Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

keroleen

Also avoid ssdc chee kok wan. Class 3A.
A lot of safety check n blind spot never teach, and drag my lesson once every 2 weeks.
Like to throw temper, and comment "children also know".. you can checkout the reviews online and passing rate.

Im lucky another instructor accepted me, and i learn where are my mistakes and passed on my 1st driving test.
Can share your latest instructor contact? Thanks

keroleen

I learned with Mr Anthony Tan at SSDC Class 3 in September 2019 right before **. Passed in March 2020 before lockdown. A little background, I have 3A, but I needed Class 3 as I wanted to drive caravan and manual cars overseas for roadtrips. So I took "refresher" from Mr Tan. Took 8 lessons with him (roughly 5 lessons drive outside 3 inside circuit). During the lessons he just ask me drive and he will take the chance to correct my bad habits (never check back mirror, never turn head clearly) from my driving experience and tell me don't do such 'mistakes' in test. Circuit teaching also very swee, really teach properly and I had trouble with the biting point and slope but he slowly guide. His favourite phrase "pass already you want to drive with your old habits I leave it to you, but first you must pass the test using my tips" :s13:

Mr Anthony Tan (last time drive honda jazz, nice and small can park easily, now he change car not sure). One of the best driving instructors around. Speaks good english, grandfather vibes. Not sure whether can speak mandarin but I think so la haha. Don't scold or shout, just nag abit and will tell you like "eh eh do this kind wrong ah.... don't do this in test". So I just laugh and say sorry. Sometimes joke with you because don't want you to feel pressured.

Downside is, sometimes he end the previous lesson late. (maybe he too kind to previous student keep giving free extension). But doesn't make you 'pay' for it. So if you scheduled to start at 1:00pm, will usually 1:10pm then start and end 2:10pm or 2:40pm depending on duration. Someitimes I end like 5 to 10 mins late also but he not calculative. But means the behind all snowball. Imagine if your lesson is at 6:00pm hahaha jialat. Maybe 6:20pm or 6:30pm then start. So make sure you got flexibility with time, if not you probably be annoyed with the situation. He is also super popular with foreign workers converting their license to drive (I guess because he speak good english). So might have trouble booking him. Really must book in advance and don't last minute cancel.

Can use Paynow to pay for lessons/test - not those very strict say must use cash. $40 per hour, $80 enrolment fee. He even helps you to book your stuff (circuit and TP test) on SSDC website just pass him your SSDC login and pw lol. Really quite hard to find such helpful instructors. He really got heart to help you pass. Expected him to milk me for more lessons (which i'm ok to pay for his help) and $$$ but 7 lessons later, he let me do TP test alr.

2nd attempt then pass TP because first TP test, light was amber and idk drive or stop. I stop because don't want to beat red light (imm fail), but then tester say i e-brake for nothing (walao) and front wheel on pedestrian line, then fail me lol.

I don't usually post here but I think good instructors are hard to come by nowadays. A lot of fr*kn bad eggs.
Let me know if anyone needs his contact. Mr Anthony Tan SSDC Class 3. Spent a total of $1.1k inclusive of 2 TP test ($400+ each time incl. of warm up).

If I remember correctly, he has a friend Mr David Phuan that teaches at SSDC Class 3A. But this one not sure whether kind or not never learned under him haha.
Can share both the mentioned instructors contacts? Thanks

keroleen

Hello! Has anyone PM-ed you?

In need of a good PDI in Yishun/ north area. Please PM me if you have any recommendations! Mainly for refresher courses (I got my license 6 years ago but rarely drove).

Thank you!!
Hi Sushigirl,

Can PM me your PDI?

thanks

Raindrops.07

I recently passed on my first try after 17 lessons (at least 7 circuit lessons and including the warm up before exam) with 16 demerit points. Sounds like a lot but I scored 14 points in the circuit due to my TP being too big sized and blocking my back window view causing me to not park properly so strike a kerb when I exit the parking lot. But I would say, 2 demerit points on the road was pretty fantastic.

Spent a total of less than 1.6k including my driving test cost.

Before the exam, my driving uncle even told all his driving uncle instructor friends at the coffeeshop “today is her last day coming already”. Such confidence in me hahahaha.

I love my driving instructor.
9.5/10 because I’m paying for classes!
10/10 or even 11/10 if lessons are free.

Would be my last post here but I will reply to DMs if y’all int in his contact!

3A CDC, lessons around UBI.
Hello! Not sure if youre still here, cant seem to DM you. Would you mind letting me know his contact pls? Tysm!!

Raindrops.07

Posting review for Mr Frankie Yue.

3A, Toyota Axio
Pickup at Ubi CDC (Can arrange for Tai Seng / Ubi MRT pick up)

Chose him mainly because of the review I saw while trawling through the many pages in this thread, and that he also has quite a high pass rate / student numbers as well.

Can confirm that he is indeed a top notch instructor. Took approximately ~10 lessons from him (did have some prior driving lessons with school) and passed TP on the first try some time back.

