[Review] D-Link DIR-890L AC3200 ULTRA Tri-Band Gigabit WiFi Router

Ah-Pin-Kor

planning to sign myrepublic 1gbps and getting a router. their bundle only includes ac87u which i heard there is lots of issue with the 5ghz.
so now thinking between asus ac68u(cheaper) or this.
read many reviews that this is the best ac3200 router so far, any comments?
and for the lowest price is 339 only during it show?
I'm using both the AC68U and the 890L. AC3200 routers run hot so cooling is important. The irregular pyramid shape allows the hot air to rise and escape from the grill at the back. The stock firmware is pretty bare on features, compared to Asus. I run dd-wrt on mine.
Price-wise, rrp is steep. Seems like D-Link only lower the price to $339 during the major IT/PC shows. Amazon also sell quite high (US$288). Comex just over so have to wait for the year end one if you want to get it at the discounted price.

HyperBaka

Yea guess i will wait for next it show to buy this bundled tgt with the dwa192 wifi adapter at 399 :o

AshSim

Yea guess i will wait for next it show to buy this bundled tgt with the dwa192 wifi adapter at 399 :o

Haha, I bought during comex DIR-890L only cos I not sure whether or not I need the DWA-192. But have been reading up a bit. Seems like as of now, its the only AC1900 USB adapter in the market.

So far the DIR-890L very good. Maybe cos I've been using too old router before and I also upgrade my plan, so now everything runs in my house swee swee. Am happy.

You can also check out their FB. They on and off will post a bit of things. Anyone knows how much they sell at Challenger for members?

VodkaDevil

Final show is coming soon, not sure will D-Link have any special offer for DWA-192 or DIR-890L, because my few gamer friend are eyeing on those devices. HAhahahahaa

VodkaDevil

Will be travelling to Taiwan soon, not sure whether the price there cheaper than SG or not hahahaha

AshSim

Final show is coming soon, not sure will D-Link have any special offer for DWA-192 or DIR-890L, because my few gamer friend are eyeing on those devices. HAhahahahaa

I saw from other threads Asus got new products coming but so far for AC3200 routers, I think this D-Link 890L has the most worldwide awards leh... Its in SG since Feb I think? I consider more than 6 months then buy... hahahaha, by then, luckily their firmware now ok for my friends on Singtel... HAHAHAAH... I think they got put in effort la, at least very chio red...

AshSim

I saw from other threads Asus got new products coming but so far for AC3200 routers, I think this D-Link 890L has the most worldwide awards leh... Its in SG since Feb I think? I consider more than 6 months then buy... hahahaha, by then, luckily their firmware now ok for my friends on Singtel... HAHAHAAH... I think they got put in effort la, at least very chio red...

Can anyone advise if this router is good for gaming? I want start playing online games... not competitive cos super far from that level

renfred89

Can anyone advise if this router is good for gaming? I want start playing online games... not competitive cos super far from that level

all routers can game leh.. it only depends on the wireless connection. this 890L macam like monster, of cos can provide better wireless performance comparing to other models and brands, but wireless connection stability depends on many factors.

for your question, ideally it should be able to game over wireless, but no promise. haha.

lookeong

My Diablo online gaming experience is good with this beast DIR-890L. :D:D:s13:

AshSim

all routers can game leh.. it only depends on the wireless connection. this 890L macam like monster, of cos can provide better wireless performance comparing to other models and brands, but wireless connection stability depends on many factors.

for your question, ideally it should be able to game over wireless, but no promise. haha.
U got play gaming? I see USA D-link machiam very on for gaming events... wonder if sg will do that also

Sent from Samsung SM-N9005 using GAGT

rza29

using smartconnect but anyone got inssider to share? i want to check neighbours channels

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.