[Review] D-Link DIR-890L AC3200 ULTRA Tri-Band Gigabit WiFi Router

AshSim

u got see the rest from hwz? I think some tech bloggers also got write?

bear1sg

Anyone have ideal can this device support Singtel 500 mbps plan?
I last time a router end up can work with Singtel 100 mbps plan?
Anyone can advice

renfred89

Anyone have ideal can this device support Singtel 500 mbps plan?
I last time a router end up can work with Singtel 100 mbps plan?
Anyone can advice

definitely can work with singtel 500mbps. but you need to update its firmware to the latest one.

since it was only released not long ago, the stocks you buy on shelf might still run the older firmware..

AshSim

definitely can work with singtel 500mbps. but you need to update its firmware to the latest one.

since it was only released not long ago, the stocks you buy on shelf might still run the older firmware..

Wah Renfred u very good lei all these u also know... u work for them is sit? U got use their products?

renfred89

Wah Renfred u very good lei all these u also know... u work for them is sit? U got use their products?

Nope I didn't use dlink for a long time. The information can be obtained from dlink support website, so appreciate my effort that I took the time to check for u all.. :D

lookeong

I just bought a DIR-890L at comex at $339. Tested the new firmware that i downloaded from www.dlink.com.sg and it works perfectly with my Singtel Fiber plan 500Mbps.

AshSim

Nope I didn't use dlink for a long time. The information can be obtained from dlink support website, so appreciate my effort that I took the time to check for u all.. :D

Super touched that u check for us sia... u should get their product and try and review mah... then I will be more convinced.... lol

aLpHa-Ev7

same here.

running on firmware FW:1.01SG from D-Link SG website.

Enabled VLAN -> Set Internet VLAN 10, IPTV VLAN 20.
Set Port 4 to IPTV. Plug Mio to Port 4. All set!

Smart Connect works well so far. Will continue testing.

AshSim

same here.

running on firmware FW:1.01SG from D-Link SG website.

Enabled VLAN -> Set Internet VLAN 10, IPTV VLAN 20.
Set Port 4 to IPTV. Plug Mio to Port 4. All set!

Smart Connect works well so far. Will continue testing.

alpha, can share with us your testing results all?

aLpHa-Ev7

alpha, can share with us your testing results all?

Will do some testing tonight. What sort of tests are you looking for specifically?

My AC devices is only the MiTV and my iPhones. But will be comparing existing devices compared to my Asus N66U.

conradwee

After Sales Support

Yo guys, so I'm writing out like what happened to my Dlink 890L.
So basically, I'm on Starhub Cable Internet lah, and then one fine day, my Internet suddenly disappeared. Upon inspection, I believe that my router is faulty, since direct connection to modem works.

Called Dlink Support, which was horrible. They spoke with thick accent and could not really understood me. Over the course of 2 days, keep asking me reset my router.

Finally got escalated to "Level 2" technician, who actually didn't know much, other than tell me to flash 1.07 firmware, then RMA.

Went to Dlink service centre at Jurong and 1 for 1 exchange. Now its working quite well and I'm pretty impressed with their support.

AshSim

Will do some testing tonight. What sort of tests are you looking for specifically?

My AC devices is only the MiTV and my iPhones. But will be comparing existing devices compared to my Asus N66U.

I still noob... but just wonder if it makes a difference in different house setting. Mine's old hdb flat and I place spider at corner of my TV console... not really centralised but heng not much concrete wall...

The best is now I go toilet in kitchen still can watch youtube... lol!!!

renfred89

I still noob... but just wonder if it makes a difference in different house setting. Mine's old hdb flat and I place spider at corner of my TV console... not really centralised but heng not much concrete wall...

Go toilet should watch another tube what. Watch youtube for what sia.. :p

AshSim

Yo guys, so I'm writing out like what happened to my Dlink 890L.
So basically, I'm on Starhub Cable Internet lah, and then one fine day, my Internet suddenly disappeared. Upon inspection, I believe that my router is faulty, since direct connection to modem works.

Called Dlink Support, which was horrible. They spoke with thick accent and could not really understood me. Over the course of 2 days, keep asking me reset my router.

Finally got escalated to "Level 2" technician, who actually didn't know much, other than tell me to flash 1.07 firmware, then RMA.

Went to Dlink service centre at Jurong and 1 for 1 exchange. Now its working quite well and I'm pretty impressed with their support.

I confuse leh... u mean the support on the phone not good but after u change their support is good? they got rude or not?

ai ya, sure they get non-singaporeans for call support what... GE just over, maybe next time u don't see Singaporeans even working at Macdonalds liao... HAHAHAHAH

conradwee

Hey

The router got 2 different radio wave. 5ghz and 2.4. 2.4 is slower lah. And more congested cos many people use. The 5ghz can go through 1 concrete wall I think signal in toilet very difficult cos walls on all four side unless you from the toilet have clear line of sight to router like you walk out of toilet can you see the router? 2.4 can pass through like 3 walls but slower.

If you house can fulfil the requirement ( line of sight from router to device) max 1 wall then good lah if not buy a few cheap routers use as access points cos this router not cheap plus its the best a single wireless router can do.

If you need more help can PM me I can send you more details!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.