He is patient, and will point out mistakes every single time you make them. Gives very good tips for driving in circuit and on the road, can fully recommend him. Speaks good English, but does not engage much in small talk. I'm by nature not a chatty person, so this suited me really well. Does not scold you / chide you even if you don't do well, but instead he will remind or nag you.

He is professional as well, and is always there on time. Does not take frequent toilet breaks while driving as well. Even if he does need to answer nature's call, he'll do it quickly.

Only downside is that he appears to have a lot of students, and therefore scheduling can be a bit difficult especially for working adults. (Was running 1 lesson at week for some time).

Feel free to PM me should you want his contact, can 100% recommend him.
Hello! May I know if you can share his contact please? :)

bustykid

For those who wanna learn 3A in the north, am recommending my driving instructor, Liew Yew Seng.

3A, Honda City, Pick up at Admiralty MRT. Tagged to SSDC.

Passed on my first attempt with Mr Liew. Took about 23 lessons (10 circuit, 13 road). Mr Liew is patient and soft spoken. Sometimes I find him a bit too soft and have to ask him to repeat and he will do so without black face or annoyance. He's not the chatty type which I like, so I can also focus on my driving. He's also not the sarcastic and chiding type. Downside is he speaks only Mandarin so you need to be fluent to understand his instructions.

He gives good tips on driving on the road and circuit. He'll also point out my appropriate sighting points and will change his driving instructions based on my own learning trajectory. Eg, I keep forgetting parallel parking steps especially when exiting the lot, so he simplified my steps for me. Won't die die must follow his way. He's also very accommodating if I want to get out of the vehicle to visualise my distances/positioning be it on the road or in circuit. He'll point out my mistakes as I go and will answer any questions I have about my progress.

I never have problems booking 2-3 lessons a week. He'll also give priority to those taking TP to go for more intensive lessons towards the end.

Feel free to PM if anyone needs his contact.

g_t2006

For those who wanna learn 3A in the north, am recommending my driving instructor, Liew Yew Seng.

Passed on my first attempt with Mr Liew. Took about 23 lessons (10 circuit, 13 road). Mr Liew is patient and soft spoken. Sometimes I find him a bit too soft and have to ask him to repeat and he will do so without black face or annoyance. He's not the chatty type which I like, so I can also focus on my driving. He's also not the sarcastic and chiding type. Downside is he speaks only Mandarin so you need to be fluent to understand his instructions.

He gives good tips on driving on the road and circuit. He'll also point out my appropriate sighting points and will change his driving instructions based on my own learning trajectory. Eg, I keep forgetting parallel parking steps especially when exiting the lot, so he simplified my steps for me. Won't die die must follow his way. He's also very accommodating if I want to get out of the vehicle to visualise my distances/positioning be it on the road or in circuit. He'll point out my mistakes as I go and will answer any questions I have about my progress.

I never have problems booking 2-3 lessons a week. He'll also give priority to those taking TP to go for more intensive lessons towards the end.

That's a lot of lessons! I took less than half of your 23 lessons. Took less than 10 lessons under a PDI.

How come you took so many lessons? Your PDI chop carrots? My PDI booked the TP for me after 4 lessons. Took another 4 or 5 lessons in the circuit (1hr) + road (half hour) after the first 4 lessons.

I remember learning to u-turn on the 2nd lesson and I was bored after the 2nd lesson, doing left, right and u-turns.

Carlearner

Hi all, in need of good PDI (BBDC) 3A.. weekday after 6PM , weekday any timing. Meet up point at Bukit Panjang area/Bukit Gombak MRT/BBDC quite desperate here ya :( please PM me

Carlearner

anyone managed to find PDI at BBDC already? please share contacts! seems like nobody is replying and alot of us are finding PDI @ BBDC area for quite sometime already still didn't manage to find leh
Hi have you found a PDI yet? Able to share contact ?

Jereath

Looking for SSDC or BBDC PDI for Class 3A. Just passed FTT, first time learning driving. As my school just expired, so I can sign up to any one of these for practical.
I prefer someone who speak only English. Please PM me. Please please puhleeeeese

Jereath

That's a lot of lessons! I took less than half of your 23 lessons. Took less than 10 lessons under a PDI.

How come you took so many lessons? Your PDI chop carrots? My PDI booked the TP for me after 4 lessons. Took another 4 or 5 lessons in the circuit (1hr) + road (half hour) after the first 4 lessons.

I remember learning to u-turn on the 2nd lesson and I was bored after the 2nd lesson, doing left, right and u-turns.
Bro, can pm me his number? Thanks

bustykid

Lol, You're not the norm. No need come to haolian.

For those reading and totally without driving experience, 20 lessons is the average, as with joining schools. If you're like me, don't wanna dive into TP when not ready and burn $400+ (for vehicle rental, warm up + fees) then taking a couple more lessons makes more economical sense.

Jereath

Bro, dropped you a pm. Can send me Mr Liew detail?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.