Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

Massacre01

Ergh, sorry to hear that man. I passed TP first time... Private too. But then I've had prior driving experience in NS. But my NS driving tests, I failed 3 times. :x

Checking blindspot, you must really show (wayang!). Check over your shoulders when you're turning.

Confirm safety, I think mostly show that you really check that it's safe to move before you move. Even if you've checked, before you move, you check again.

For example, if you've stopped at a traffic-light-controlled junction and the traffic light turns green, you check left and right first, to see if there's any oncoming vehicles or pedestrians dashing or not. Then you move. Don't drive off immediately once it's green. Pause a bit, wayang a bit, then move off (but don't take too much time!).

Basically you just need to exaggerate your movements a bit when checking. Sometimes the testers just don't feel like the student is ready or the student is not a safe driver, then they just put whatever points they can to fail you.

Ya I will wayang more next time. My tester was actually in sunglasses so quite hard to see whether he sleeping or what. Is it true that once you kiss kerb, tester confirm fail you? Because I actually kissed kerb while getting out from parallel parking, could not even feel the hit and then suddenly when I was about to get off, the tester suddenly get off the car and found only 1 tyre kiss the kerb. I think the reason why he went to check is because maybe he was wondering why am I taking so long to move off but there was so many cars and it was so tight, I scared hit the other car then more jialat. Demoralized me a lot this part.

Hi, u took ur test on the 25 rite. me same also. 9:15 am. sori to heard that u kena sabo. confirm u will pass the next 1, 11 am is a gd timing to. base on my PDI.

Thanks for the wish! I really hope I would pass. You passed right? Congrats!

And for Massacre01, with regards to our suggestion of changing PDI, I hope that you pass your TP test so that you don't have to go through the hassle of our suggestion.

Really? 11am all the BBDC instructors goes for lunch, so early? Thanks for all the suggestions and advices guys, really really very helpful.

Btw I changed PDI that time I need not keep paying enrolment fees, because they are all under this private school called Lim Boon Seng something. But honestly, the instructors there not say very good.

On a side note, I think my driving isn't that bad. Its just that I keep got points for those small little things like:

-veer off course
-fail to confirm safety
-fail to check blind spot
-not enough acceleration at BBDC circuit (but i scared i go too fast as usually private circuit we need to go slow)
-car jerky during move off

I was really disappointed when I failed my TP. I will take note of all the pointers you guys advised me on, need to be more kiasu. I hope this time there won't be so many cars on the circuit as there were so many cars at BBDC during that timing and it was frustrating to find the safe time to get off the parking lots. And really really hope for a good tester and route! I took route 2, and I think it's the easiest lor and I failed. argh

Well my next TP is 16th April on a Saturday. What I'm afraid of is that because it is on a Saturday, there would be more cars practicing =(

mori1983

Thanks massacre. Dun wori abt many cars in the circuit, be confident k. Sumtime the tester will help u out if u are to exit a particular course. Usally they give way to those taking test. They might signal u to move but make sure u do ur checking b4 move off.

straberrytomb

my review on Mr Yeo

hmm, i think i'm the only who doesn't find Mr Yeo patient.

had 2 lessons with him.

during 1st lesson he already wasn't very patient with me. Assume i know most of the sequence of driving & how to brake. How would i know when to depress brake/clutch first?? how would i know its depending on which gear i'm in?

He made me so nervous when i stall the car or turn too late etc. by making those frustrated expression. When i make mistakes, he don't point out. Only say its wrong, never mind, it's too late. like huh????!!!

i have to personally ask him where went wrong??!!!

also, i can't really catch what he is saying sometimes. he doesn't speak very clearly in my opinion, like lao-hong (duno no teeth or just can't speak clearly) if you get my meaning.

or maybe i'm just deaf, can't hear properly.

He has never smiled at me also. i don't mean he has to smile to everyone, but he gave me the feeling he really doesn't like me.

He also told me so many students from forum looking for him now, make him so busy & gave a frown! i was so shocked! even tried to make a joke, said "good mah, getting popular". he just kept quiet, continue to frown.

i think better don't recommend him so many students lah, maybe he can't cope or what. crazy. 1st time see people earn money but so unhappy?! :s11:

again, it's just my experience, not trying to flame him or what. Maybe i'm just unlucky.

otacon

had 2 lessons with him.

during 1st lesson he already wasn't very patient with me. Assume i know most of the sequence of driving & how to brake. How would i know when to depress brake/clutch first?? how would i know its depending on which gear i'm in?

