run away from army

Light Duty

Kenging will bite you in the ass, trust me.. it's not worth it. Don't wait for things to happen then regret. Just follow the flow.

adman76

Bro,

Nothing is totally waste of time one lah. In everything you go through, even the worst situations, you leave learning something. And don't keep thinking it's a waste of time. 2 years, if you do cock things you also waste it. To me sometimes, I feel this 2 years is needed to let you mature so that you don't throw away many more years in the future.

Hi guys. Im super not willing to serve army for 2 years. Totally useless. Waste of time. HDB 500k and my progress will be slowed down by NS. I was thinking to differ and differ till I get my certs and migrate out of this country. Main question is, will my family get into trouble because of me? And will I be caught overseas? I remember reading a law where if you are out of the country you wont be caught cause you are protected by a law of freedom. I forgot exactly what it is. And I do not wish to stay on this country where I have to work till im super old to pay for a roof over my head. So I plan to go overseas to live and work there. The grass on the other side may not be easy to digest but im sure its alot greener. But whatever. Please guide me on this Instead of lecturing me? Thanks alot for clearing my doubts guys

fr0stborne

i also dun like serving, no matter how people try to convince you say what make the most out of your time, only opportunity to get real fit, whatever, still dosnt work on me, maybe im too cynical.

I just enlisted not too long ago, today's my first bookout weekend. What i have to say is, just suck it up and do it lor. If you hate NS then just stay low profile in camp, dun volunteer to be ic and whatever, dont act smart and complain this and that to your superiors, just follow the guiding words: Serve And F-off. Do your basic part, dont drag ur fellow recruits down, just follow instructions and live each day hoping for the next day to be better

seriously i know it sucks when being dragged down to being the lowest lifeform, the lowest hierarchy, probably even lower than the untouchables. I was doing reasonably well in school based on hard work and support from family. I believed I deserved at least some better recognition than being labeled lowest life form. But to me just endure, no choice gota serve your 2 years "sentence" for being born in SG. Strictly speaking only the BMT period will be the darkest period of your NS life i believe (assuming u dont go command schs), especially the first few weeks. Just tell yourself only once in ur life you will have to go through this

Light Duty

i also dun like serving, no matter how people try to convince you say what make the most out of your time, only opportunity to get real fit, whatever, still dosnt work on me, maybe im too cynical.

I just enlisted not too long ago, today's my first bookout weekend. What i have to say is, just suck it up and do it lor. If you hate NS then just stay low profile in camp, dun volunteer to be ic and whatever, dont act smart and complain this and that to your superiors, just follow the guiding words: Serve And F-off. Do your basic part, dont drag ur fellow recruits down, just follow instructions and live each day hoping for the next day to be better

seriously i know it sucks when being dragged down to being the lowest lifeform, the lowest hierarchy, probably even lower than the untouchables. I was doing reasonably well in school based on hard work and support from family. I believed I deserved at least some better recognition than being labeled lowest life form. But to me just endure, no choice gota serve your 2 years "sentence" for being born in SG. Strictly speaking only the BMT period will be the darkest period of your NS life i believe (assuming u dont go command schs), especially the first few weeks. Just tell yourself only once in ur life you will have to go through this
154 Intake? You're my junior. Trust me bro, it gets better after a few weeks, then it'll be even better after you're posted out (get to go home everyday and see your loved ones), you're only here for 2 weeks. :) If you need to talk to someone, you can PM me.

reddevil0728

Best is leave tonight. Cannot tui liao.. remember how mas salamak escape? try that method. Go far far don't ever come back. just remember 2016 remotely vote the correct party help us all no need serve too.

Can u refresh my memory which party say they will abolish NS? Thanks

NWT1978

Best is leave tonight. Cannot tui liao.. remember how mas salamak escape? try that method. Go far far don't ever come back. just remember 2016 remotely vote the correct party help us all no need serve too.

which one say so? :eek:
how we going to defend our country? :s22:
then how about the rest of us already served?:eek: think us as suckers?:s22:

Jordan

A lot of siao lang in this forum, esp with political motives. You want to advise people, also cannot anyhow say. Later ganna caught, can police charge you for being the mastermind?

j_t_fusion

people tend to think that the internet is anonymous so can anyhow say... unfortunately that is not the case.

icestrike

Hi guys. Im super not willing to serve army for 2 years. Totally useless. Waste of time. HDB 500k and my progress will be slowed down by NS. I was thinking to differ and differ till I get my certs and migrate out of this country. Main question is, will my family get into trouble because of me? And will I be caught overseas? I remember reading a law where if you are out of the country you wont be caught cause you are protected by a law of freedom. I forgot exactly what it is. And I do not wish to stay on this country where I have to work till im super old to pay for a roof over my head. So I plan to go overseas to live and work there. The grass on the other side may not be easy to digest but im sure its alot greener. But whatever. Please guide me on this Instead of lecturing me? Thanks alot for clearing my doubts guys

Hey TS, you're probably around 18/19 and making a lot of life crossroad choices. My advice is not to have a simplistic view and consider other aspects of your possible actions.

I'm currently in Australia. Fresh Grad. And looking for a Job to gain some overseas experience before moving back to SG. So all my views would be skewed to Australia, in any case it’s a popular destination for Singaporeans.

