right turn, lane change etc.

7th - 10th lesson practice driving and parking

Maybe 11th lesson go circuit, then 12-13 normal outside, 14th lesson go circuit, 15 drive around, 16 go TP.

As long as you learn right turn(who have right of way+gauge traffic), left turn, lane change, last min lane change, know how to stop for pedestrian, engine brake, Circuits (Directional change, vertical parking, parallel parking, s course, crank course, emergency brake, slope) should be can take TP already.

motomage

I think quite fast already.

Moving off part is fine, wont get penalised unless your moving off is really slow, or you stall but restart engine slow.
I believe you get the ideal of clutch control already, your goal is to move off without stalling or jerking forward, not necessary high engine rpm, just enough to get your vehicle moving off without 'vibrating'.
To be honest if you just release your clutch to the 'half clutch' point and hold it there, your car will crawl without the need of stepping on the gas.

If you realise your car engine sound like going die off, or things vibrating, you need more gas(or release less clutch). A good sound to hear when you move off will be in this sequence:
1. Engine rev a little bit louder than normal
2. The engine become softer and get lower pitch as you release your clutch to half clutch point.
3. The sound you hear in step 2 maintain the same for a split sec
4. The engine rev up as you step more gas and fully release the clutch.

First lesson is about like that, drive around, get use to clutch/steering/brakes.

Think 2nd lesson u will start to learn left turns, then right turns, u turn.

Your 3rd lesson should be 1.5 hours type. 1/2 hour learn vertical + directional change, another 1 hour go drive

4th lesson will be 1 hour, go drive around test routes, do u turn, change lane, slope.

5th lesson 1.5 hours. 1/2 hour recap vertical and directional change, then maybe learn parallel parking.

6th lesson drive around test routes, practice slope, right turn, lane change etc.

7th - 10th lesson practice driving and parking

Maybe 11th lesson go circuit, then 12-13 normal outside, 14th lesson go circuit, 15 drive around, 16 go TP.

As long as you learn right turn(who have right of way+gauge traffic), left turn, lane change, last min lane change, know how to stop for pedestrian, engine brake, Circuits (Directional change, vertical parking, parallel parking, s course, crank course, emergency brake, slope) should be can take TP already.

Wow.. Just like what my instructor said..
Are you a PDI ? ?

Anyways, thanks a lot for the lesson plan! Really helpful!!

idunknowlarh

Recommendation for PDI

Really appreciate if anyone could give me a good recommendation for a PDI for 3A @ CDC. Added value if has pickup/send too!

wrt54gs

Hi guys,

my instructor's rate.
weekdays $28/hr
weekend $30/hr
Enrollment $50
Rental for test $180

Is his rate pricy ? or just average ?

Hi motomage, who is your current instructor?

I'm living in Pasir Ris, also looking a reliable instructor.

Thanks

Viagraman

Hi guys I am having my TP test test two weeks later (26 march) at 2.45pm. Any tips for vertical parking? I still not sure of my turning point.

urbanoxide

Hi i am looking for a pdi around outram park area. any recommendations? thanks in advance, much appreciated

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.