He made me so nervous when i stall the car or turn too late etc. by making those frustrated expression. When i make mistakes, he don't point out. Only say its wrong, never mind, it's too late. like huh????!!!

also, i can't really catch what he is saying sometimes. he doesn't speak very clearly in my opinion, like lao-hong (duno no teeth or just can't speak clearly) if you get my meaning.

He has never smiled at me also. i don't mean he has to smile to everyone, but he gave me the feeling he really doesn't like me.

He also told me so many students from forum looking for him now, make him so busy & gave a frown! i was so shocked! even tried to make a joke, said "good mah, getting popular". he just kept quiet, continue to frown.

i think better don't recommend him so many students lah, maybe he can't cope or what. crazy. 1st time see people earn money but so unhappy?! :s11:

again, it's just my experience, not trying to flame him or what. Maybe i'm just unlucky.

everyone got their bad days, maybe mr yeo just happened to get up on the wrong side of the bed... twice...?

zuldevil

Sori for the MIA. Got problem logging in by iphone and were bz for the arrival of my newborn son. ;)

Yah, pass my TP test with 18 pts.

Woot! Congratulations on your newborn son and passing your driving test! :s12:

had 2 lessons with him.

Wor... How liddat..? I think we should stop recommending him liao, man. Not sure if you just suay-suay caught him in a bad mood twice in a row or he's really not happy being so busy. :/

I thought he'd be glad people have been looking for him due to our recommendations on this forum.

In any case, I hope you would try to stick it out with him for a bit. If you really find his attitude a turn-off, don't hesitate to quit him. He was quite good when I learned from him. People change due to circumstances, I suppose.

Btw, did you tell him that you've never had driving experience before?

straberrytomb

hi zuldelvil,

he is aware that I'm a totally new learner, just got passed my BTT & FTT not long ago.

maybe i really got him on the wrong side of bed, twice. Had booked him for another lesson so if by then i still don't have positive vibe from him, i will not hesitate to look for another instructor already.

:)

zuldevil

Well, all the best. Maybe he's really unhappy he's too busy right now. Oh well. :/

stan91

Anybody got good private instructor that teaches auto to reccommend? Preferably around Jurong area.

valuesniper

Ya I will wayang more next time. My tester was actually in sunglasses so quite hard to see whether he sleeping or what. Is it true that once you kiss kerb, tester confirm fail you? Because I actually kissed kerb while getting out from parallel parking, could not even feel the hit and then suddenly when I was about to get off, the tester suddenly get off the car and found only 1 tyre kiss the kerb. I think the reason why he went to check is because maybe he was wondering why am I taking so long to move off but there was so many cars and it was so tight, I scared hit the other car then more jialat. Demoralized me a lot this part.

Thanks for the wish! I really hope I would pass. You passed right? Congrats!

Really? 11am all the BBDC instructors goes for lunch, so early? Thanks for all the suggestions and advices guys, really really very helpful.

Btw I changed PDI that time I need not keep paying enrolment fees, because they are all under this private school called Lim Boon Seng something. But honestly, the instructors there not say very good.

On a side note, I think my driving isn't that bad. Its just that I keep got points for those small little things like:

-veer off course
-fail to confirm safety
-fail to check blind spot
-not enough acceleration at BBDC circuit (but i scared i go too fast as usually private circuit we need to go slow)

I was really disappointed when I failed my TP. I will take note of all the pointers you guys advised me on, need to be more kiasu. I hope this time there won't be so many cars on the circuit as there were so many cars at BBDC during that timing and it was frustrating to find the safe time to get off the parking lots. And really really hope for a good tester and route! I took route 2, and I think it's the easiest lor and I failed. argh

Well my next TP is 16th April on a Saturday. What I'm afraid of is that because it is on a Saturday, there would be more cars practicing =(

I took my TP test on a Sat 11- 11.30am slot also. Same thing, BBDC instructors are out for lunch, number of cars in the circuit were minimum. Most of the cars there are actually taking the TP test.

Actually when you are taking the TP test, there will be another L plate on your car that states 'Test in progress', trainees are supposed to give way to your car. If not, the tester will never finish the test as all the time will be spent queuing up.

-veer off course

It seems that you are not very familiar with the BBDC circuit, private circuit are 'messier' in the sense that road conditions and lanes are not as well constructed as the BBDC circuit, thus you can't really go fast. I use half clutch all the way in private circuit. But in BBDC circuit, you can go up to 2nd gear. Especially in the perimeters of the circuit.

