i think everyone got dig foxhole before ba...it is part of the ritual.
but i don't recall tea light got any use in foxhole leh![]()
You dig shell scape or foxhole?i think everyone got dig foxhole before ba...it is part of the ritual.
but i don't recall tea light got any use in foxhole leh![]()
They say is to light inside boots to make it dry faster when it gets wet.
After almost 15 years I still havent seen a single person doing that...
Trust me, happened before.
When you are left with possibility of a foot rot or risk of burning your shoes. I will choose burning of shoes everyday
saw before.. if not careful can burn a hole in ur boots..![]()
but very mafan to set it up
Jlb bmt mate did that and burned a hole in the boot.![]()
Last time went brunei then did river crossing
That night everyone put it to try to dry their boots and socks
I've done before really dry but need to be careful
For drying the insides of wet boots. But no one ever taught me that while I was serving, nor did I see anyone doing that ever.
5G soldier still thinking like 2G olive green VI grad. Sibei jialat.I got use before leh but same time people warn about centipede might go inside seeking warm.
Used it in Brunei
.....apple is not orange.In the context of the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) and National Service, they are most often referred to by their brand name:
Cyalume
Here are the key details about them:
· What they are: Single-use, disposable light sources that produce a cold, chemical light through a process called chemiluminescence.
· How they work: You bend the plastic stick, which breaks a small glass vial inside. This mixes two chemical compounds, which then react and produce a glowing light for several hours.
· Common Colours: Green, red, blue, and yellow. Each colour has specific tactical uses:
· Green: Most common for general marking (e.g., marking a rally point, a path, or the position of a squad leader).
· Red: Preserves night vision; used for reading maps and inside command posts. Also used to mark "enemy" positions during exercises.
· Blue: Often used to mark vehicles or for specific logistical purposes.
· Yellow/White: Good for general illumination where night vision isn't as critical.
---
What They Are Called in NS:
While the generic term is "light stick," in the SAF you will almost always hear them called by the brand name:
1. "Cyalume" (Say-a-lume): This is the most frequent and understood term. It's like using "Xerox" for photocopying.
2. "Glow Stick": A common layman's term that everyone understands.
3. "Chemlight": A technical term derived from "chemical light," also widely used in military jargon.
Their Use in National Service:
These are essential tools for night operations because they are:
· Silent (unlike flares).
· Cold (produce no heat, unlike flares).
· Reliable and waterproof.
Specific NS Examples:
· Tying a green Cyalume to your field pack so the soldier behind you can follow in the dark.
· Marking the corners of a company perimeter with different colours.
· Using a red Cyalume inside a shellscrape to see your rifle and equipment without ruining your night vision.
· Attaching them to antennae or vehicles for identification.
So, the colourful sticks that illuminate upon bending, used extensively in NS, are Cyalumes or military-grade light sticks.
Means TS never chiong sua? Office clerk is it?
Wtf is tea light pls teach boomer. Moi only know tea danceaccording to google tea light is primarily use to create nice ambience. army need tea light for what leh? cant be for romantic ambient tio bo?
standby fieldpack items need but until now dunno for what purpose
u think we used it yesterday or something is it?5G soldier still thinking like 2G olive green VI grad. Sibei jialat.
Deepavali round the corner. Should be easy to understand in person.Wtf is tea light pls teach boomer. Moi only know tea dance
On the topic of defensive exercise. I would rather chiong a hill or.climb a mountain than to do foxhole digging.You dig shell scape or foxhole?
Dig foxhole is to chest level. Digging at night without any light, how to dig, you try digging in taking that is without any light source. You dun even know where or how to dig if there is no light source. The candle is used to illuminate a bit on the foxhole
cyalume stick and tea light got simi link??In the context of the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) and National Service, they are most often referred to by their brand name:
Cyalume
Here are the key details about them:
· What they are: Single-use, disposable light sources that produce a cold, chemical light through a process called chemiluminescence.
· How they work: You bend the plastic stick, which breaks a small glass vial inside. This mixes two chemical compounds, which then react and produce a glowing light for several hours.
· Common Colours: Green, red, blue, and yellow. Each colour has specific tactical uses:
· Green: Most common for general marking (e.g., marking a rally point, a path, or the position of a squad leader).
· Red: Preserves night vision; used for reading maps and inside command posts. Also used to mark "enemy" positions during exercises.
· Blue: Often used to mark vehicles or for specific logistical purposes.
· Yellow/White: Good for general illumination where night vision isn't as critical.
---
What They Are Called in NS:
While the generic term is "light stick," in the SAF you will almost always hear them called by the brand name:
1. "Cyalume" (Say-a-lume): This is the most frequent and understood term. It's like using "Xerox" for photocopying.
2. "Glow Stick": A common layman's term that everyone understands.
3. "Chemlight": A technical term derived from "chemical light," also widely used in military jargon.
Their Use in National Service:
These are essential tools for night operations because they are:
· Silent (unlike flares).
· Cold (produce no heat, unlike flares).
· Reliable and waterproof.
Specific NS Examples:
· Tying a green Cyalume to your field pack so the soldier behind you can follow in the dark.
· Marking the corners of a company perimeter with different colours.
· Using a red Cyalume inside a shellscrape to see your rifle and equipment without ruining your night vision.
· Attaching them to antennae or vehicles for identification.
So, the colourful sticks that illuminate upon bending, used extensively in NS, are Cyalumes or military-grade light sticks.
Means TS never chiong sua? Office clerk is it?
best job is enemy OICOn the topic of defensive exercise. I would rather chiong a hill or.climb a mountain than to do foxhole digging.
Defensive operation is a three exercise in one.
First exercise is to calculate all the necessary digging tools, concertina wires, sand bags, wooden logs etc that required by the whole unit and then load them into the vehicles. Trust me the.amount required by a unit no mean feat. You start to labour in camp and exercise is not even started.
2nd exercise is the actual start, you drive the vehicles.to various designated dropping point within the units Defensive location, then each platoon, section has to go to these central dumping point for all their needs in full battle order and rifle. Carrying the tools back to each individual trench which are likely to be few hundred metres away for the furthest trench. You Jon as a bangala worker start there. Then for the next few days, you dig and dig, fill sand bags, put up concertina wires, put up booby traps etc. Effective slog like a dog.
Finally the times when then exercise is cut. Then the 3rd exercise begins which will take another day. you will need to fill up the holes that you dig, remove all wires and man made obstacles. Carry the digging tools, wires , sandbag etc to the drop off point and then load up vehicles by vehicles. Once back camp, need to wash the tools and return the equipment to the stores.
At least when you choing sua, you dun need to prepare the hill before Chiong. After chiong, you just f off. No need to tear down the hill.
So offensive ops anytime is better then Defensive ops.
cyalume stick and tea light got simi link??
.....apple is not orange.
5G soldier still thinking like 2G olive green VI grad. Sibei jialat.
Lighter is one of the standard pack items everyone carries. Makes perfect sense laThere’s a lot of smokers around.
There will always be someone carrying a lighter.
They say is to light inside boots to make it dry faster when it gets wet.
Aromatherapy, essential oil diffuser
Heat pack is to keep warm leh. Not hot enough to dry soggy boots5G soldier still thinking like 2G olive green VI grad. Sibei jialat.
how u know? i have never heard of this despite serving ns and reservist. never knew what it was used for.They say is to light inside boots to make it dry faster when it gets wet.