Russia would not have invaded Ukraine if it had been member of NATO

bluerhino

I know.. but some ppl here support Russia and say Ukraine should kow tow to Russia and stop their relationship with NATO.. once u kow tow to russia, expect Russia to impose their rules and implement their own support puppet as Ukraine govt..

So one day if China or any neighbour big country were to ask our country to kow tow to them, we just wave white flag and submit ourself to China or the big country? Then we need an army for what?
To answer your question once and for all, if a big country really want us to kowtow otherwise they will bomb us to kingdom come then yes I think Singapore will really wave white flag and give in to them. Our armed forces is only for us to appear like a prickly porcupine so that the tiger next door don’t come and attack us. If prc drive their bulldozer towards us of course the porcupine will wave white flag.

Capitalist

This guy delusional or what? One moment say they will not join Nato then now say Russia will not attack if they are part of nato. The moment they try to join Russia will whack liao
You need to know the sequencing.

NTB2DO

We neutral??? we support USA in sanctions against Ukraine, we let USA use our country as base. Our pilot are trained in USA. Do we let China use our country as base? Do we conduct exercise with China?

We are pro-USA. Imagine IF China tell us to stop cooperating with USA as China see USA presence in our country as a threat and ask that we stop all military ties with the USA. How? Do we listen to china? if not we end up like Ukraine kana attacked by China.. How?
So u are saying we need to kow tow to china and stop cooperating with USA just like u say Ukraine should kow tow to Russia and stop cooperating with NATO?

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...meeting-lloyd-austin-region-stability-2060876In a joint statement issued after the meeting, the defence chiefs highlighted the signing of the 2019 Protocol of Amendment renewing a 1990 memorandum of understanding (MOU) that facilitates US forces' access to Singapore's military facilities for transit and logistics support.
https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/go...-uphold-principles-trade-is-strategy-for-asia
Citing the overnight United Nations vote to demand an immediate Russian withdrawal, Balakrishnan added: "We do not take sides, but we do take a stand to uphold existential principles. We make common cause with our neighbours and our friends within Asean and the UN General Assembly to the maximum extent possible."
Balakrishnan also stressed that "we make decisions based on our national interests, and make it clear that we are not a proxy, vassal state or cat's paw of any country" amid tensions between the top economies of the US and China.
:o

NTB2DO

To answer your question once and for all, if a big country really want us to kowtow otherwise they will bomb us to kingdom come then yes I think Singapore will really wave white flag and give in to them. Our armed forces is only for us to appear like a prickly porcupine so that the tiger next door don’t come and attack us. If prc drive their bulldozer towards us of course the porcupine will wave white flag.
Yup, our defense approach has always been deterrence rather than to win in a war.

https://mothership.sg/2018/06/singapore-poisonous-shrimp-lee-kuan-yew-foreign-policy/
In 1966, Lee Kuan Yew gave a speech at the University of Singapore speaking about Singapore's place in the world.

In his speech, he quoted a Chinese proverb: "Big fish eat small fish; small fish eat shrimps".

There are different types of shrimps, he said. Some develop defence mechanisms while others are poisonous: "If you eat them, you will get digestive upsets."

Given the size of other countries and their military capabilities, Singapore was merely a shrimp in the global sea.

According to him, we had to at least become a poisonous shrimp. If not, we may very well be absorbed by the "bigger fish".

tth1311

Why not go back further that if Russia able to prevent the dissolution of the Soviet Union, then this war could be avoided?

Russia would not have invaded Ukraine if it had been not requested to join as a member of NATO​

NTB2DO

Russia would not have invaded Ukraine if it had been not requested to join as a member of NATO​

Russia would not have invaded Ukraine if NATO had allowed Ukraine to join as a member of NATO​

if you agree with American political scientist John Mearsheimer, then tth1311 is right.