Kissing the kerb doesnt mean tester will confirm fail you. it all depends on his overall impression of you. Are you a competent, confident and most importantly safe driver?

Btw, OT a bit, is your tester Lim Eng Kiak?

valuesniper

Yeah, it was a good decision at the start, though I do honestly think maybe he should limit the number of students he takes since lessons can become overly saturated when he has too many students...having to wait 2 weeks for the next available slot can be pretty annoying, especially when most want to get through lessons fast enough.

Agree on this. My first few lessons were pretty slow, but once the slots are freed up, I booked 2-3 slots at one go. Hopefully by the time you are ready, more slots will be available.

valuesniper

Woot! Congratulations on your newborn son and passing your driving test! :s12:

Wor... How liddat..? I think we should stop recommending him liao, man. Not sure if you just suay-suay caught him in a bad mood twice in a row or he's really not happy being so busy. :/

I thought he'd be glad people have been looking for him due to our recommendations on this forum.

In any case, I hope you would try to stick it out with him for a bit. If you really find his attitude a turn-off, don't hesitate to quit him. He was quite good when I learned from him. People change due to circumstances, I suppose.

Btw, did you tell him that you've never had driving experience before?

hi zuldelvil,

he is aware that I'm a totally new learner, just got passed my BTT & FTT not long ago.

maybe i really got him on the wrong side of bed, twice. Had booked him for another lesson so if by then i still don't have positive vibe from him, i will not hesitate to look for another instructor already.

:)

Hi zuldevil, I have a slightly different opinion. I will still recommend him because a few of us have learned under him and had a good learning experience. This means that he is consistent with his standards.

However, since right now he is fully booked, if any one wants to learn from him, you have to be able to wait. If you are in a rush to get your license, then Mr Yeo obviously wont be the best choice.

Hi straberrytomb, I had a similar encounter like you for my first 2 lesson. I am a slow learner and my coordination is very bad. I was struggling and I did thought of switching to learn Auto instead. When I am stressed out, my face looks very stern. So my first 2 lesson, I didnt really talk much with him.

But the difference between you and me is that I spoke up at the end of the lesson. I ask him for the step by step details on changing gear. I clarify, I ask questions, I ask for advice and I also told him that I'm a slow learner. So that he knows where I stand. And he lent him his book 'Practical training handbook'.

You should borrow from him on your next lesson and have a read. It gives you lots of step by step details.

Speak out, talk to him at the end of lesson. He won't be in a unhappy mood everyday. Hope things will get better for you. Cheers!

zuldevil

Hi zuldevil, I have a slightly different opinion. I will still recommend him because a few of us have learned under him and had a good learning experience. This means that he is consistent with his standards.

However, since right now he is fully booked, if any one wants to learn from him, you have to be able to wait. If you are in a rush to get your license, then Mr Yeo obviously wont be the best choice.

Hi straberrytomb, I had a similar encounter like you for my first 2 lesson. I am a slow learner and my coordination is very bad. I was struggling and I did thought of switching to learn Auto instead. When I am stressed out, my face looks very stern. So my first 2 lesson, I didnt really talk much with him.

But the difference between you and me is that I spoke up at the end of the lesson. I ask him for the step by step details on changing gear. I clarify, I ask questions, I ask for advice and I also told him that I'm a slow learner. So that he knows where I stand. And he lent him his book 'Practical training handbook'.

You should borrow from him on your next lesson and have a read. It gives you lots of step by step details.

Speak out, talk to him at the end of lesson. He won't be in a unhappy mood everyday. Hope things will get better for you. Cheers!

Well, it's possible that he's just overloaded right now, and have to keep turning down students. People who are overloaded can feel very stressed out and stress can make people feel pissed off. Haha. Anyway, I'm just going to pause recommending him for now.

What you mentioned about speaking out was true for me as well. When I was learning, I did a few things that were wrong 'cause I was taught that way by other instructors before him. So when he corrected me, I was like, "Huh, I thought must like that..?" In the end I told him that I've had many bad instructors, so I may have learned the wrong things. He seemed to understand my position.

straberrytomb, in any case, yeah, Mr Yeo's not the type of super-friendly, smiling-all-the-time instructor, but he's friendly enough. Can have a proper chat with him, and joke around a bit. But he's good where it counts. Hope it works out for you. :)

Massacre01

I took my TP test on a Sat 11- 11.30am slot also. Same thing, BBDC instructors are out for lunch, number of cars in the circuit were minimum. Most of the cars there are actually taking the TP test.