Sure if you immigrated to another country you could avoid NS, but you might also want to consider the social aspects of an action like this. What about your friends? The people you grew up with? Your family, bro sis Dad Mum? Grandparents? Are you willing to give them up just not to do NS?
I have a friend who at a young age immigrated to Australia and never went back to do NS, mainly because his parents didn't allow him to. Somehow or rather he eventually married a SG girl he met in Uni. It’s quite sad that because of his parent's actions [not allowing to do NS], they were not able to hold a reception for her friends in SG.

Any case, a lot of Singaporeans who immigrated young to other countries came back to SG to do their NS. So far I've met about 10 such people. Some became officers, some just became regular clerks. After NS they returned back to Australia and got their citizenship.

In Australia, being part of the ARMY is a very prestigious occupation. People actually look up to individuals who were part of the ARMY or the Reserves. Just trying to apply for a Job there, you'd have to be the top 1/3 in order to get selected. People do ask you a lot of questions if they find out you were an ex military personnel.

In truth, NS to me was not totally useless. I learnt a lot of skills, self management, how to be independent, and how to work in a team. All of which are skills that helped prepare me for life/uni in Australia. I found that those skills also helped prepare me for work. I was lucky to have become an Air Force technician coming out of SP Dip in Aerospace Engineering, which added to my work experience.

The Grass is never always greener on the other side. From our Singaporean perspective, the grass may look scrumptious, but that’s because it’s all cherry picked. This year and the last, Australia’s economy has been on the down, people are losing Jobs. I know someone who was Jobless for a year.
Buying a house close to the city would cost about the same as in Singapore. Tax is high. Commodities are not cheap. Fuel prices are ex. The only common thing that’s cheaper are cars.

Sorry if my post’s abit jumbled up. What I wanna conclude to you is just do it. Go in with a positive mind. Once you’re done with NS, you’ll come out more mature and focused. If Life to you is just trying to pay for a 500k House, you’re in for a BIG surprise =]

duhduhduh

It can be done. Just that you can no longer step into Singapore ever again.

malevolent94

Don't close that door. Do the two years then leave. At least if you do the two years you can come back as a tourist. That's what I'm doing. If you go into NS with a terrible attitude its going to suck but honestly even though I'm struggling with money here away from my family in the UK I still really enjoy it!

lord92

I know of friends during my NS time, they came back from Australia to serve and they finished it. Can do one.

arsira

Even a chao ah kua better than a man who run away from NS,at least they served finished. What so big problem about 2yrs NS? Sia suay.

Blahhh

lol cannot even spell "defer" correctly, still want to pull stunt. u sound like an immatured, naive and dumb kid. I doubt you have the resources to run and even if you do, the citizen of your new "home" will eat u alive, judging by your personality portrayed here.

Resurrect93

Brother, just serve. Not lecturing you. I too am unhappy abd uncomfortable with the living standard of Singapore and the foreigners who plunder us.

Yet it is unfair towards your bros and friends who served before you.

In regardless of how unhappy you are with THIS country. Remember that it is THIS country that provide us with the best medical care so we survive till age of 18 and above. Millions of children die young without receiving vaccines.

It is THIS country that provide us with education that is recognized almost everywhere in the world. Try comparing it with a cert from Malaysia, or even China.

It is THIS country that provide you and me with a safe and secure environment that we grew up healthily. Many children are kidnapped to be beggars or child labour. Remember the MacDonald two boy who went missing? Wonder how they hope to be in our position of complaining to serve?

It is THUS our duty to return the favour as a Singaporean. To be fair to those before us and fair to ourselves and our next generation.

I will serve and leave it to our next generation to choose to serve or not. I would fight for their rights when the percentage of foreign born is greater than local. And when their own children do not serve. Anyway you can too. It is your choice, no one can lecture you on your decision.

Just do not look back and regret on choices?

Kyoji83

1) I work in GLC & MNC before. A degree from Malaysia or even China have the same employment standing as our local Uni degree.

2) Maybe the heath care is better then the 3rd world countries but we are 1st world country! I think you are still young. Tell them that you are a Singaporean who have serve his NS & try going to see a doctor for medical consultation without paying cash upfront in a public polyclinic or hospital if they will allow you or not.

Brother, just serve. Not lecturing you. I too am unhappy abd uncomfortable with the living standard of Singapore and the foreigners who plunder us.

Yet it is unfair towards your bros and friends who served before you.

In regardless of how unhappy you are with THIS country. Remember that it is THIS country that provide us with the best medical care so we survive till age of 18 and above. Millions of children die young without receiving vaccines.

It is THIS country that provide us with education that is recognized almost everywhere in the world. Try comparing it with a cert from Malaysia, or even China.

It is THIS country that provide you and me with a safe and secure environment that we grew up healthily. Many children are kidnapped to be beggars or child labour. Remember the MacDonald two boy who went missing? Wonder how they hope to be in our position of complaining to serve?

It is THUS our duty to return the favour as a Singaporean. To be fair to those before us and fair to ourselves and our next generation.

I will serve and leave it to our next generation to choose to serve or not. I would fight for their rights when the percentage of foreign born is greater than local. And when their own children do not serve. Anyway you can too. It is your choice, no one can lecture you on your decision.

Just do not look back and regret on choices?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.