SAF fieldpack always need tea lights. but what for?

seowbin

They say is to light inside boots to make it dry faster when it gets wet.

After almost 15 years I still havent seen a single person doing that...
I got use before leh but same time people warn about centipede might go inside seeking warm. 😂

Used it in Brunei

Nuclear Boy

Candles are an important part of a survival kit.

Unlike matches or a lighter, candles can provide a source of light (useful when batteries in a flashlight are drained) and flame for extended periods (useful and reliable replacement for kindling).
But still need a way to light the candles in the first place... In an extremely humid environment like jungles, you'd be hard pressed to start one via friction, unless it is one of those extremely dry periods during El Nino.

Whimsica

At night massage your buddy more fweel

young-man-enjoying-on-a-massage-treatment-at-the-spa.jpg

Orphan

But still need a way to light the candles in the first place... In an extremely humid environment like jungles, you'd be hard pressed to start one via friction, unless it is one of those extremely dry periods during El Nino.
Yup, still need a way to light them.

Lighters and matches dipped in waterproofing wax are also important parts of a survival kit and are the easiest sources of ignition to use.

The SAF field pack mentioned in TS's post which contains the candles, includes a lighter. So luckily, at least this part is provisioned for.

Slightly more troublesome to use is a magnesium bar with flint & steel. The magnesium shavings serve as fast burning kindling. But these must buy first. Still requires some kindling since the magnesium shavings burns out quite quickly.

Next lower level comes fire piston. Also must buy/self make. Requires kindling.

The most primitive and labor intensive way is via friction. Though the required components (2 dry sticks) are also the most readily available if one is not prepared.

Yes, generally harder to start a fire by rubbing sticks in humid environments. However, it's no so bad as needing to wait for extremely dry seasons.

The forests in Singapore, Malaysia and Indonesia are amongst the most humid forests in the world. Confirmed no issues. As long as one knows what to look for and where to find them, it's easy to find sufficiently dead & dry leaves/twigs/branches everywhere.

Dry kindling/wood left exposed in a humid environment is different from them being soaked in water. The former can still be used to start fires.

In one of my river trekking trips in Malaysia (Berkelah Falls), have started a camp fire with a magnesium bar and a dried bird's nest for kindling.

We used parangs and a wire saw to cut a fallen dead tree that was partially soaked on the riverbank (bird nest was from the dry part of the tree), floated it across the river bank and used it to keep the fire going the whole night. Once a fire is going, it will dry up the soaked parts.

cavver777

They say is to light inside boots to make it dry faster when it gets wet.

After almost 15 years I still havent seen a single person doing that...

The only time you can used that is when you are in a forward field base …

when you are laagering or harbouring during movement, I doubt you can use it without discover by enemies.

seowbin

how does one lit a tea light out there in the woods? :s11:
Got bring matches one what. 😂

When we go Brunei, we can opt to bring anything we want. End up the whole section like 7 people? Only 1 person bring maggi mee . Raining + whole body wet. Actually jiak Maggie mee is the most luxurious thing liao compared to combat ration which we all bring. Knn. Everyone share that Maggie mee. Remember till now. Easily 20 years liao

End up I outfield 4days but never eat any combat ration

Knightoftheblackrose

There’s a lot of smokers around.

There will always be someone carrying a lighter.

Shaibaba87

Everything you also want to wait for CQ to issue the day before and during ops? As it is, the combat train has to carry 40 jerry cans of water, 48 hrs of combat ration, all heavy items for defense (tripods, con wires, pickets etc), ammos. And oh yes all your full packs when you are on attack.

If you have your way, need to add another tonner for company convenience stores (to issue pens, candles, tissue paper, range cards, sticks, rope, snacks, soft drinks etc and all the conveniences for YOU).

And resupply usually is to be completed fast like 15-30mins. But with your smart idea, resupply will take 2hrs.

And unlike what you think, the CQ is the busiest person the day before moving out. Must prepare all the items for combat train, go for company meetings and S4 dept meetings. coordinate with cookhouse, coordinate with MT line, coordinate with Medical center for status of report sick everyday during exercise, confirm with all depts for rations of attached personnel, T loan equipments like signal sets, binos from HQ/Support coys and if necessary from other units, chase the platoon sergeants to load their platoon stores. Every faulty equipment issued to you last min say need to exchange also must source for you immediately you know? Ask you make sure you got your own candle very difficult ah?
Sounds like a cq/rq or s4 here

bombshell

2 candle 小火 can warm up your food.
4 candle 中火 can cook maggi mee.
6 candle 大火 can fry CKT got wok hei.

HelloWorld123

according to google tea light is primarily use to create nice ambience. army need tea light for what leh? cant be for romantic ambient tio bo?

standby fieldpack items need but until now dunno for what purpose
Obviously you never dig a foxhole before.

You dig a defensive position only at night and not in broad day light foe enemy to see.

You start digging at last light then start using your candles when your fox hide is ankle deep so that the light does not shine out. And dig till the morning hoping that the ground is soft enough that you can complete your foxhole that reach your chest level deep.

It's a stupid experience to dig foxhole. You are worst than the bangala worker

articland05

Obviously you never dig a foxhole before.

You dig a defensive position only at night and not in broad day light foe enemy to see.

You start digging at last light then start using your candles when your fox hide is ankle deep so that the light does not shine out. And dig till the morning hoping that the ground is soft enough that you can complete your foxhole that reach your chest level deep.

It's a stupid experience to dig foxhole. You are worst than the bangala worker
i think everyone got dig foxhole before ba...it is part of the ritual.
but i don't recall tea light got any use in foxhole leh 🤔

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.