Retrenchment Started today

tootired

I have been working in this company for 25 years and am officially retrenched today.
Should I be happy or sad? I am above 50 and currently is tough for me to find a job as I only have a poly diploma.
Any advice?

take a break for few weeks, find part time/temp job and look for full time job. learn plumbing skill if you ok with this trade.

siaoliaolor

anything on edmw cannot belive wan

later someone start thread

i am 55 , jus got retrench

fandango

I have been working in this company for 25 years and am officially retrenched today.

Should I be happy or sad? I am above 50 and currently is tough for me to find a job as I only have a poly diploma.

Any advice?
What was your package?

coyote

Any advice?

How much retrenchment benefits you collected? 25 months maxed out package? That will be very substantial.

Travis_Touchdown

24 months salary

quite good oredi... moi suppose ish 1 yr = 1 mth?? juz that kena cap at 24 mths?? :s12::frown:

there ish no such thing as loyalty to a coy de rahz... stay there sho long moi guess chiur pay kena stagnant quite jialatz riaoz... :frown:

dambio

24 months salary
If u dun hv any major big commitments now. As in house fully paid, kids grown up, little or no debt. Shld be able to last u for a long time. Depending on d salary you were drawing also.

Now is best to lower requirements if finding new job. If u need a new job tat is.

Bardiel

see loctor get a cert to buy a pma.

can part time and ride around like a boss

jarodling

actually still many vacancy for people above 50, if not you can just work as PHD driver first and slowly look for permanent job.

semiret

24 months salary
That's quite standard of about 1yr service 1mth compensation. I waited for more than 20yrs the coy even go through being takeover I also can't get that retrenchment.
As for now it all depends on your situations. Everyone has different needs and commitments to fulfill. You needs to support how many persons currently? Any outstanding loans be it HDB/property? How's much is your mthly expenses? How's your health conditions as now no more coy insurance to cover you. You needs to think about this? The above just some points that you needs to do your own calculations.
Your type of jobs easy to get jobs currently? Or may be can find some parttime jobs that you likes 1st as stop gap measure for the time being. Hope you're able to to figure out what to do next? All the best.

Lchlch

Any advice?
Bro, coy pay you good retrenchment package?

Lchlch

Any advice?
Bro, dnt gv up hope.
Dnt delay.
Update your resume.
Start sending resume to companies.

titusilvering

Any advice?
Work panda grab or use skill future for security guard course or ntuc membership for taxi phv course.

Approved by who sinkies voted for

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.