Samsung Beam?

Bimb0s

ripper gostan !! recommend me some apps!!!
any good camera apps? btw i didn feel any of the shutter lag you guys mention, taking pictures and videos are a breeze!
but the lag is quite bad zzzz... but it dosen really matter, cos i dun scroll my phone the whole day. lol.

RipperJack

ripper gostan !! recommend me some apps!!!
any good camera apps? btw i didn feel any of the shutter lag you guys mention, taking pictures and videos are a breeze!
but the lag is quite bad zzzz... but it dosen really matter, cos i dun scroll my phone the whole day. lol.
the shutter lag is especially bad indoors.
outdoors is quite ok.

one thing ripper discovered is, turning off the flash give you better peektures :o

ripper was trying out Camera360 quite fun! :D
1 of the effects ripper tried out :D

1zf085z.jpg

edit:
for the lag, install Advanced Task Killer.
for ripper, DON'T AUTOSTART
just set the autokill level to Safe
then use the widget now and then to kill apps.

what ripper discovered is the longer ripper dun soft reset, the smoother the Beam is :D
scrolling is smooth and zappy.

2 other great apps must have are launcher pro and handcent sms

MislycA

Thanks for the Photo Ripper. Flash looks decent. I have got used to a great flash with the N82 xenon camera flash, and the Beam's flash looks like it does the job!

Argh! I am so excited by this phone! I cant wait to see the projector in action.

goaheadbingostan

think 95% of the users are guys la :s13:

girls where will fancy such a bulky phone? :crazy:

ripper says that time at the samsung centre repair centre, 3 girls sent in their Beam for petty issues. :o

Anyway, this short video shows my kitties are fans of Beam. Excuse the mess. :o

MislycA

I wonder what the cats are thinking!?

I am thinking that I want AV Video / HDMI input so I can further utilise my projector. For example - plug in my Xbox!

Projection looked good on the video, I suspect it looks even better in real life. Also the sound coming from the Beam's stereo speakers sounded loud and clear!

Can one of the luck Galaxy Beam owners try this experiment? Is the projected image good enough to read eBooks projected onto a white ceiling while in bed at night? Is the text clear enough to be easlily readable?

goaheadbingostan

Actually the projection can illuminate a much wider area. Yes, under poor light condition, the projection is clearer.

goaheadbingostan

the shutter lag is especially bad indoors.
outdoors is quite ok.

one thing ripper discovered is, turning off the flash give you better peektures :o

ripper was trying out Camera360 quite fun! :D
1 of the effects ripper tried out :D

1zf085z.jpg

edit:
for the lag, install Advanced Task Killer.
for ripper, DON'T AUTOSTART
just set the autokill level to Safe
then use the widget now and then to kill apps.

what ripper discovered is the longer ripper dun soft reset, the smoother the Beam is :D
scrolling is smooth and zappy.

2 other great apps must have are launcher pro and handcent sms

Just DL laucher pro, thanks. Gostan hasn't really tried out the camera yet except taken a few photos. Btw, what's the XY cream on the table? :o

megalord

ripper says that time at the samsung centre repair centre, 3 girls sent in their Beam for petty issues. :o

Thanks alot for the video! It tells us alot alot. :) Impressive projection even under daylight!

Bimb0s

arghhh, the super amoled screen protector fell off when i pull it outta my pocket!!! no screen protector!!! shucks.

RAW IS NOT GOOD!

anyone knows where to get the protector?

oh, btw, camera 360 rox. fx camera isnt too bad as well.

RipperJack

great that you put up a video, ripper shan't post moi one le.

ripper is having nightmare converting, editing and rendering the toopig .MOV file moi digicam records in :s22:
time to assemble a new pc :sad:

see the video, can only say it does not do justice to the projector. seeing it 'live' will be at least 100% better than what is being seen on this youtube :o

agree?

RipperJack

I wonder what the cats are thinking!?

I am thinking that I want AV Video / HDMI input so I can further utilise my projector. For example - plug in my Xbox!

Projection looked good on the video, I suspect it looks even better in real life. Also the sound coming from the Beam's stereo speakers sounded loud and clear!

Can one of the luck Galaxy Beam owners try this experiment? Is the projected image good enough to read eBooks projected onto a white ceiling while in bed at night? Is the text clear enough to be easlily readable?
yes, it's alot better in real life, provided surroundings are not too bright.
in pitch dark, the projector works like a charm. as good as a full-sized projector.

even dark movie scenes are also very clear.

too bad ripper's video can't be uploaded due to logistics problems.
ripper's demo includes reading ebook and browse photo gallery.
text is very sharp.

goaheadbingostan

great that you put up a video, ripper shan't post moi one le.

ripper is having nightmare converting, editing and rendering the toopig .MOV file moi digicam records in :s22:
time to assemble a new pc :sad:

see the video, can only say it does not do justice to the projector. seeing it 'live' will be at least 100% better than what is being seen on this youtube :o

agree?

No offence, maybe can upgrade to a new pc.

Yes, in live you can see the projection is much bigger. When I record it and view it on my cam, i am still able to see my cat, and the LCD t.v. for a size comparison. After compression & uploading to you-tude, i can't see it anymore.

RipperJack

arghhh, the super amoled screen protector fell off when i pull it outta my pocket!!! no screen protector!!! shucks.

RAW IS NOT GOOD!

anyone knows where to get the protector?

oh, btw, camera 360 rox. fx camera isnt too bad as well.
bro, you really don't need a screen protector unless u really rough-handle your phone or throw your phone into handbags that store your keys and coins, etc :D

the screen is made of hard material. scratch-resistant de. ripper has been using PDAs from non-phone era till now.

at first also use screen protectors. then see the screen protector kena scratches, ripper thot HENG ah! protected the screen, if not the screen kena scratched liao. but as time goes by, ripper became more daring and do without screen protectors.

that's when ripper realised the screen itself is alot alot tougher than the screen protector. while your screen protector scratches easy, your screen does not. and mind you, last time use PDA is with stylus, drawing on the screen and poking the screen. ZERO scratches.

then came DOPOD 818. the phone got some problems, sometimes, no should say MANY times ripper used until so pekcek, use the stylus scratch the screen furiously and poke the screen with alot of force when frustrated by the phone. guess what? ZERO scratches after 2yrs.

screen protectors are just avenues for the manufacturers who feed on consumers' irrational fears to make some money.

ripper is not saying the screen can't be scratched, ripper's Omnia2 kena 1 small scratch (not very visible, when screen on, totally cannot see), coz ripper dropped it from very high and the screen screeched across the floor. but trust ripper, from normal handling and up to some minor mishaps, your screen can hold its own. much better than the screen protector.

in the worst case scenario like ripper's omnia2, 1yr later, get new phone trade-in at telco. no loss at all :D

irho, using the screen RAW is the best experience. unless a matt screen is preferred to cut the reflective gloss. even grease-resistant screen protector has lost its appeal coz swyping loves greasy surfaces :s13:

goaheadbingostan

Btw, someone has sent me a msg via youtude, requesting a sample of video of Samsung Beam. Is it you, Ripper? :)

Dyles

cute kitties..

OMG u made me feel like i should have bought beam instead haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.