https://www.newyorker.com/news/q-and-a/why-john-mearsheimer-blames-the-us-for-the-crisis-in-ukraine
..I think all the trouble in this case really started in April, 2008, at the nato Summit in Bucharest, where afterward nato issued a statement that said Ukraine and Georgia would become part of nato. The Russians made it unequivocally clear at the time that they viewed this as an existential threat, and they drew a line in the sand.
If Ukraine becomes a pro-American liberal democracy, and a member of nato, and a member of the E.U., the Russians will consider that categorically unacceptable. If there were no nato expansion and no E.U. expansion, and Ukraine just became a liberal democracy and was friendly with the United States and the West more generally, it could probably get away with that. You want to understand that there is a three-prong strategy at play here: E.U. expansion, nato expansion, and turning Ukraine into a pro-American liberal democracy.
It’s not imperialism; this is great-power politics. When you’re a country like Ukraine and you live next door to a great power like Russia, you have to pay careful attention to what the Russians think, because if you take a stick and you poke them in the eye, they’re going to retaliate. States in the Western hemisphere understand this full well with regard to the United States.

Laofuzi67

One thing for sure: Never join NATO 100% KANA ATTACKED LIAO AS WHAT IS HAPPENING NOW!

Join NATO will kana attacked? we have to wait and see if Russia will attack Poland or not lo since Poland joined NATO and is one of those country that Putin has intention to attack, this one no one knows
Join NATO is like join gang
They will offer you protection
Las time got 2 gangs nato and Warsaw Pact
Now left nato as biggest gang

BohemianSG

This Zelenskyy is very very very tiring. Everyday he change script and say things that can be the opposite of what he said the previous day.

Can he see that the Ukranians have lost lives and property and reduced to refugees while he engage in the biggest role of his life. Or he too self absorbed?

swageat

Russia would not have invaded Ukraine if it had been member of NATO, says Zelenskyy
Read more At:
https://www.aninews.in/news/world/e...-member-of-nato-says-zelenskyy20220320213605/
FNxCbHTaAAEbGEQ202203140012522022031400380420220315133539202203161501432022031_xks19PQ.jpg

this is expected as a lot of pple knows. however, there should be some hidden reason(s) as well

lumpyme

facts are facts, putin has already said that he has intention to restore russia to ussr
therefore regardless of whether ukraine joins nato, requested to join nato or didn't even bother to join nato, russia would attack if possible

we can therefore conclude that the statement that russia would not have attacked if ukraine did not ask to join nato is not based on fact.

whether russia would attack if ukraine was part of nato is up for debate

singapurablue

The main objectives of NATO skewed after the Cold War. After the collapse of Soviet Empire. It was more of a creation of a visionary enemy for western bloc to maintain military fighting strengths, and to find purpose in society. It was also a fact a key containment to Germany and Frances' might. Then during 1990s, NATO found Russia too weak to oppose their expansion. Leaders and after leaders of NATO, USA and western democratic countries find modern Russia an easy target, which after Putin took over, he has revamped his military and economic activities to thrive. In context, this is like when Israel trained our pioneer soldiers here, we kept wrapped away from our neighbours lest them invade us. I was activated then.

OrLengJuz

I would say I am enlightened to the way the world works. At least I won’t say things like why a sovereign nation cannot decide for itself. Don’t be so naive.
Call it naivety... But Sometimes your logical way is not the way the Ukrainian would like to live, look away, bending over get f over... Else how the f they can hold out for so long.
U are speaking as a typical kiasu kiasi sinkie who is interested in stability, bringing food to the table. Feed your family etc, but others might value principle and free will more. They knew these comes with a cost.

OrLengJuz

facts are facts, putin has already said that he has intention to restore russia to ussr
therefore regardless of whether ukraine joins nato, requested to join nato or didn't even bother to join nato, russia would attack if possible

we can therefore conclude that the statement that russia would not have attacked if ukraine did not ask to join nato is not based on fact.

whether russia would attack if ukraine was part of nato is up for debate
Meaning cech republic, Slovakia will be next after Ukraine

NATO can easily test this hypothesis by allowing Ukraine to join NATO ASAP. See if Russia will withdraw.

If so, Zelensky is right. Otherwise, another fault finding exercise to add to the "It's NATO's fault for not giving me a no fly zone" list.
Why not test the hypothesis if Putin will nuke the earth by invading Russia? Since its so convenient to just test.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.