[Review] D-Link DIR-890L AC3200 ULTRA Tri-Band Gigabit WiFi Router

conradwee

I confuse leh... u mean the support on the phone not good but after u change their support is good? they got rude or not?

ai ya, sure they get non-singaporeans for call support what... GE just over, maybe next time u don't see Singaporeans even working at Macdonalds liao... HAHAHAHAH

Hahaha don't blame Govt lah. Hahaha
But anyway pretty sure call centre not in Sg like one call centre serve the whole Asia cos they keep asking for my country code.

At least they work 24 hours. Singaporeans where got 24 hour
They not rude just difficult understand plus limited technical know how as in keep asking me reset router only. Never check anything like logs

But at least the exchange was one for one. Rare already nowadays for other companies cos they all want make money....

After changing everything working fine alr! Yey!

Cheers

AshSim

Hahaha don't blame Govt lah. Hahaha
But anyway pretty sure call centre not in Sg like one call centre serve the whole Asia cos they keep asking for my country code.

At least they work 24 hours. Singaporeans where got 24 hour
They not rude just difficult understand plus limited technical know how as in keep asking me reset router only. Never check anything like logs

But at least the exchange was one for one. Rare already nowadays for other companies cos they all want make money....

After changing everything working fine alr! Yey!

Cheers

So now your speed how? I like mine very much... I think also cos I upgrade to 1Gbps plan... upload and download of videos /photos very fast! I place the red spider in living room, then surf from master bedroom... about 6 - 7m away from the router?, it's very good. I'm happy with the purchase though if the price point is lower then i'll be even happier!

spec07

What's the channel width which you guys set for 2.4GHz & 5GHz wireless settings for optimal performance? Do you guys leave it as auto or?

Not too sure does this settings have an impact or the wireless performance?

Ah-Pin-Kor

What's the channel width which you guys set for 2.4GHz & 5GHz wireless settings for optimal performance? Do you guys leave it as auto or?

For 2.4GHz, if you stay in an apartment where you can see many neighbours' wifi networks, it's better to use 20MHz channel width for less interference.

For 5GHz, I usually set it to the widest channel width.

shadowandy

Anybody tried out 1.08 firmware? QoS settings seems to be broken in this version. Updated the bandwidth limit and dragged one of the clients to the high priority field but it doesn't get saved.

mrsun18

You can try out the various options with the help of inSSIDer to see the wifi in your neighbourhood. Select either ch 1, 6, or 11, the usual recommended channels where there is the least congestion shown by inSSIDer. Verify with speedtest for best result. If you like, try channel bonding on 2.4G and compare the results.

For 5G, as recommended by Ah-Pin-Kor. inSSIDer will let you know why it is so.

The free inSSIDer is no longer available for download as far as I know. If you are using Windows, I can send you the free version if you will pm your email.

AshSim

You can try out the various options with the help of inSSIDer to see the wifi in your neighbourhood. Select either ch 1, 6, or 11, the usual recommended channels where there is the least congestion shown by inSSIDer. Verify with speedtest for best result. If you like, try channel bonding on 2.4G and compare the results.

For 5G, as recommended by Ah-Pin-Kor. inSSIDer will let you know why it is so.

The free inSSIDer is no longer available for download as far as I know. If you are using Windows, I can send you the free version if you will pm your email.

Whats inSSIDer?

mrsun18

"inSSIDer is an excellent Wi-Fi analyzer that can be installed on Windows and Mac machines" - so this is to analyse the neighbourhood Wi-Fi?
Plus more...I have already summarised the main purposes in my earlier post

xiaomengmeng66

I go dlink web site only saw 1.07 so i tested that one on my 890L and nv encounter the issue hmmmmm i can still save the QoS settings after i throw my clients to the "HDB Flat" (Priority Box) LOLOL.

Ah-Pin-Kor

The 1.08 firmware only available at the US, CA, AU (maybe others) support sites but not SG. Heard there were some problems with 1.08 but can't confirm now as I'm not on stock.

shadowandy

I go dlink web site only saw 1.07 so i tested that one on my 890L and nv encounter the issue hmmmmm i can still save the QoS settings after i throw my clients to the "HDB Flat" (Priority Box) LOLOL.

Hmmm.. I am on 1.08. The "HDB Flat" feature doesn't even work.

AshSim

He's using the special firmware version SG1.01 which has support for vlans (used for Singtel non-unlimited plans).

my friend wanted to buy but he worry dunno whether this one supports singtel mio tv or not... I cant tell him cos I don't have mio tv mah...

anyone can confirm or advise the configuration?

Ah-Pin-Kor

HyperBaka

planning to sign myrepublic 1gbps and getting a router. their bundle only includes ac87u which i heard there is lots of issue with the 5ghz.
so now thinking between asus ac68u(cheaper) or this.
read many reviews that this is the best ac3200 router so far, any comments?
and for the lowest price is 339 only during it show?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.