Actually when you are taking the TP test, there will be another L plate on your car that states 'Test in progress', trainees are supposed to give way to your car. If not, the tester will never finish the test as all the time will be spent queuing up.

-veer off course

It seems that you are not very familiar with the BBDC circuit, private circuit are 'messier' in the sense that road conditions and lanes are not as well constructed as the BBDC circuit, thus you can't really go fast. I use half clutch all the way in private circuit. But in BBDC circuit, you can go up to 2nd gear. Especially in the perimeters of the circuit.

Kissing the kerb doesnt mean tester will confirm fail you. it all depends on his overall impression of you. Are you a competent, confident and most importantly safe driver?

Btw, OT a bit, is your tester Lim Eng Kiak?

There was no problem at all, no marks deducted until I kissed the kerb and he started to give me all lots of points.

The first point I was awarded was kissing the kerb.

Tester name is Teo Ee Hiang

whatme

Does most of the instructor all doesnt wear a smile one what.. Haha. ... if one keep smile smile.. then you wont take the lesson seriously...

Like what mine instructor do... he looks very serious and stern.. but after lesson, he would just go very friendly.

funkyjohnkoh

had 2 lessons with him.

Mr Yeo was also my instructor. Passed under him 1st time. He is good instructor. But must see his mood. Also, i agree that he does not speak clearly. like to mumble.

doomace

Woohoo just passed my FTT today. Applied for PDL and ready to take practical like crazy. I live in amk and hoping to take lessons at ubi. Any PDI to recommend? Please pm me! xie xie da jia! ^^

valuesniper

I went to BBDC today to enquire on Class 2B license and guess what, I saw Mr Yeo over there. His student was having TP test and we had close to 30 mins.

We had a good chat and I gave him some feedback, based on what some forummers posted here.

1. I told him about my idea of a waiting list, as I find it a pity that he has to turn away business but he didnt think that it was really feasible.

2. He will be setting a limit on the number of new students per month to ensure the quality of his training and also to reduce the current waiting time. He is aware that currently, new students have to wait 2 weeks for the next slot.

3. He has close to 30 students taking TP test this month! - no wonder it was so hard to you guys to get a slot. This number is also a new record high for him. And once/ if most of them passed the TP test, more slots will be freed up for you guys. So meantime, just bear with it.

Btw, I told him how to google for this thread, using his Iphone. During my lessons, I have mentioned about this thread to him but never had the chance to show him due to time constraints. Since then, he has been very curious to know more but as he is not very IT-savvy, he doesnt know how to search for it. Finally I had a chance to show him and he will be going back home and use his PC to read through.

Cheers!

zuldevil

I went to BBDC today to enquire on Class 2B license and guess what, I saw Mr Yeo over there. His student was having TP test and we had close to 30 mins.

We had a good chat and I gave him some feedback, based on what some forummers posted here.

1. I told him about my idea of a waiting list, as I find it a pity that he has to turn away business but he didnt think that it was really feasible.

2. He will be setting a limit on the number of new students per month to ensure the quality of his training and also to reduce the current waiting time. He is aware that currently, new students have to wait 2 weeks for the next slot.

3. He has close to 30 students taking TP test this month! - no wonder it was so hard to you guys to get a slot. This number is also a new record high for him. And once/ if most of them passed the TP test, more slots will be freed up for you guys. So meantime, just bear with it.

Btw, I told him how to google for this thread, using his Iphone. During my lessons, I have mentioned about this thread to him but never had the chance to show him due to time constraints. Since then, he has been very curious to know more but as he is not very IT-savvy, he doesnt know how to search for it. Finally I had a chance to show him and he will be going back home and use his PC to read through.

Cheers!

Haha, I had been thinking of heading over to Bukit Gombak area to find him before his next student and having a chat with him. Never had the time to do so though.

Yeah, I remember he's not very IT-savvy. He asked me once on how to use his new phone (wasn't the iphone then), and I could only show a little bit before having to rush off. Well, Mr Yeo, if you're reading this, I am the one to blame for starting this whole debacle recommending you on this forum! Haha! For better or worse, the outcome has been for you, I did it out of appreciation of what you have done for me. I told you after I passed that I would recommend you to people, and that's what I've done. :)

DogClutch

Cheers!

Ya.. Mr Yeo is a good instructor. Happy for him to have many students. Passed 1st time under him. Thanks Mr Yeo!!!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.